Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed
I have used this a few times now and has kept drinks hot for 6hours. After 6 hours when used the drinks were even then just drinkable, a few degrees hotter and it would have been too hot! Very impressed with this product.

My only worry is how long the rubber seals on the screw tops will last, however they seem of a much higher quality than other flasks and am...
Published on 2 Jan. 2010 by James L

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to start with, but performance deteriorates
Bought this just over a year ago. Advantages are that the wide mouth allows for soups to be easily poured in and out, and the size is just right for a filling lunch.

For the first few months of use, performance was good. After 4 hours, soups would still be very warm, if not piping hot. However, as time has gone by, it's become less and less effective. Now, a...
Published on 21 Jan. 2012 by Burtie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to start with, but performance deteriorates, 21 Jan. 2012
Bought this just over a year ago. Advantages are that the wide mouth allows for soups to be easily poured in and out, and the size is just right for a filling lunch.

For the first few months of use, performance was good. After 4 hours, soups would still be very warm, if not piping hot. However, as time has gone by, it's become less and less effective. Now, a boiling soup, put into the pre-heated flask, is barely lukewarm 4 hours later.

I think there must be better products out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 2 Jan. 2010
I have used this a few times now and has kept drinks hot for 6hours. After 6 hours when used the drinks were even then just drinkable, a few degrees hotter and it would have been too hot! Very impressed with this product.

My only worry is how long the rubber seals on the screw tops will last, however they seem of a much higher quality than other flasks and am confident they will last me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, worth every penny!, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Flask works as described, i had my doubts as some people gave bad reviews. Evidently they are wrong or they did not use it properly.

I use it daily, and evry day my food is almost as i put it in there in the morning. Two things only to remeber, preheat with boiling water for like 1-2mins is enough for me and close the lid properly to seal it.

To be specific:

I use food either prepared before i go to work ( office) or the previous night and warm it in the morning before i put it in the flask.

My times so that you can compare; i put the food in the flask at 7am, and i eat at 1pm. Thats 6 hours and the food is piping hot allways when i preheat the flask with boiled water from the kettel for a minute or two, and satisfyingly hot if i dont preheat. Basically if its soup, you want to preheat it as nothing beats a boiling soup. If its like veg, or meat you can eat it just warm so dont bother with preheating.

My tried food is;

Grilled pork chop, without preheating its still very warm its always steaming (i cut it into pieces and put it in the flask as the opening is only like 10cm wide) its also much easier to eat as i dont want to get my suit dirty whilst cutting up food.

Boiled broccoli and other mixed veg, without preheating is eatable, but i prefer it boiling hot so i preheat it and its allways perfect.

Rice without preheating is warm, but because its a dry food it doesnt hold much heat so if you prefer it boiling hot, preheat the flask and its fine.

Mashed potatoes, with no preheat warm, with preheat, boiling.

Grilled chicken, without preheat i dont recommend, with, perfectly boiling hot.

Pasta, again because its a dry food, if you prefer it boiling you must preheat, but its ok for me without the preheat.

Soup. Mentioned above.

Also one more thing, i usually leave the flask in the car as its sealed properly (unlike others i tried) so it doesnt stink the car out. And its usually warm weather, but even now in the winter or some days i take it in the office with me and leave it on my desk, there is almost zero difference in the warmth of the food inside.

Oh and a little guideline i believe applies, if you are not going to be filling the flask up say above 3/4 then the food obviously doesnt stay as worm as a lot of enthalpy (heat) is lost to the flask itself. So prefer the smaller sized one. Im a big hungry boy so the 0.8 l is more than enough. I dont manage to finish all my pasta, soup or rice as it fits too much. So if you dont eat that much think about what size suits you, as size matters :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 15 July 2009
I've been using mine daily for a few weeks now and am very pleased with it. I make tea with milk first thing in the morning and it's still hot after 6 hours. The wider opening is good for adding and removing the tea bags (and for washing) and the smaller opening is perfect for pouring. Mine get's opened for pouring four or five times during the 6 hours but the tea is still hot until the end (should have got the next size up as I run out of tea before the end of the day!).

Do the lid up nice and tight and it doesn't leak even when it's on it's side. Remember to heat it up with hot water for a few minutes before use as per the instructions. Easy to clean. I'd recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective Product - Vacuum soon fails, 27 Jan. 2011
I bought one of these and it failed after a few weeks use. Thermos Customer Service replaced it and the replacement soon failed again. I twice attempted to post a short video review to show what seems to be a fatal defect in the item but Amazon UK refused the review, without explanation, even though the review easily fell within their rules. So Thermos is selling this defective item and Amazon UK are not honoring the customer review system to protect buyers.

I have since been using the second replacement for six months and the vacuum has not failed. It seems that the lid thread has been retooled so that it it stops to tighten at a certain point. This takes the pressure off the welded seam where the vacuum failed on the first two. BUT, while this new retooling may have taken the pressure off the welded seam but it also makes sure that the flask does not seal fully. Listen to the lid after tightening and a leaking hiss is there. So tighten a bit harder and this fixes it - but this probably puts pressure on the welded seam again. Anyway, so far, so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 1 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Thermos Multi Purpose Stainless Steel Flask 1.2L (Kitchen & Home)
Flask is sturdy and larger than expected. Takes 4/5 mugs of coffee easily and keeps hot for hours.
Very pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, but it did not last., 10 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermos Multi Purpose Stainless Steel Flask 1.2L (Kitchen & Home)
I loved this flask when I first bought it. It is portable and looks great. The lid which doubles as a cup has good capacity and it even has an extra smaller cup under the lid.

I found the flask great the very few times I used it. The bottle has good volume and the opening is wide making it easy to use as, for example, a soup container. The wideness of the opening made the bottle difficult to close.

However, I only used the flask twice before it lost its vacuum effect. I did not hit it or submerged it in water, for no reason at the vacuum was lost. I hope that yours last...otherwise it is not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice solid modern looking design that works well, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Stephen Powell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Multiple reasons for buying this size of flask and not one of the larger ones, but mainly that cafetiere coffee (which is what I use it for) doesnt keep well and 3 cups is just about the limit. Plus I have another one the same size which, during winter, I use for homemade soups....and on one or two occasions a chicken curry for my lunch! (and yes it does keep it hot - the trick is to use really boiling water to warm the flask for about 4-5 mins before putting in the curry...make sure curry is very hot too). Anyway, I keep one for food stuff and one for coffee.

Overall the quality of the flask is nice too....there are two cups, though the one inside the main cup isnt exactly huge, but its actually mroe comfortable to hold than the big one.

My only [small] criticism is the carry strap is a bit cheaply made and the lack of a finger hole on the large cup makes holding it not the best, but its still the best flask on the market at this size and price....and this is my second so illustrates just how good they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy, 8 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermos Multi Purpose Stainless Steel Flask 1.2L (Kitchen & Home)
This is the best flask that i have bought, mainly because it is'nt as fragile, there being no glass inner to break. Also, it holds a decent amount of liquid and keeps it cold or hot for a decent amount of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good flask, 28 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Thermos Multi Purpose Stainless Steel Flask 1.2L (Kitchen & Home)
I really like this flask, I did an overnight test using black coffee, pre-warmed the flask 10 minutes beforehand and the coffee was still very pleasant drinking hot (not piping hot but much warmer than luke warm though) in the morning after 13 hours!
That is better than I expected as it is only rated for 12 hours at keeping liquid *hot*, next stage is to fill it with chunky stew. The outside stays really cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews