Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Brilliant does the job!
Published 5 months ago by Sandra spencer

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, should have known better
No point writing a long review, it is overpriced and underpowered.

A mobile phone torch app will output more light then this feeble attempt at a torch, Manufacturer should have used a LED optic at the very least I mean the cost is peanuts.
Published 12 months ago by Another Guy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, should have known better, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire (Misc.)
No point writing a long review, it is overpriced and underpowered.

A mobile phone torch app will output more light then this feeble attempt at a torch, Manufacturer should have used a LED optic at the very least I mean the cost is peanuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. Sylvia Knight (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
I bought one of these twenty years ago, and I am surprised they are still on sale when LED torches are so much better. Its maximum light level is 2.3 lumens, whereas modern competitors do 80+ lumens, also on one AAA battery, such as
ThruNite Ti 2 Flashlight, Cree XP-G2 LED, 81 lumen, OP reflector, Waterproof to IPX-8(blue)
I used it for years but when the bulb blew yet again (it has replaceable bulbs, whereas LEDs just keep on going) I threw it away and treated myself to something better. The Thrunite linked above also has a low power mode that is brighter than the Maglite and runs for about ten times as long. It is a similar price, smaller, more waterproof, and thirty times as much light comes out on full power. There are plenty of cheaper and tinier alternatives too if you're not wedded to the AAA battery. Your mobile phone might put out more light than this too!

Incandescent lightbulbs in this day and age: just say no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor value, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Bought this little torch to wear on a lanyard around my neck when camping, hiking, etc. I've been using it for over a year now. This is a robust item that throws a beam of light which can be altered by simply twisting the bezel. However, the quality of the light source is very poor compared with other similar products on the market for under a tenner (LED's are so much better). The beam is a dull yellow/orange colour and very disappointing compared with more modern technology. I have £1.00 keyring lights which are much brighter and give a more useful 'white' light. Plus, battery life is poor. Comes with small lanyard and decent quality AAA battery and a very durable case. Comes with a nice little presentation case which is attractive if you're considerng offering it as a gift to someone. Given poor light quality I would not buy this item again and can see this product becoming redundant in very near future due to better quality products for similar price. Despite this, it is still a useful accessory to have as it has a multitude of uses around the house and also outdoors. Better than nothing but poor value for money nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damn, damn, damn, damn!, 6 Dec 2013
By 
R. Mcintyre "armac" (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire (Misc.)
I'd overlooked Amazon's habit of posting up marginally related trash in any given search, so failed to check that the return for seeking "LED key ring torch" actually WAS what I'd sought.

This is NOT a "LED key ring torch". it's a tungsten bulb device.

As a result I'm stuck with this feeble, fragile incandescent cripple of a thing.

Don't buy this product. Buy something with a LED emitter unless you've got a hangup on replacing burnt out bulbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish......., 13 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Bought this and a LED Lenser 8403TP P3 Key Ring Torch (Test It Pack) - Black in the same order, the mag wouldn't light the stairway in a doll house..
Seriously check out the equivalent LED Lenser, I promise you there is nooo comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alright but at this price point you can get a ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Alright but at this price point you can get a larger lumen/run time nowadays, look up the ThruNite Ti2 for a similar form factor :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Brilliant does the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little bright light, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Very small but powerful little torch. Takes one AAA battery which is supplied but lasts for ages. Excellent for seeing the key hole on a dark night but a little bit too small to navigate around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neat little torch, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Bought this for my wife to attach to her handbag for the winter months when it gets dark early. It's the same colour as the slightly larger one she has but which is a bit too big to put in her handbag. She'd kept forgetting to take that torch anyway so a smaller one attached to a key ring and Carbiner clip to whichever handbag she chooses to use is perfect.

Magalite torches are very good ( if not the best ) so this was a perfect gift and my wife loved it, so very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Had one of these years ago on my key ring with my little Victorinox knife, and a little compass. Over the years. this little combination has proved so useful you wouldn't believe it! However, haven't seen my little black maglite for years now, so decided to take the plunge and purchase another. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews