Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rasmus- Dead Letter
WOW! What a fantastic album!!
I cannot give these guys enough credit. Having only heard 'In the shadows' I went out and bought the album & I was not dissapointed.Every song leaves you wanting more. look out for the tracks 'time to burn' and 'not like the other girls' BRILLIANT!!
Buy this album NOW!
Published on 25 Mar. 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drab, primitive and with cliches galore
While there is undoubtedly far worse music than this out there, Dead Letters is rock music of a low standard. It's primitive, with the annoyance factor being high. Since it uses rock cliches aplenty and is essentially rock-by-the-numbers, it's boring and doesn't grab you with any kind of wow factor at all.
Published on 18 May 2013 by Music is life


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rasmus- Dead Letter, 25 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
WOW! What a fantastic album!!
I cannot give these guys enough credit. Having only heard 'In the shadows' I went out and bought the album & I was not dissapointed.Every song leaves you wanting more. look out for the tracks 'time to burn' and 'not like the other girls' BRILLIANT!!
Buy this album NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it.....or it's your loss, 20 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Buy this. It's as simple as that. Don't start thinking of reasons not to, just buy it. Pronto.
Track 1 First day of my life: Great track, great one to listen to when you want to be alone, just like he sings 'wanna be alone, just for a while unknown'. It kinda introduces you to the album, and although the chorus is quite fast, the verses are serene and calm in a melodic way.
Track 2 In the shadows: five star track - anyone thinking of buying this cd should have heard this - and if you havn't, go and listen to it now on their website.
Track 3 Still standing: Good track, it starts slow but builds up - lauri's voice sounds espeicially nice at the beginning.
Track 4 In my life: fast song very good. It's about taking control of your life, and is the least formulaic of all the songs on the album - the rhthym changes towards the end. great lyrics at the beginning.
Track 5 Time to burn: Quite a dark track, about changing your life so much that you cannot go back, great song, and my personal favourite.
Track 6 Guilty: odds are that you have probably heard this as well - its like an apology song. If you are listening to it on headphones then the vocals switch from earphone to earphone, which is v. nice.
Track 7 Not like the other girls: The most different song on the album, a really beautiful song - the most memorable after your first listen. Really melodic and epic in a way. It starts slowly with a one minute intro and lasts seven minutes, but still doesn't drag on.
Track 8 The one i love: A very dark song, with dark lyrics 'this bed has become my coffin'. One of my favourites.
Track 9 Back in the picture: A bouncy kind of punky song, it is quite sweet when lauri sings 'dedicate everything i create to my friends i would die for'
Track 10 Funeral Song: A haunting song, the video is particularly moving, the emotion behind the lyrics is very obvious. A dark ballad.
Then, if you get the U.K bonus tracks, you will get three more songs, all of which are worth a listen, but track 11 f-f-f-falling is very very good and was a huge hit for the band. i would number it as one of my favourites.
thanks for reading,
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 May 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
This fantastic 5th album of the Finnish rock group “The Rasmus” is described best with these words: energetic, powerful, melodic & melancholic.
”First day of my life” convinces with hard guitar riffs and a great melody.
“In the shadows” is fantastic rock with a melody that will never leave your head once you’ve heard it.
“Still standing” is one of my personal favourites. It’s a wonderful rock ballad that really goes to your heart thanks to singer Lauri’s beautiful voice.
“In my life” is the most powerful song on “Dead Letters”.
“Time to burn” is slower, hard guitar riffs and again Lauri’s voice make it a really good song.
“Guilty” is another favourite of mine, a perfect, well-balanced rock masterpiece with a striking melody.
“Not like the other girls” is again slower and contains some beautiful guitar solos. You’ll carry it in your heart straight away!
“The one I love” is another great rock song.
“Back in the picture” really catches you and wants you to join in the singing.
“Funeral song” is the most emotional and also the darkest song on Dead Letters. Lauri is singing about his ex-girlfriend and describes how he dies in his dreams with his voice full of soaring beauty and melancholy. On this album version of FS, there is only very little background and no drums.
"F-f-f-falling", which was a major hit single in Finland in 2001, is rock-pop at its very best with a catchy refrain!
”If you ever” is more rock again and tells you a good deal about friends. A wonderful song!
"What ever" is a great rock song too, one of the songs with a proper sense behind them!
All in all, Dead Letters is a must for everybody who likes good music. This album really contains 12 fantastic songs, each of them better than the other. You can listen to it every day, it doesn’t get boring. I do it since summer last 2003 and I love it more every day. Have fun with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 minutes, 12 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
thats how long it took me to decide to buy this album!
i went into HMV last night looking for an album by Fuel and spent a good 10 minutes looking. After not finding it, i realised that what i was listening to was in fact extremely good, so despite having never heard of the band before, and having still only heard about 3 tracks, i thougt 'why not?' and bought it. iv had it on non-stop since, its fantastic!!
First day of my life is brilliant, somewhere between lostprophets and A, and Time to Burn is also fantastic, with clear unfluences from Bon Jovi.
Whilst the mix of apparent influences throughout the album seems quite diverse, it comes off brilliantly and sounds fantastic.
BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please make that 4.5 stars : ), 26 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Please please please for the love of..well everything, do not listen to all these people who say "trust me, the rasmus are rubbish". They lie. Seriously. They tell you that Rasmus fans should go out and find the decent rock bands out there. I have already done that of my own accord, i am a huge fan of Slipknot, My Chemical Romance, Trivium, Metallica and System of a Down etc etc, I love them all, they are v v v v v v good, but does listening to them prove that the Rasmus are rubbish? A big fat NO, i still love them as much as i ever did, and going to see them live just enforced this, it was INCREDIBLE i'm tellin you mate. Seriously, ignore all these critics and magazines and TV like Kerrang (i usually love Kerrang, except for their unfair treatment of this band) when they say that the Rasmus are worthless, they ARE NOT. This is a very good album, In the Shadows is an excellent song, as is Still standing, first day of mylife, if you ever (abonus track) and the funeral song (the video version is much better, got more drums). And i don't know what all these reviewers are going on about when they say that the music has been cleaned up and polished unnaturally by computer or sumthin, cos i'm tellin you, they sound EXACTLY the same live, theyre just a bit louder and have more energy (if they do touch it up, it makes absolutely no differnce so theyre wasting their time and effort!!) Lauri has the same powerful voice, and the guitar and drums sound great. (They also have very sexy accents when they speak, being Finnish and all that lol)
so for goodness sake, tell evryone else to shut up and don't care what they think of you for being a Rasmus fan, they are woth it, and if you ever get the chance, go and see them live because they are the best when it comes to live gigs.
BUY BUY BUY!! and please buy Hide from the Sun and Into too, I have those and theyre excellent. Not sure about the other ones, I need to get them, but apparently theyre good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wowmus, 11 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
After hearing 'In The Shadows' I thought id take the risk of buying the album, dead letters. I was expecting a couple of decent tracks and the rest to be below par. I couldn't have been more wrong. Every time you put the album on, it gets better and better and better. Tracks to look out for are: Time to burn, Not like the others girls, funeral song and of course In the shadows. Trust me, this album will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rasmus, the next big thing from Finland, 5 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
The Rasmus are the next best export, after HIM from Finland. But don't get me wrong, the Rasmus aren't something new...they've been around for a while now. Their debut album has to be their best yet, and stands a good chance of helping them break the uk..finally...they deserve it.
Dead letters is filled with delicious vocals, and deep guitar groves all helping to create a smooth, slightly gothic sound.
This album is a must for anyone who appreciates good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this!, 15 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
Since their massive hit, 'In the Shadows,' last year, The Rasmus have kind of disappeared from the UK music scene. Sodding typical, I say, as my country does have a knack of ignoring the best bands.
'Dead Letters' is an excellent album, full of energy, determination, and quite a lot of pain. Lauri's gritty, emotional voice grabs you the second he strikes up with the first track 'First Day In My Life,' with the lyrics, 'Feels like I'm stoned...Wanna be alone...just for a while.' Don't be expecting a stoner album, though - every song on this is musically very clever and emotionally ...erm, FANTASTIC! It is quite a dark album, but there are some great, upbeat songs which really get you dancing. Highlights for me are 'Time To Burn,' which became my only voice during a tough time in my life; 'Not Like the Other Girls,' an epic 6-mintue track of sheer brilliance, and, most of all, 'Funeral Song.' ...words cannot describe. One of the best songs written for years, I would buy the album just for that one beautiful, ghostly song.
Buy it. Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Album Unheralded in UK so far, 13 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
I came across a couple of the singles from this album on German MTV and was impressed by the combination of strong melodies and heavy guitar riffs.
The album kicks off with the two strongest tracks, but there isn't really a duff song on the album. The lead singer has a very strong voice and the band sound like a very tight unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, haunting and utterly amazing, 5 May 2004
This review is from: Dead Letters (Audio CD)
I have never heard a sound like this...The Rasmus are simply amazing. Their haunting rock instrumental and passionate lyrics will keep you hooked from the first song to the last. My particular favourites are 'Time to Burn', 'In the Shadows', 'Not like the other girls', 'Funeral Song' and 'First day of my life' but quite frankly every single song on Dead Letters is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Letters
Dead Letters by Rasmus (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews