Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dread Outta Control - Tune In to DBC
Excellent compilation from the DJ's behind DBC. DBC was the cult
station broadcasting a mix of reggae, soul, soca, hip hop, dub from West London. This compilation includes some of the DBC jingles interspersed. Lepke (Leroy Anderson) and sister Miss P , Dr Watts, Mike Williams (Mike da Bike), Chuckie and others were a fantastic team. This comp., is the tip of the...
Published on 9 Nov 2004 by Mr. S. Wigg

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rebel Radio - more please!
On this double CD you get the jingles often used and some of these are good enough to have been made into full records (or to sample?).Best jingle is 'We're Hot' by Ranking Miss P and Big Youth. Does anyone know if a full single was made of this?
The stuff featured here ranges from 1959 to 1982 with most of it 1969 to 1979 so you are getting the classic period...
Published on 25 April 2009 by D. Vincent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dread Outta Control - Tune In to DBC, 9 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. S. Wigg "simonjw1" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation from the DJ's behind DBC. DBC was the cult
station broadcasting a mix of reggae, soul, soca, hip hop, dub from West London. This compilation includes some of the DBC jingles interspersed. Lepke (Leroy Anderson) and sister Miss P , Dr Watts, Mike Williams (Mike da Bike), Chuckie and others were a fantastic team. This comp., is the tip of the iceberg - but its a good start. The first disc is more lively dancehall style, the second disk is more laid back rocksteady/ska inspired. A good starter album for a reggae beginner, afficionados will probably have a lot of these tracks already.
For those of you, who like me listended (and still listen to my DBC tapes) - the sleeve notes give an excellent history and background of this legendary station - worth buying for the notes alone. DBC was run by people who cared more about the music than profit, this came across in the relaxed style of the station..there were very few comemrcials..the ones they did have were just read out or sung by the dj's...come back DBC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Step Back in Time, 31 Oct 2008
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
Though I have most of the music in my collection, it was worth the money to hear the old DBC jingles. Rebel radio provided a service to the community that should always be remembered. If you haven't got an extensive collection, this is a good place to start. If you have, buy it for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rebel Radio - more please!, 25 April 2009
By 
D. Vincent (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
On this double CD you get the jingles often used and some of these are good enough to have been made into full records (or to sample?).Best jingle is 'We're Hot' by Ranking Miss P and Big Youth. Does anyone know if a full single was made of this?
The stuff featured here ranges from 1959 to 1982 with most of it 1969 to 1979 so you are getting the classic period here.
Some of my favourites on this are 'Warrior Charge' Aswad, 'Politician' Barry Brown, 'Declaration of Rights'Johnny Clarke with the organ riff pinched so many times, 'Bam,Bam' Sister Nancy,'Rub a dub Soldier' Paul Blake.
I've not heard it enough yet so there will be others that get better with a few more plays.
Not a bad mix of styles, jingles a nice addition, not outstanding hence the 3 star rating. For the money - good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio), 30 Aug 2009
By 
Angus Self "Jah Skull" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful compilation, and the rdio jingles make it especially fun listening. The selection of reggae tunes from early bluebeat and ska to toasting and heavy dub stylee makes this something to sit beside other great compilations. Riddim! Jah Skull. August 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DBC ON THE FRONTLINE, 15 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
I was living just off the All Saints Road(frontline) when these guys were doing their thing, bought the T-shirt and switched on to the station whenever it broadcasted, Great station and a great period, buy this for the groovy sounds and the great memories !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Compilation, 22 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Dread Broadcasting Corporation - (Rebel Radio) (Audio CD)
Apart from Burning Spear, I don't have a clue about any of the other artists on this compilation. I've also never even heard of DBC. I only bought it because I was attracted to the cover (which I remembered from seeing on an iconic t-shirt some 30-odd years ago) and the strength of the reviews. Nevertheless I absolutely love it. I've been enjoying Don Lett's "Dread Meets Punk Rockers Uptown" compilation for many years and have been seeking more of the same....this is it! This is simply a cornucopia of great music, that "just keeps giving". It plays like a radio show, has an great organic underground/urban vibe and seems to go on for ever (nearly 80mins per CD). Quite simply, every song is suberb. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews