Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Girls is 'Top Dog'
series 5 of Bad Girls was packed with suspense throughout. From the after-marth of the bomb attack, to the incident involving Fenner, Shell and her baby, to Snowball's suicide, to Fenner framing Karen for murder, to Yvonne's demise. Series 5 was surely a classic and if you love drama/comedy/suspense then buy this box set and i can guarantee you that you will not be...
Published on 29 Jun 2005 by mrmistef

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BG 5 from a die-hard fan
The last series in the old generation of Bad Girls. It is the last to feature old characters such as: Shell, Denny, Buki, Babs and Yvonne. Although hardly vintage Bad Girls, this box set is a must for all die-hard fans. It moves from light comedy such as the women holding Christopher Biggins hostage to Julie Saunders' struggle with breast cancer. We also witness the...
Published on 24 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Girls is 'Top Dog', 29 Jun 2005
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
series 5 of Bad Girls was packed with suspense throughout. From the after-marth of the bomb attack, to the incident involving Fenner, Shell and her baby, to Snowball's suicide, to Fenner framing Karen for murder, to Yvonne's demise. Series 5 was surely a classic and if you love drama/comedy/suspense then buy this box set and i can guarantee you that you will not be disappionted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Series of an Excellent Prison Drama, 3 Mar 2007
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The only negative thing I have to say about this series is that this is the series when the best Bad Girls character ever, Yvonne Atkins leaves. It isn't the same without Yvonne, though series 7 is my personal favourite (it's great from start to finish. I expect you're probaby confused).

This series begins with Fenner going on a men's night out, along with new officer Collin Hedges. It's then when Shell Dockley is found and returned to Larkhall. However she doesn't last long, and it's thanks to Fenner that she doesn't. He's also the reason why we say bye to some other characters; he has Dockley sent to a mental institution, where she loses her new born baby. Karen Betts gets proof of Fenner's unprofessional behavior (you know what he's like with the women), but he steals the evidence away and frames her in dangerous driving. And then there's Atkins. Her escape plan backfires when he locks her in a tunnel, which Atkins finds 2 seconds later is blocked off. The series ends with Yvonne, sitting there crying, scratching at the wall, trying desperately to escape. The series ends with two desperate words from Yvonne herself; "help me".

Other character leave in this series also. Barbara Hunt gets released at the end (she's still there when the series ends, but she's gone by series 6. Same with Buki Lester). Denni leaves also and so does Snowball, who hangs herself when she loses the will to live. There's good and interesting events throughout the series. Atkins and Hedges have an affair, but Atkins soon discovers that Colin is a heroin adict and loses respect for him, but the two get back together again. Fenner turns really nasty towards Yvonne, when he plants drugs on her and Julie S discovers she has breast cancer. And Sylvia's husband Bobby commits suicide, but it's not long until Sylvia falls for Henry.

This series also introduces some new characters. Hedges I've already mentioned. Then there's Selena Geeson (she arrives near towards the end). Then there's some new inmates such as Kris Yates (she too arrives near towards the end) and the two best characters (after Atkins) Phyl Oswyn and Bev Tull; two alcoholics and drug adicts, very sneaky and manipulative. Not to be trusted, but you can't help liking them. Series 5 is a great series, maybe not as good as 4, but definately great. A series I'd recommend to all Bad Girls fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Girls " R U L E ", 27 Dec 2004
By 
Mapoo (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
SERIES 5 - The Boxset we have all been waiting for, This has some great laughter and sadness involved as we say goodbye to our talented best Bad Girls, Shell, Denny, Shaz, Babs, Buki and saddest ever scene Yvonne as she is locked up in a cell underground Murderd by the terrible cheating get away with anything "Mr Jim Fenner"... This dvd has some great features on it that you would like, It's nice to put to your collection of Bad Girls Series 1,2,3,4 and now 5... and look back at all those great scenes... This DVD is a CLASS and should be bought by all you BAD GIRLS FANS....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive, 9 Aug 2006
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Snowball Merrimans bomb has wrecked the lives of the prisoners who are all living in fear and distress in the weeks after the fire in larkhall. However Snowball comes off the worst for it-especially when uber-baddie Shell returns!!!!!! Unfortunatly she is only here for a short stay before bowing out from the series for good, a true loss on the shows part. This season sees some grat new characters such as the gin-soaked Costa cons and hardball Kristin Yates. The tears are kept flowing when Julie S discovers she has breast cancer and really begins to look at what a waste her life has been. This series is what i call the very last drop of the classic bad girls, the majorty of which leaked away in the last series. Now we also bid farwell to Babs Hunt, but the worst fate lies in store for Atkins whose escape plan ends in disaster at the hands of Fenner.

The newer series are Ok but to true fans of Bad Girls, the show's magic began to run out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BG 5 from a die-hard fan, 24 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The last series in the old generation of Bad Girls. It is the last to feature old characters such as: Shell, Denny, Buki, Babs and Yvonne. Although hardly vintage Bad Girls, this box set is a must for all die-hard fans. It moves from light comedy such as the women holding Christopher Biggins hostage to Julie Saunders' struggle with breast cancer. We also witness the somewhat pointless return of Shell Dockley after she comes back for just 4 episodes without making much impact and the introduction of the hilarious Costa Cons. Meanwhile Karen and Yvonne both fall foul of the evil Jim Fenner. While Karen is carted away in handcuffs, Yvonne bows out after being tragically trapped in the cavernous depths of Larkhall's redundant hanging cell. On the whole entertaining, if not without its tedious moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD GIRLS AT THEIR BEST, 14 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This has got to be the best series of Bad Girls so far. This series is the last to feature Linda Henry (Yvonne Atkins) and Clarie King (Karen Betts). also this series there are some new characters including Bev Tull Played by Amanda Barrie (Famous for her role in Coronation Street as Alma Baldwin) and Phyl Oswyn played by Stephanie Beacham as two alchoholic con-artists dubbed as 'the Costa-Cons'. This series is definetly worth the money I am gonna pre-order my copy soon so I can add series 5 to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 5 star extras 2 stars, 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This boxset is recommended for all bad girls fans however it's only shortcoming is a lack of extra's. all there is are outakes and pictures no making of documentary's no nothing
otherwise excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the end!, 17 July 2006
By 
V (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
SERIES 5 - All good things must come to an end, and sadly that goes for Bad Girls! Although its series outlast its sister show, Footballers' Wives, at Series 5, Bad Girls starts to go down hill and lose its appeal and reality.

As G Wing recovers from Snowball's bomb attack in Larkhall, the inmates bid farwell to various characters as Shaz bows out, killed by Snowball's blast.

The series is none too different from past ones; same storyline, characters die, Fenner makes enemies, but just as you think he's done for, he wriggles out of it again; only this time it is to the extreme. Fenner has seen off Stewart and Wade and in this series he puts pay to Dockley, Betts and Atkins. Dockely is sent off to a mental asylum, losing her baby in the process, Betts is fitted up for murder and carted off the premises and worst of all, Atkins is left to suffocate and die of starvation in an undeground cell in one of the most horrific storylines ever!

However there is the usual fun with Bodybag and the comic, if somewhat strange love triangle between Di, Fenner and Governor Grayling!

Watch the series but don't expect much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good series but boring..., 15 July 2008
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Well...it starts of REALLY good but slowly goes down hill from Episode 5. We see the return of original Bad Girl Shell Dockley...but she leaves after 4 episodes...which was pointless. Once she goes, the series goes down hill. The Yvonne and Colin relationship seemed to drag for AGES. The "Manipulative" Snowball falls apart this series. Denny doesn't get a proper storyline. Julie S' breast cancer storyline is so dragging.

It's not a very good series in all. But it starts of so good...you'd expect it to be the same. Once Shell goes...so does the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 April 2014
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I head all my reviews of "Bad Girls" as "Brilliant" because that is simply what they are. The characters - as different from each other as is possible to imagine. The acting - award winning in the BAFTAs. The story - so many twists and unforeseen consequences that you just want to see more, more and more to find out what happens next. It really is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999]
Bad Girls: The Complete Series 5 [DVD] [1999] by S.J. Clarkson (DVD - 2004)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews