Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why couldn't it be longer?
Why oh Why couldn't this dvd have a longer running time? When you think of how many series of Q programmes that Spike made for the BBC let alone all the guest appearances he made on other shows this offering is just a tiny snippet of his career.
I grew up in a family of Spike lovers, my father owning all the war memoir books, my brother lending me Puckoon and Small...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by datty

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of
With so much to choose from (maybe archives are incomplete) its an odd compilation.
There is much on U-Tube which makes this superfluous.
Published 22 months ago by Peter Ball


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why couldn't it be longer?, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
Why oh Why couldn't this dvd have a longer running time? When you think of how many series of Q programmes that Spike made for the BBC let alone all the guest appearances he made on other shows this offering is just a tiny snippet of his career.
I grew up in a family of Spike lovers, my father owning all the war memoir books, my brother lending me Puckoon and Small Dreams of a Scorpion, my mother cherishing his poems and myself tuning into the radio to catch reruns of the Goons on Radio 4. I was almost a teenager when I first remember watching any of the Q series which was a bit risquet at the time (see the Cash Machine sketch to see why) and to me he was funnier than Monty Python. Like them alot of his humour is hit and miss but still as enduring and he didn't have to resort to profanity to make his point either. Particular hilights on the dvd include insects auditioning for Sir David Attenborough, the singing viking maid, the camp camp and the dim witted Scouts. Where the Dalek sketch is is a mystery.
If you like your humour a little silly and a bit left field then you will enjoy this dvd. Kept me laughing for the full 80 minute runtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
With so much to choose from (maybe archives are incomplete) its an odd compilation.
There is much on U-Tube which makes this superfluous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A traversty, 2 April 2014
By 
A. Fletcher (south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
This should be called the "Worst of Spike Milligan" it does no justice to a man who was one of Britain's finest comedians it portrays only his declining years with BBC with material that at best can only be described as purile. In no way a tribute and a DVD better to be forgotten.
Eric Fletcher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of Spike Milligan, 21 Jan 2014
By 
CF (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
This was a present for my husband. We both felt that it was a bit of a mixed bag. There were some funny moments, but also a lot of unfunny elements to wade through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars typical milligan madness, 4 Jan 2013
By 
tony "tony" (east sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
Incorporating some great idiot moments from Spikes career this dvd owes much to video for its content and really does highlight change in humour over the years. Spike fans will love it, others may just be confused why nobody can keep a straight face when workign with this comic genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spike, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
One of Britain's greatest comics. We think of today's comics as pushing the boundary's, well it all started with Spike's genius. Off key and quirky post war comics had seen life and lose like no other. This is a must buy for Goons fans and for those who would like to investigate the price of real genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiked, 21 Mar 2004
in watching this video there is one thing that saddens me, spike milligan is no longer alive. spike for all his faults was one of the best post war comics and his anguish and drive coupled with his manic energy make this video very watchable. i watched Q9 as a child and this had a long lasting effect on me. on reflection i think that if you were a spike milligan fan then this video would be in your collection. it has many short sketches that spike is remembered for and also an early chance to see john bluthal pre vicar of dibley. if you have only read his books then this video will give you just a little taste of what you have missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to a point, 9 May 2012
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
Once this got into the swing of things it was hilarious but the first few scenes (the interview especially) are rather a test of the viewer's endurance. Spike himself is certainly not to blame - even in the interview scenes he was a scream, but generally these scenes broke up the flow and deadened the enjoyment. Had it been presented as 80 minutes of Milligan and not 70 (say) of Milligan and 10 of un-hilarious padding, I might have enjoyed it a good deal more. Well worth a look, but not if you are new to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spike milligan, 5 May 2014
By 
P. A. Hudson "pam" (suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
arrived very quickly,very well packed. spike milligan is very amusing, to get the best dvd you must watch and listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laugh out loud, 4 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Little (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] (DVD)
Classic comedy from a great comedian, first time I have bought any of spike milligrams work and wasn't disappointed,great to watch yet another classic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD]
The Best of Spike Milligan [DVD] by Alan J.W. Bell (DVD - 2004)
£4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews