Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely left field
If you're a fan of modern British comedy this show is a highlight of the last decade.
You have Simon Pegg and Hark Heap, just before they went off to make the incredible Spaced. Graham Linehan and Arthur Matthews just after Father Ted and before Linehan made Black Books, Kevin Eldon fresh from Brass Eye, and Catherine Tate before her (imo) underwhelming solo...
Published on 9 Dec 2004 by Mr AI

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars strange but okay
repetitive clips, some of which are funny and some of which are quite random. i find about half of it very funn y and the other half not at all funny
Published 23 months ago by pylonics


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Train, 5 Aug 2004
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is worth it for Jacques the French tortoise and the scene where the guy wants to find out who his natural mother is after being adopted.
So funny I cried and struggled to breathe!!
If you liked Spaced, Shaun of the Dead and the like, then this is for you.
Personally, I can't wait for this, and it's pre-ordered already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Funny, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Andrew J. Codling "s_tarboy" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Firefighting Showjumpers, How to distract staff when they are after their bonuses, Ming the Merciless, "Sorry I don't speak English", A man dressed up as a cat and a man dressed up as a mouse having a fight. I think thats only the first 2 episodes of series 1.
The fast show was good, but a bit predictable, this on the other hand is comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some misses, but still a must own dvd!, 28 Mar 2007
By 
A. Miller "Mill Mill" (Alsager, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
First things first, a lot of people have dubbed the second series as somewhat inferior to the first. I think series is just as good as the first in all honesty. A few sketches in both series miss the mark, particularly in the last two episodes of each series - but still this is sketch comedy at its best.

Highlights include: Chaka Khan vs The BeeGees, Hot Cakes, Not married and ,the deleted scene, weights.

Pegg and Heap are, unarguably, the funniest comedians on the show - but that is not to diminish the greatness of all the others on the show. In short, despite the odd unfunny sketch, this dvd is a must own especially considering the cheap price it is these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomparable, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Whenever anything amusing happens in life, it almost invariably brings to mind a sketch from the first series of Big Train.
With a phenomenal classics-to-duds ratio, this has to be the greatest comedy of all time. I'm not going to go all specky-t***ish and enumerate my favourites, but please give it a go. You might hate it - taste is, after all, personal - but I've never met anyone yet who does.
Series 2 - well, it grew on me to a certain extent but the loss of the two superb female stars left it extremely flat. I had told some friends they must watch it (based on series one)and felt a bit of a pillock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Very fast despatch. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
So many laughs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Aboard, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic dvd and at £15 for 6 hours of intelligent, original and hillarious comedy (not even including the extras) you couldn't do much better. The thing that really makes this stand out from other, less illustrious, sketch shows is the quality of the acting. Kevin Eldon, Mark Heap and of course Simon Pegg are all superb comic actors - their timing and delivery in so many different and varied roles mark this out as a very special piece of television. Of course the quality of the writing can't be ignored either. The use of spot-on parody expanded to the Nth degree and some really beautiful surrealism will keep you constantly guessing. No tedious inevitable punch lines or hackneyed overdone ideas. Just sparkling, creative wit from start to finish. I have to disagree with some previous reviewers and say that the second series is just as good as the first . Following in the great tradition of british comedy Big Train has delivered an excellent and worthy addition to the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest sketch show I've ever seen..., 13 Mar 2006
By 
Carly Monardo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Well, Series One is. Series Two is, I have to admit, somewhat disappointing. However it still has its moments (the "not married" bit, Eldon as Heap's natural mother).
Don't let an inferior second series stop you, however. Series One is absolute gold; some of the best stuff I've ever seen. I heartily recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linehan and Matthews -, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
At their best. Following the fantastic Father Ted. These guys deliver, with an all star cast. Each member a legend in British Comedy. Great surreal sketches with class.
'I'm committed to cakes'. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews