Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Brilliant does the job!
Published 6 months ago by Sandra spencer

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
I bought one of these twenty years ago, and I am surprised they are still on sale when LED torches are so much better. Its maximum light level is 2.3 lumens, whereas modern competitors do 80+ lumens, also on one AAA battery, such as
ThruNite Ti 2 Flashlight, Cree XP-G2 LED, 81 lumen, OP reflector, Waterproof to IPX-8(blue)
I used it for years but when the bulb...
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by Dr. Sylvia Knight


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Dr. Sylvia Knight (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
I bought one of these twenty years ago, and I am surprised they are still on sale when LED torches are so much better. Its maximum light level is 2.3 lumens, whereas modern competitors do 80+ lumens, also on one AAA battery, such as
ThruNite Ti 2 Flashlight, Cree XP-G2 LED, 81 lumen, OP reflector, Waterproof to IPX-8(blue)
I used it for years but when the bulb blew yet again (it has replaceable bulbs, whereas LEDs just keep on going) I threw it away and treated myself to something better. The Thrunite linked above also has a low power mode that is brighter than the Maglite and runs for about ten times as long. It is a similar price, smaller, more waterproof, and thirty times as much light comes out on full power. There are plenty of cheaper and tinier alternatives too if you're not wedded to the AAA battery. Your mobile phone might put out more light than this too!

Incandescent lightbulbs in this day and age: just say no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright but at this price point you can get a ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Alright but at this price point you can get a larger lumen/run time nowadays, look up the ThruNite Ti2 for a similar form factor :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, should have known better, 14 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire (Misc.)
No point writing a long review, it is overpriced and underpowered.

A mobile phone torch app will output more light then this feeble attempt at a torch, Manufacturer should have used a LED optic at the very least I mean the cost is peanuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor value, 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Bought this little torch to wear on a lanyard around my neck when camping, hiking, etc. I've been using it for over a year now. This is a robust item that throws a beam of light which can be altered by simply twisting the bezel. However, the quality of the light source is very poor compared with other similar products on the market for under a tenner (LED's are so much better). The beam is a dull yellow/orange colour and very disappointing compared with more modern technology. I have £1.00 keyring lights which are much brighter and give a more useful 'white' light. Plus, battery life is poor. Comes with small lanyard and decent quality AAA battery and a very durable case. Comes with a nice little presentation case which is attractive if you're considerng offering it as a gift to someone. Given poor light quality I would not buy this item again and can see this product becoming redundant in very near future due to better quality products for similar price. Despite this, it is still a useful accessory to have as it has a multitude of uses around the house and also outdoors. Better than nothing but poor value for money nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not an LED Torch, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Poor light output as this product uses an incandescent bulb rather then an LED, as I had mistakenly expected it would be (in this day and age). Checking the product description (which I have cut and paste below), I can see why I was mistaken.

"O-ring seaLED for water resistance".

This product looks a much better bet: ThruNite Ti 2 Flashlight, Cree XP-G2 LED, 81 lumen, OP reflector, Waterproof to IPX-8(blue)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Brilliant does the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little bright light, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Very small but powerful little torch. Takes one AAA battery which is supplied but lasts for ages. Excellent for seeing the key hole on a dark night but a little bit too small to navigate around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neat little torch, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Bought this for my wife to attach to her handbag for the winter months when it gets dark early. It's the same colour as the slightly larger one she has but which is a bit too big to put in her handbag. She'd kept forgetting to take that torch anyway so a smaller one attached to a key ring and Carbiner clip to whichever handbag she chooses to use is perfect.

Magalite torches are very good ( if not the best ) so this was a perfect gift and my wife loved it, so very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Had one of these years ago on my key ring with my little Victorinox knife, and a little compass. Over the years. this little combination has proved so useful you wouldn't believe it! However, haven't seen my little black maglite for years now, so decided to take the plunge and purchase another. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light Work, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Roy Field (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red (DIY & Tools)
Ideal replacement for torch that we cannot find.... or lost.
Now secured to wife,s handbag for future use age. Neat box as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maglite Boxed AAA Solitaire Torch - Red
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews