Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted fun film for everyone
Mystery, Alaska is great for anyone who loves Ice-Skating / Ice-Hockey, but anyone will enjoy it. It is a real "feel-good" film with some classically funny moments, with a light-hearted romance running throughout. A great film to snuggle down to on a cold winters night with the popcorn.
Published on 6 Dec 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not brilliant
This is rather a dated format it was OK rather predictable, watchable but not a film to watch again and again, not for me anyway
Published 8 months ago by Susie b


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted fun film for everyone, 6 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Mystery, Alaska is great for anyone who loves Ice-Skating / Ice-Hockey, but anyone will enjoy it. It is a real "feel-good" film with some classically funny moments, with a light-hearted romance running throughout. A great film to snuggle down to on a cold winters night with the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, clean fun, if you like ice-hockey or not, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
OK, so it is a standard story: the 'little guys' from a small town in Alaska where kids are born with icehockey skates, against the 'big guys', a professional team from New York. Do they win? See the movie! Lot of good skating, good filming and some laughs.
If you like Russel Crowe, watch it! He is ... endearing in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - could be v.predictable...but isn't, 21 July 2004
By 
H (England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that at first sounds like you average underdogs triumph predictable happy ending type film...but manages very well not to be.
About small Alaskan town 'Mystery' and how peoples lives revolve mainly around ice hockey and the sunday game. They then appear in Sports Illustrated and the New York Rangers plan to play them. With a few complications along the way the big game finally occurs with not as predictable result as expected.
Its a touching and funny film with life in the small town seen through many different characters and how they interact together.
Funny and sad, a bit of a feel-good movie for ice hockey and non sports fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps on going from start to finish, 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
As someone who does play or understand ice hockey this movie bring the fanaticism of the game of one small Alaskan town to light. It reveals the joys of playing the game and the disappointment of being withdrawn from the team due to your age rather than inability to play. Russell Crowe plays the town Sherriff John Biebe who gets bumped and then reinstated after the team are challenged by a major league team on their own pond. He plays the part convincingly without outshadowing the other players and their some complicated lives that all revolve around the Saturday Game of Pond Hockey. An all round enjoyable movie the ends on a truly exciting game of hockey which does have the usually fairytale ending. Grab a big bag of popcorn and enjoy. Well worth a second and third watch even if you hate ice hockey. Breathtaking shots of Alberta where the film was shot add to the splendour of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, even if your not a sports fan., 13 Sep 2008
By 
D. L. Bloor (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not American, and I'm not a bloke who like's sports. In fact I am a woman who generally prefers figure-skating to Ice Hockey. And yet I loved this movie. Originally it was one of a handful of rentals in a Dvd shop that we wouldn't have bothered with if there was anything else we would have thought worth watching; and that would've been a mistake. This movie made me laugh and cry in equal measures, and I found I held my breath in the way male friends assure me they do just before their home team scores a goal a few minutes towards the end of the match. A sweet and pleasant movie, best watched a cold wet sunday whilst curled up under a blanket. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Hockey, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. A. P. Haynes "SO SAY WE ALL" (South Kent - Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
If you're an Ice Hockey Fan, then you're like this..Funny and Emotional, But' Brilliant as a Small Time Hockey team in Alaska take on the almighty: New York Rangers.
Russell Crowe and Burt Reynolds show a brilliant side to Hockey in a Small Town with a Big Hart..
A Must Buy!
And Worth It'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "hockey dream" movie, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Alesa Maxwell (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imagine putting on the skates to get to school, or to get a litre of milk. Mystery Alaska is a town all hockey players have dreamed about...
Pretty realistic hockey playing and great hockey culture.
The only negative is the excessive swearing and adultry. A must-see for hockey lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great hockey film with a good stary line, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
Hear about this film from a work collegue. Great film and I would recommend it. The hockey action is good and realistic. Allround great film with some humour included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
good film better than expected, russell crow was better than expected, some good ice hockey, not as good as slapshot or young blood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery Alaska, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystery Alaska [DVD] (DVD)
didn't know what to expect with this film. big fan of Colm Meany and Russell Crowe. Loved Colm's performance as the Mayor of Alaska.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystery Alaska [DVD]
Mystery Alaska [DVD] by Jay Roach (DVD - 2004)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews