Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rasmus- Dead Letter
WOW! What a fantastic album!!
I cannot give these guys enough credit. Having only heard 'In the shadows' I went out and bought the album & I was not dissapointed.Every song leaves you wanting more. look out for the tracks 'time to burn' and 'not like the other girls' BRILLIANT!!
Buy this album NOW!
Published on 25 Mar. 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drab, primitive and with cliches galore
While there is undoubtedly far worse music than this out there, Dead Letters is rock music of a low standard. It's primitive, with the annoyance factor being high. Since it uses rock cliches aplenty and is essentially rock-by-the-numbers, it's boring and doesn't grab you with any kind of wow factor at all.
Published on 18 May 2013 by Music is life


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Majors Strike Again, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. Another bunch of made-for-Radio-1 shamelesscash-in-on-the-baggy-market are here then, and it's a fair bet to say TheRasmus have produced one of the most ridiculous albums of the year.
Basically, 'Dead Letters' is Europop-by-numbers circa 1983, except theyuse a guitar in the mix instead of filling it with keyboard. Take note,kids, this is not innovation. The music itself is exactly what you'dexpect. It's quite banal, turgid singalong stuff. You know? I can't bebothered with this, but it's okay because these Finns really can't either.So what to say? Not much, except the lowlight (as if this album neededone) is the Foreigner-esque drivel 'Time To Burn'. There are no emotionson this album, much as the band would like to believe there is, there ismerely only sentimental drivel as a substitute, something an achinglytalented Mr Yorke once warned about.
On other tracks, Funeral Song is a listless, ineffective song designed tobe a closer but falling fall on ability. Not Like The Other Girls is ahighly offensive piece of crap.
But, if you like Avril Lavigne and Linkin Park, you'll probably like this.In fact, they deserve each other. Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm...., 7 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
I'm not too impressed by this band to be honest. I've listened to this album and have no reason to believe that they're much other than an act who rely on a cool goth image, some catchy, overproduced pop tunes, and the early to mid-teenage market who don't know about any of the countless better bands out there. At least bands like Evanescence have some solid melodies, a bit of a message and originality behind the OTT goth exterior.
To anyone who's thinking of getting this: don't. Buy something by The Cure instead. Bands like this are just pale copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moi!, 26 May 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
I've been a big fan of the Raz' ever since I visited my pals in Finland several years ago. I quite like this album but it isn't a patch on their previous album 'Into' - I don't think you can get it in Britain yet - possibly on import from Amazon - it contains a better version of f-f-f-falling and doesn't go in for the faux-goth thing.
But this album has its merits. I've only listened to it a few times and I know all the lyrics and tunes already. It's very infectious. You've probably heard 'In the shadows'... Go and buy it. But get 'Into' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Letters tends to get better the more you listen to it, 4 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
The first time i listened to the album, it sounded very weird and not a very well rounded album.I listened to it a few more times and noticed how good some of the songs which i first found, not very good, actually very good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you have any real taste, run away now!, 22 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
I'm not going to complain that the Rasmus' single In The Shadows is doingso well at the moment, because essentially they deserve it, 5 albums andno particular international success, they deserve the success. Not to saythat i like them.
Basically this is Power pop, with a distinctly LinkinPark flavour, and an image obviously recalling their fellow superior goth"rock"ers HIM. I'm not going to slate them for their pop appeal either, ofcourse the greatest records are ones with a delicate balance of pop appealwhich a healthy dose of originality too. The Rasmus are bitterly lackingin the latter.
This album is full of suspiciously familiar melodies,formulaic structures, and lyrics that sound like they came from the Poprhyming dictionary (they are Finnish, but thats no excuse for some trulymeaningless clichéd lyrics). The backing is never anything short ofprecise, but it's so dull you won't care. The production is glisteninglyclean, making occasional shots at lo-fi stylings embarassing. If you likethe single, go for it, i don't care, if you're even thinking of buyingthis you're past help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
If you liked 'In The Shadows' you will love this album! I took a chance buying the album after only hearing In The Shadows and my chance definately paid off! I was so impressed that I chanced buying the album before Dead Letters, Into, which is also brilliant and highly recommended! Dead Letters stands out from other albums because all the songs are slightly different, showing the depth of the band, which isn't surprising seeing as they have been together for years already! I am now addicted to both albums, and these guys are also great live too! Definately buy this album, and if you don't like it there's definately something wrong with your taste in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 8 Jun. 2004
By 
R. Cliffe (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Single (In The Shadows) was the reason I bought this album and what a let down. It is terrible. Save your money and buy the single. The other reviewers must either be on something or be band members or friends. Dross, boring, poor lyrics and poorly delivered. TRUST ME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 7 Feb. 2008
By 
M. Abbott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
What a waste of money it's supposed to have enhanced material "in the shadows" 3 new mixes ENHANCED MY ASS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are they aiming for?, 25 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Dead Letters is an album that seems lost in the Twilight Zone. The Rasmus are aiming for a heavy sound (sometimes a little bit of hard rock, other times nu metal,) but they always end up with sweet melodies that bury the power. Luri’s voice sounds uncomfortably familiar; it would probably fit perfectly in a brit-pop band, but it doesn’t feel right next to Pauli’s guitar riffs. “In the Shadowing”, “Not Like Other Girls” and “First Day of my Life”, are songs that would work perfectly with a pop audience; none the less, the rest of the album tries to reach a completely different market in which they don’t belong. These boys from Helsinki, Finland, are trapped between what they want to be and what they really are. Their biggest problem is not lack of talent, but lack of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imagine if Busted wanted to be a goth-rock band, 24 Mar. 2004
By 
Barclays - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Exactly.
While there is no dout that Rasmus can write a catchy tune (In the shadows), they seem to be pretending that they are something more that a pop-rock band. Emphisis on the pop.
While the mellow pop songs soud all well and good, its the "heavier songs" that dont feel right. Like the band are trying to be something they are clearly not.
Like Busted are the pop version of Blink 182, Greenday etc.
The Rasmus are the pop version of fellow Finnish rockers HIM.
I cannot stress enough how much they sound like Busted trying to be gothic, and wearing all the black clothes and make-up in the world wont change that.
2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Letters
Dead Letters by Rasmus (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews