Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely left field
If you're a fan of modern British comedy this show is a highlight of the last decade.
You have Simon Pegg and Hark Heap, just before they went off to make the incredible Spaced. Graham Linehan and Arthur Matthews just after Father Ted and before Linehan made Black Books, Kevin Eldon fresh from Brass Eye, and Catherine Tate before her (imo) underwhelming solo...
Published on 9 Dec 2004 by Mr AI

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars strange but okay
repetitive clips, some of which are funny and some of which are quite random. i find about half of it very funn y and the other half not at all funny
Published 18 months ago by pylonics


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Hit Comedy, 27 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't agree more with the previous review. Where else do you seeoffice workers complaining about their workmates' w***ing habits? Ming theMerciless watching Teletubbies? The Evil Hypnotist cure a smoker?
Big Train is simply a smorgasbord of pure and clever comedy that basesitself mainly on the unusual premises of juxtaposition AND observation; agood example of this is the staring contest - just genius. Its adistillation of a hell of a lot of hard work on behalf of the writers, andthe superb performances of Pegg et al. couldn't be bettered. It is thebest sketch show ever as far as I am concerned. At the risk of comittingcomedy heresy, I would say I prefer it to Python. Not because Python isnot a superb comedy, but that in Python a few sketches missed theirtargets, whereas those in Big Train are ALL quality - I can't remember aduff sketch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fun!, 20 Aug 2006
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite possibly the best sketch show ever made! Written by the creators of Father Ted and starring, among others, Simon Pegg, Mark Heap, Rebecca Front and Kevin Eldon it doesnt disappoint.

Show Jumping Firefighters, Evil Hypnotists, the man with big hands and some cool movie pastiches are just a handful of the great sketches on offer. If you like Monty Pythons sillyness and surrealness and the more contempory comdey of The Fast Show and The Day Today then hop aboad the Big Train and ride the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big train, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I have not seen dvd yet, looking foreward to see this series.julia davis is a very fine screen television writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python, 30 July 2004
By 
M. D. Jacobs (The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Monty Python was and is still ahead of it's time, and this series expands on that perfection by tweaking one thing - acting. Apart from that, the sketches are all Python-esque (which is obviously a good thing). The addition of fine acting is what makes this stomach-achingly hilarious. Anyone remember the family who talk too fast? Pre-order a copy of this for everyone you know, cause the release of this is going to make Christmas with friends and family a scream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Great price for a complete box set. Would use seller again. As described. Well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Train, 5 Aug 2004
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is worth it for Jacques the French tortoise and the scene where the guy wants to find out who his natural mother is after being adopted.
So funny I cried and struggled to breathe!!
If you liked Spaced, Shaun of the Dead and the like, then this is for you.
Personally, I can't wait for this, and it's pre-ordered already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Train is funny, 3 Oct 2004
By 
A. Venn "Aaron" (Sydney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in Australia right.
And i remember one night on ABC over here, i saw this sketch with a well dressed business man being chased by someone dressed as the Tin Man from Wizard of Oz.
Intrigued, i continued watching the show, as it had funny sketches.
At the end of the episode, it had a very funny reason as to why the Tin Man was following the businessman and instantly i was hooked on the show.
I used to watch it every time it was on. Then it just disappeared here.
Point in fact, now i can get the DVD.
And i'm happier for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Funny, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Andrew J. Codling "s_tarboy" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Firefighting Showjumpers, How to distract staff when they are after their bonuses, Ming the Merciless, "Sorry I don't speak English", A man dressed up as a cat and a man dressed up as a mouse having a fight. I think thats only the first 2 episodes of series 1.
The fast show was good, but a bit predictable, this on the other hand is comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some misses, but still a must own dvd!, 28 Mar 2007
By 
A. Miller "Mill Mill" (Alsager, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
First things first, a lot of people have dubbed the second series as somewhat inferior to the first. I think series is just as good as the first in all honesty. A few sketches in both series miss the mark, particularly in the last two episodes of each series - but still this is sketch comedy at its best.

Highlights include: Chaka Khan vs The BeeGees, Hot Cakes, Not married and ,the deleted scene, weights.

Pegg and Heap are, unarguably, the funniest comedians on the show - but that is not to diminish the greatness of all the others on the show. In short, despite the odd unfunny sketch, this dvd is a must own especially considering the cheap price it is these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomparable, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Whenever anything amusing happens in life, it almost invariably brings to mind a sketch from the first series of Big Train.
With a phenomenal classics-to-duds ratio, this has to be the greatest comedy of all time. I'm not going to go all specky-t***ish and enumerate my favourites, but please give it a go. You might hate it - taste is, after all, personal - but I've never met anyone yet who does.
Series 2 - well, it grew on me to a certain extent but the loss of the two superb female stars left it extremely flat. I had told some friends they must watch it (based on series one)and felt a bit of a pillock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Train : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1998] [DVD]
8.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews