Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping R&B Strong
Usher's latest contribution "Confessions" is a strong album that should be remembered by the powers that be when it comes to Grammy considerations for nominees.
The album's hit first single "Yeah!" is anomalous on the album as there are not any other club tracks that are bold. However the album is not a wallowing sea of forlorn love songs.
Quite the opposite the...
Published on 23 May 2004 by lcollens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not such hot confessions!
I really like Usher's 8701, full of really catchy dance tracks, but in contrast this album is a real disappointment. I have played it over and over, but really cannot get into the majority of the tracks. Yeah! is the only one that gets put on continous repeat!! Some of Usher's lyrics are very near the mark and not suitable for all the family. I hope that his next...
Published on 18 Sep 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 4 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has to be said tha Usher is an arrogant young man, whose claims of his own greatness in interviews grate and go way beyond cocky endearance. Consequently, I resisted this album for a long time, but single after single would grow on me, so i thought what the hell, time to come out of the RnB wardrobe and give it a go.
I have to say that i do really like this album. It is not a great album but very listenable and hypnotic in its own way. Yes the boy has talent and this album is worth getting.
Now someone tell me where I can get a quick fix six pack, like he so proudly displays on about 6 pictures on the inlay card and on the CD itself!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In his own league, 13 May 2004
By 
V. Ryan (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
Due to his previous album sales and his all round popularity, "Confessions" was hardly going to fail. But this album is one you can buy and look back on in 10 years time thinking that your listening to a classic.
Usher has always been ahead with his soulful/pop/rnb. Add a hint of hip hop mixed with some of the top producers such as - Jermaine Dupri, Jam & Lewis, Just Blaze & Lil John, and your onto a winner.
If you didn't liek the song "Yeah!" then do not let that put you off buying this album. It is straight away the most different track on this set.
The next single "Burn" will be more to a soulful crowds taste. Its a beautiful ballad about a couple breaking up. No doubt you will hear lots of this in the coming weeks.
There are many standout tracks. "Caught Up" is a real party banger which will instantly get you in the mood for a night out.
"Simple Things" is a true Jam & Lewis style track. A real cool beat with a fantastic melody. A chilled track to have loud in the car with the windows down.
"Take Your Hand" is my personal favourite. Its so cool I just wanna dance when I hear it - and I can't even dance. A track to really listen to when you get this album.
The track "Confessions" has three parts - 1, 2 and the bonus at the end. Its the theme of this set with Usher confessing all about playing around with another girl, getting her pregnant in the process. Interesting theme, bit too deep in my honest opinion. The tracks are strong though, and fit in with the overall sound.
"Thats what its made for" is one track I would identify as weak. And believe me its hard to do so as the stregth of the track is quite phenomenal.
Another track to look out for is "Bad Girl" which is just superb. Really enjoyable track on a really enjoyable album.
"Confessions" comes at a time where RnB is the new pop. In the last few years we have seen the emergence of Justin Timberlake who has really hit the charts with this pop/rnb. This is something Usher has been doing for most of his career.
This album is a real gem. The question was always going to be, could Usher come back with the quality that could match "My Way" and "8701" - the answer is an emphatic yes.
What Usher proves with this album is that no one is in his league when it comes to Pop/rnb/soul mixed with his superstar status.
Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CONFESSIONS, 13 Mar 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
Its definitely a good r&b album. If your expecting to hear a 8701 part 2, dont! Its is completely different!!! PURE R&B. Mostly slow type jams, theres nothing similiar to how uptempo "Yeah" is except "Caught Up" which is a Neptunes track. "Follow me" is sorta uptempo too. But thats about it! Just Blaze has a track on there as well called "Throwback" but thats somewhat slow as well.
Its gonna take me a minute to get into this, I think if i listen to the lyrics more than the beat then i'll fall in love with it even more. My fav songs so far are "Confessions", "Burn" (which is like a U Got It Bad Part 2) and "Bad Girl", and "Truth Hurts". One thing that is obvious is that you can see how he has progressed from 8701. Definitely more mature!! A good album!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Warming Up To It, 25 Mar 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
If you’re anything like me there are different hierarchies are artists. Those whose album you’ll automatically buy despite not hearing a single because you know anything they put out is quality. Those that you buy because you heard the single (or a few) and the album is probably good (assisted by comments made by your friends/radio/glossy magazine reviews). Thirdly, there’s the one you wouldn’t ever buy, at best the single or that remix you were bumpin’ to in the club.
Usher, for me, has always been the first since My Way (”U Make Me Wanna”, “Nice and Slow, “Slow Jam”, “My Way” ) followed up by 8701 (“U Remind Me”, “I Don’t Know”, “Twork It Out”, “U Got It Bad”, “If I Want To”, “U-Turn”), supplying R&B with classic cuts and at times an injection to keep the criticized genre creditworthy.
Confessions was not the album I was hoping for. The (obligatory R&B) “Intro” followed up by the big pimpin’ (sure-to-be-2004 club classic) “Yeah!” (with vogue appearances by Ludacris and Lil Jon) introduces the album very well. However, the album is very reminiscent of a male Toni Braxton album: ballad heavy and (thus far) not representative of the singles from the album. The title track(s) “Confessions” is lyrically strong and other tracks like “Throwback” (production by Just Blaze – think Jay-Z) and “Burn” are good. However this is a large departure from the jumpy singles that featured on other Usher albums. I cannot predict this album churning out singles on heavy rotation in clubs and trendy bars in ‘cosmo’ cities. Furthermore, a few tracks are heavily reminiscent of R. Kelly’s “Ignition (Remix)” in beat, but sadly not pace.
Other stand out tracks include “Caught Up” and guitar riffs on “Bad Girl”
In an age of R&B where it hasn’t been this popular circa Montell Jordan, Tyrese and USHER, this album will have to compete with progressive genre contributions from the now ubiquitous Beyoncé and Justin Timberlake.
In all, this is a good album. If you are a person who enjoys red wine, low lights, and Keith Sweat-Barry White moods, minus the cheesy factor, then get this album. I still enjoy R&B, however, I might have been initially disappointed by my lasting impression of Usher. However, if you are unfamiliar with the artist, get his previous works and DEFINITELY get the single “Yeah!” It’s off the hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy can sing, 27 April 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
The young Usher just came out of a relationship after making a fewmistakes, such is life...he sings beautifully about this in this album.Thealbum is an introspective look at his failures and ultimately hisstrengths as a musical artsit.
In my opinion the songs, burn, take yourhand, confessions pt 1, bad girl, can you handle it and throwback are thebest. Infact each song is great. It is easy to listen to and also easyto get hooked on.
This album has indeed made Usher more lovable as he displays his abilityto sing his heart out. I love him!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confession's, 29 Mar 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
Usher really shows his class in this album, most of the songs are slow jams but there are a few up beat tempo songs that get u in the mood. This album is mostly him sayin sorry to his girlfriend for cheatin on her, and i think he gets his point across very well in his music, its a very emotinal album. Compared to 8701 i think this album is alot slower, 8701 it was more upbeat. All in all this is one of the best album's ive herd in a long time, you wont get any better R&B album then this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Mr Entertainment' is back, 11 Mar 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
However people are going to take to this album, its guaranteed to be huge!!! Eventually the long awaited Prince of RnB is back, and its all the better for everyone listening. Undisputably he's been the sound of some classic ultra-smooth, RnB joints such as 'Pop ya collar' and 'U Remind me' and '8701' is one album that has to go down as one of the best RnB albums ever and however good Ushers coreographers are theres no denying that Usher makes the moves happen in a style that others (Justin..cough cough) can only dream of pulling off.
I've heard a couple of tracks from the forthcoming album, 'Yeah' obviously being the massive club track in which he crunk sound produced by lil jon and Luda create make everyone just want to get on the dance floor, no matter who you are. This is the other thing that Usher gives to the RnB world is that his music is appreciated by all types of person, worldwide. You'll find that most of the other tracks from the album are slowed down and obviously the content of the album is deep to him, and he even confesses his infidelity from his recent breakup with his long-term girlfriend Chili of TLC. 'Redlight' and 'Sweetlies' are just completly new sounds to the RnB world that will blow audiences away when he releases them.
The album is going to be a huge success period. And I hope to see all you life-long Usher fans at his concerts in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Yet, 2 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
I have just bought the Usher album, and it has not left my CD player. I take it with me everywhere!
I love his hit "Yeah", but the song "Burn" has to be the best on the album by far.
The album is sensational and for any R&B fan it is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CONFESSIONS, 13 Mar 2004
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
Its definitely a good r&b album. If your expecting to hear a 8701 part 2, dont! Its is completely different!!! PURE R&B. Mostly slow type jams, theres nothing similiar to how uptempo "Yeah" is except "Caught Up" which is a Neptunes track. "Follow me" is sorta uptempo too. But thats about it! Just Blaze has a track on there as well called "Throwback" but thats somewhat slow as well.
Its gonna take me a minute to get into this, I think if i listen to the lyrics more than the beat then i'll fall in love with it even more. My fav songs so far are "Confessions", "Burn" (which is like a U Got It Bad Part 2) and "Bad Girl", and "Truth Hurts". One thing that is obvious is that you can see how he has progressed from 8701. Definitely more mature!! A good album!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not 8701., 25 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Confessions (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I feel slightly dissapointed by this album.
8701 was probably the best rnb album to date and therefore i was expecting this to be as good, if not better. The album does have some very very good songs on it but there are also a few that are really dissapointing. Usher seems to have chosen to produce an album full of slow (some very slow) songs which dont even feel like an usher song. For all those Usher fans who have the album 'Usher' it is very similar to that. Overall i'd say around 5 of the songs are Excellent, a few ok ones and then a couple of stinkers.
Overall it is a good album (with potential) but let down by a number of songs and i wouldnt expect too many hits in the singles chart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions
Confessions by Usher (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews