Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I don't want to grow old!"
One of the first things that struck me about "the Mother" was how disaffected, distant, and unemotional she is. In fact, her entire family seems to be so totally self-absorbed, self-obsessed and overly materialistic that not one character is at all likable. Rather than appearing as a shining beacon of love and support to her children, May (a marvelous Anne Reid), comes...
Published on 9 Dec 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness for Anne Reid
*Mild spoilers*

As others have mentioned, this is not a feelgood movie. Anne Reid's superb portrayal of May, a woman whose life with her husband is truly mundane, whereby a pair of slippers is the most significant aspect of their relationship, holds the film together very well. Soon after the start of the film, when they go to stay with her son and daughter in...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Amazing DVD on human emotions. Enjoyed every moment of it. Anne Read as usual was superb. All characters real and flawed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable but shocking? - no., 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
On sunday mornings I listen to radio 4. A magazine programme followed by the omnibus edition of The Archers, not as insipid as it used to be, in fact it is sometimes quite racey now: and then Desert Island Discs. What a wonderful format this is. A few weeks ago the castaway was the actress Anne Reid. She is 78 now. I have always enjoyed her work and found her a fine actress. When she was sixty she made the film 'the Mother'. It is the story of a frumpy surburban woman whose crochetty husband played by Peter Vaughan dies. She has always done what he wanted her to do because it was easier. However she will not stay in her house on her own, but goes to London where her children live. They are a normal family, all very different from each other. She stays with her daughter whose boyfriend is doing some building work in the house. The boyfriend is played by Daniel Craig, then a quite normal film actor, and the two have some amazing sex which I am sure everybody knows, This film was released at the end of 2003 when it was promoted because of the 'taboo' sex scenes between a young man and a woman many years his senior.
In 2006 Daniel Craig was cast as James Bond. He instantly became a superstar. This changed everybody's attitude to the film. Desert Island discs now in 2014 has brought yet more publicity. The dvd is for sale on Amazon, a second hand copy for 50 and one for 62.50. However I did not buy from Amazon on this occasion, I bought a copy for 5.99 from HMV a branch of which is next to my bank. This it is a good film - a good script, good acting and well directed. I enjoyed it, but I don't think I would have enjoyed it for 50!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Such wonderful performances...unexpected ... must see! One of those gems that prove what power there is in the independent film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars realistic, 5 May 2012
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
the character of may played by anne reid stole the film here as a lady who late in life after he husband died went to stay with her daughter and wanted and needed to feel life was worth living again and not over with was done with real depth of feeling.daniel craig as darran played a drifting chap who seemed happy to service the mum and daughter until the truth came out. i found myself feeling for the mum.i didnt like the other characters so the cast did a fine job. this film is well priced entertaining if you give it a go and very well thought through. well acted all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mother, 26 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is well worth a watch;cringe worthy at times but very well done, also covering troubled relationships between familys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so much better that i thought, 20 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i was so surprised and happy with this film,i loved the idea of a old lady embarking on an affair with a young, handsome man who is also in love with the lady's daughter, the story was very moving and felt very eral, and the cast was chosen perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mother, 17 Dec 2012
By 
L. Leake (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Well acted and well observed. Anne Reid and Daniel Craig are brilliant. It is definitely not a film with a particularly feel good factor,but nevetheless it is a must watch,at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Lovely film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good buy, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Sanjay Paul (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very good quality (video and audio) DVD of a film rare to find on racks otherwise. I'm so glad of the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, 21 Jun 2013
By 
R. J. Hobby "Ray Hobby" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mother [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Saw it when it was first broadcast - still compelling to watch with good actors and an interesting storyline.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mother [DVD] [2003]
The Mother [DVD] [2003] by Anne Reid (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: 50.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews