Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best collection of this kind of music
Fantastic collection, truly wonderful... and i've bought quite a few of these recently. The spot is hit, absolutely, and the sleeve notes are easy to read and contains the following description of Al Jones which made me laugh out loud "so polite he made Nick Drake look hard".

What better way to start than with the faux-folk of Corn Rigg, the (in)famous song...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by N. Black

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For folk`s sake
To be brutally honest, the music on this beautifully packaged compilation has less to do with folk and more to do with certain hippy-bucolic sensiblities that were as pervasive as smoke from a Camberwell Carrot back in those heady days of the late sixties and early seventies, as The Beatles were breaking up and the many-headed creature called folk-rock (with a dash of...
Published 11 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best collection of this kind of music, 30 Jun 2009
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection, truly wonderful... and i've bought quite a few of these recently. The spot is hit, absolutely, and the sleeve notes are easy to read and contains the following description of Al Jones which made me laugh out loud "so polite he made Nick Drake look hard".

What better way to start than with the faux-folk of Corn Rigg, the (in)famous song that accompanied a nubile Britt Eckland tormenting the virgin Edward Woodward so memorably in the Wicker Man.

The usual suspects are well-represented - it has become almost obligatory to include Vashti Bunyan and Comus. But the real joy lies in the gently obscure - Forest's "Graveyard" and a very traditional sounding young Sandy Denny singing like she was sitting in a folk club. Then a shy Mike Oldfield turns up backing his sister, whose strange warbling voice was very much of the era. Even Trader Horne sounds better than usual, with a would-be anthem "Morning Way". Gorgeous stuff.

The temptation for later generations is to smirk ever so slightly at the naive young people who produced this kind of music, which at the time had no particular label beyond the loose catch-all of "folk". But as the liner notes sagely point out, they represent a sort of pastoral very English dream that fit very well into the peace and love vibes of the hippie generation. What happens when the sun goes down in ye floral pastoral meadows is another matter entirely - step forward the jarring intensity of Comus. If you have not heard them before, the Herald gives you a fair slice of life a-la comus. The only pity is that the equally odd Jan Dukes de Grey is not represnted.

Buffalo's mellotron epic, by the way, actually fits in pretty well with the rest, as the band works itself up over buffalo, about as far removed from England's wildlife as you could get. Good Bert Jansch as well, his vocal quirks kept to a minimum and his guitar playing as sharp and fresh as a cheese grater... well, you'll see whati mean if you listen to "Silly Girl". Then there's the self-effacing Shelagh Macdonald whose career was ruined by a bad acid trip that drained her of any confidence. Gentle voice, and her best song ever, "Liz's song".

I'd say this is just absolutely brilliant, and especial kudos to the liner notes!! In this brutal world we now live in, of branding, hip-hop and an undertow of violence and disaffection in music this collection has a sort of "did it ever really happen" kind of vibe. But yes, it did, and thank goodness for that. Get hold of this as soon as you can. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money...but you'll soon be spending a fortune on CDs!, 14 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
I defy any newcomers to acid folk/prog rock/unclassifiable oddities to listen to "Gather in the Mushrooms" and not be seized by an irresistable urge to buy every album made by these artists. This wonderful compilation introduced me to Forest, Heron, Shelagh Macdonald (I couldn't stop playing "Liz's Song"), Vashti Bunyan, Lesley Duncan (her version of the self-composed "Love Song" knocks spots off the covers by Elton John and Olivia Newton-John), and the bizarre but fascinating Comus. It also includes the most convincing fake folk song ever written, Paul Giovanni's lovely "Corn Riggs" from "The Wicker Man".

Bravo, compiler John Reed and Sanctuary Records!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thanks castle..., 5 July 2005
By 
Bill23 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
...for opening a new front in the reissue wars. We're well past the good stuff now in garage punk, sunshine pop and brit psychedelics, surely - but this seam sounds worth mining further.The real highlights are the least-known artists: Heron's sublime dark-pastoral'Lord and Master', Fresh Maggots impossibly tuneful 'Rosemary Hill',and Andy Roberts irresistable 'Moonlight World'. Add an obscure early Sandy Denny (Milk and Honey) which stands with the very best of her Fairport stuff, Lesley Duncans ethereal 'Love Song' (covered by Elton John ages ago), 2 spooky tracks from Pentangle and Spirogyra, the theme from The Wicker Man and Writing on the Wall's eerie Buffalo (more prog than folk really but who cares?)and you have a magnificent compilation - thoughtful, tuneful,gentle but sslightly unsettling, perfect for late summer (harvest-time?) evenings - and I haven't even mentioned Comus, Forest, and Vashti Bunyan. This really is a superb, fresh sounding compilation - docked one star only because it's only a single disc! Come on Castle, get to work on Vol 2 - and make it a double (at least)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album will cost ye, 28 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
It will cost you 'cause you will play it so much you'll wear it out. It will cost you when you will want to track down the artists and buy their collections too.
Pentangle, Trader Horne, Vashti Bunyan I know - now I want more. Sandy Denny and Lesley Duncan are legends. And the rest are a Joy. Sallyangie and Bert Jansch songs will make you smile. All is goodly great.
Like wandering the deer trails in a wood, the footpaths o' the common, the bicycle tracks wove in a meadow, or chasing the end of the rainbow on a sunny thunder day, you will want to explore and find more of what you have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical sounds, 4 July 2009
By 
D. Branch (Birmingham ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
I could imagine having a picnic by the river with my friends & family good food,wine & fine ale with this cd playing not in the background but as an integral part of the whole event.I say this as a 56 year old music lover there are some real gems on this cd!!!Gather In The Mushrooms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Gather in the Mushrooms', 19 July 2010
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
Not really 'folk' in the true sense of the word,
This album is still beautiful and really should be heard.

'Folk-influenced', perhaps, is a better description,
Like the neo-folk that blossomed in 1980s Britain

This 1960s 'acid folk' derives its inspiration
From trad folk, without becoming slavish imitation.

Some real gems here, like Trader Horne's 'Morning Way',
Which shimmers like the sun at the threshold of day.

And Magnet's erotic setting of a Robert Burns poem
From the soundtrack of 'The Wicker Man' should be very widely known.

And then there's Forest's 'Graveyard', an amazing little piece,
Or 'The Herald' by Comus, from their debut masterpiece.

The only misplaced song is Buffalo's 'Writing on the Wall'
- a blues-based piece which I don't like at all.

Apart from that, I recommend this album with full heart.
It will take your soul away to a realm of timeless art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a glade somewher, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
As a teenager growing up in Britain I was very fortunate that I was able to buy what were termed "sampler albums", where a particular label took tracks from various albums and packaged them at a very reasonable price for customers to avail themselves of some of the new music of the time. Given that the times were in the last few years of the '60s, than there were a proliferation of new bands, new artists and new music as a thousand flowers bllomed.

Island Records were at the forefront of such albums, You Can All Join In and El Pea being particular favourites. I must confess to spending substantial sums on the albums that I was introduced to and do not regret that expenditure to this day.

This album seems to be a part of a trend, particularly in Britain, whereby sampler albums with a selection of music from yesteryear are compiled to aquaint a whole new generation of music lovers to some of the lost classics of the past. These appetisers contain some very tasty morsels indeed and this is no exception. The inclusion of some well known names can be a little tiresome but it must be understood that the fame is to whet the appetite for more.

I would have liked to see a Pete Frame family tree connecting these artists as although the liner notes are comprehensive a diagrammatic exposition would have made for hours of delightful study and suggestions for further listening.

For me, each and every track on this album is a little gem, although I felt at the conclusion that I had merely finished the first course. It was a surprise to find only a single disc when there must surely be material enough for two, at least.

If I had to pick out particular tracks I would certainly join the consensus about Trader Horne, a vinyl album once owned but lost in the midst of bedsitter images, but Shirley Collins demonstrates a magisterial hold over her craft and John Renbourn, as always, a joy to hear.

Buy this album, for you and for you children and your children's children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good curios, suprisingly good sound quality., 4 Feb 2010
By 
Jan J. Mikula "mikulaj" (Tanworth in Arden, Warwickshire, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
Other reviewers here have already commented on the individual artists or songs, so other than saying that as with any 18-track compilation album, there'll be loads you'll probably love, and the odd track best thought-of as a "filler" - I'll just add that my biggest surprise on playing this was realising how good a job the CD sound engineers have done transferring original material that is forty-odd years old.

If you're old enough to have heard any of these tracks on original worn vinyl from the 60's and 70's, prepare to hear them in a new light; there's little intrusive tape hiss off the old analogue recordings and vocals are mostly very clear [-who needs lyric sheets anyway?]. Oh, and you can really identify some of the then-novel 'psychedelic stereo' mixing tricks that producers and mix-engineers loved to put into 60's 'hip' recordings!

Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 1 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
Apart from the first track which is ok, it's a glorious collection of folk & alternative folk of the period, with the divine 'Milk & Honey' sung by Sandy Denny being my favourite (I played it continually during the end of the 1960's). Lovely to hear these reflective, beautiful songs again. Worth getting, definately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CHILL OUT MUSIC, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gather In The Mushrooms (Audio CD)
I bought this album mainly for a single track LOVE SONG - so anything else found to be good was going to be a bonus. How wrong could i be - this album is BRILLIANT. A small majority of the artists i had never heard of previously. This album has opened my eyes to the genre of psychedelic folk. This album is great to relax too, especially with headphones on. I am now looking to investigate further some of the artists featured on the album. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gather In The Mushrooms
Gather In The Mushrooms by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews