Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing New Territory!
Most Star Trek games usually revolve around the Enterprise, Voyager or DS9. It's nice to see a change as Captain Sulu commands the USS Excelsior in this game. Basically the game sees the crew of the Excelsior responding to a distress call from the Enterprise which is caught in a spacial rift, Commanded by Commander Chekov strangely, and during the attempted rescue the...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by W. Nash

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Star Trek Success (Barely
This game is . . . ok. I'll admit that if it didnt have the star trek label then I would say that it was fine and worth buying but after playing many other star trek games I expected more from this. My advice is that if you've never played the other star trek games then buy it and you wont be disappointed but if you have played the other games then buy it but dont expect...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Fred


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing New Territory!, 11 Oct 2006
By 
W. Nash "Orec12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
Most Star Trek games usually revolve around the Enterprise, Voyager or DS9. It's nice to see a change as Captain Sulu commands the USS Excelsior in this game. Basically the game sees the crew of the Excelsior responding to a distress call from the Enterprise which is caught in a spacial rift, Commanded by Commander Chekov strangely, and during the attempted rescue the Excelsior is pulled into the rift and arrives in the Mirror Universe, something most Trekkies will know about right away, for those who don't it's a parralel universe where the Federation is an evil empire. Captain Sulu and his crew then find themselves trapped and the only way back to their own universe is to reach another spacial rift in Tholian space. This leads to many a confrontation with the Terran Empire, Kilngons, Romulans and Tholians to name the mainstay that is all the while being hunted by the evil version of Commander Chekov and the ISS Enterprise.

You play one of the Excelsior's shuttle pilots who finds themself having to pilot some rather unique fighter craft to attack, defend, scout etc. The graphics can at first seem rather basic but somehow it works! The game loads up very quickly and your flying in space before you know it. What I love about this game is what I loved about the Colony Wars games on the PS1, the fact that you can take on big capital ships and to see their shields ripple as your phasers strike them is pretty cool. Lacking any Colony Wars games for the PS2 this is certainly a fine alternative.

There are a few bad points with the game I should mention. The mission difficulty is very unbalanced. Some levels are way to easy while others way to hard, there are not many where it's a bit of both. Another is that the levels can become a little bit repetetive. Despite these points though it's certainly a good buy. I have had the game for some time now and I still play it quite often. All I can say really is that if your not sure then rent before you buy. Is and always has been the best method!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILL, 7 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
without doubt this is the best star trek game ever with excellent gameplay, however the graphics are slightly disapointing but a must for any star trek fan and all the fighters are really good looking like you would expect in the star trek universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Game!, 5 Dec 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
Had and played this game a year ago and i'm only writing a review for it now because I haven't found another decent space shooter since.

You get to pilot a big selection of the crafts from the Star Trek universe, the arenas are big and a lot of fun to fly around and dog-fight in.

The graphics are cool and the missions get more challenging as you progress.

The story's really good too, a flip-side Star Trek timeline to what we know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WICKED, 19 May 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
I loved this game its so much fun... it was hard to start off with but after a while you begin to understand how the fighters really work and you'll start shotting down star ships and fighters alike in this amazing fighter pilot game definately worth ago and who knows you may get hook like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red alert, pilots to your ships!, 10 Mar 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
Shattered universe is one of the best Star Trek games ever released! You are a shuttle pilot on board U.S.S Excelsior en route to rescue the Enterprise from a black hole. However, while trying to reach them, the ship's dilithium crystals shatter and send the Excelsior into a mirror universe. The Enterprise is there, but not to help you. You have declared open rebelion against the Empire and are to be destroyed. Your shuttle has become a fighter and you must defend Captain Sulu and the I.S.S (Imperial starship) Excelsior from the evil Terran Empire! There is a simmilar black hole that could send you back home. However, to get there you must go through Terran, Klingon, Romulan and Tholian space! 19 levels of intense fighter action. Each mission has a different plot such as scouting, attacking and defending an area, or any number of ships. This is a twisted universe where good is evil and evil could be anything! After making it through 18 of the missions you will open the hardest mission of all, a battle with your mirror selves!!! As you progress, you will also unlock new fighters, some of them with homing weapons. This game, in my oppinion, cannot be topped by any of the new Star Trek games which I have written about. If you think you are a true trekker, buy this game now. Live long and prosper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT..., 1 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
This game has excellent graphics and challenging levels. You can pilot various starships and you have to try and destroy people you know as being good, but they're bad. At times it got a little confusing but apart from that this ame was perfect. I would recommend this game to any true Star Trek fan or anyone who enjoys flying vessels and blowing up things. It's everything you would want in a Star Trek game.
BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Choice of Pie, 26 Jun 2012
By 
S. Hargreaves (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
I had a PS2 and enjoyed this game, it was enjoyable to
fight enemies in the mirror universe. Athough these games are enjoyable
lets bring out 1 for PS3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A game like no other i have played before!, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
the game is a good little shooter - simple as that.
It is set in the "Star Trek" universe where you have to battle against federation ships that are now on the opposing side!
The game has a steady learning curve, and before you know it, you will be shooting down Starships and Fighters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the One, 12 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. G. L. C. Sexton (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
I have tried all the Startrek Games and were bored by them all. However this one is great fun, not complicated and addictive. Well worth the Money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Star Trek Success (Barely, 29 Oct 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is . . . ok. I'll admit that if it didnt have the star trek label then I would say that it was fine and worth buying but after playing many other star trek games I expected more from this. My advice is that if you've never played the other star trek games then buy it and you wont be disappointed but if you have played the other games then buy it but dont expect anything great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Shattered Universe (PS2)
12.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews