Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious
Bobcats will love this. They are a hardy bunch and will be prepared to stick with this often inscrutable, sometimes bizarre film. Although co-written by Dylan (under a hopeless pseudonym) it is no mere vanity project and features a truly great cast. While John Goodman, Val Kilmer, Jeff Bridges and Penelope Cruz do their best to not act Bob off the screen, he does a good...
Published on 13 May 2004 by Dylan35

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Dylan that poor ?
Bob Dylan is not always very well inspired these days. To invest his song and music in a fictitious Latin American situation with a dying general dictator, a civil war without any ideology, some dumb sharks trying to exploit some artists to organize a free concert in support of ... of what? It tries to show how Latin America is rotten, how our times have changed so much...
Published on 13 July 2007 by Jacques COULARDEAU


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious, 13 May 2004
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
Bobcats will love this. They are a hardy bunch and will be prepared to stick with this often inscrutable, sometimes bizarre film. Although co-written by Dylan (under a hopeless pseudonym) it is no mere vanity project and features a truly great cast. While John Goodman, Val Kilmer, Jeff Bridges and Penelope Cruz do their best to not act Bob off the screen, he does a good job of lending wisdom and mystery to the ageing character of Jack Fate. Fate has to play one last benefit concert for the victims of post revolutionary America, which looks just like Dylan's Desolation Row. The entire film weaves dream like images around some great song performances from Bob and his band. It's like being lost in some of your favourite Dylan albums. There is little plot to speak of, rather an almost non-linear sequence of scenes recalling nothing less than an Empire burlesque and a World Gone Wrong. It doesn't reveal any obvious truths about Dylan, it's not autobiographical, and it's certainly not an easy view. However, it is witty and deeply human in places, and there are snatches of dialogue worthy of the best Dylan lines. This should be seen, not just by Dylan fans, but by fans of brave and individual cinema making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seeing the real Bob at last !, 13 May 2004
By 
K. L. Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
The billing of this movie plays down Bob's part, but Bob is nearly in every scene. If you are a fan you will enjoy this, the sly references etc...Bob looks cool as hell, and the musical performances are neatly shot so you see Bob without the ever present shades, I mean up close, it's great to see him this up-front. You never know what is going to happen next in the movie..There is a great line where Goodman says to Bob.." you are all skin and bones"...and Bob shoots back " ain't we all "...classic Dylan !. This is Bob's film. There is a hilarious scenne where the promoters insist on Bob singing all the classic protest songs..ie. Revolution ( Beatles )...Street Fighting Man ( Stones )...Eve of Destruction ... so funny. I enjoyed this film a lot and I think you will too...nice one Bob !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love the hat bob, 24 Mar 2012
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
Not one review of this film has mentioned the humour
To be found in it. I thought it was chaotic but hilarious
Specially the part where val kilmar desperatley tries
To get our bob to open up on where bob was at. All he
Could get were muttering and mumbling from our bob
From underneath a huge 20 gallon hat I was in tucks
Must add too some great music loved dixie track and diamond joe. Lighten up reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not such a wasted opportunity, 15 April 2011
By 
P. Brooke (Brecon, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
David Butler's review sums it up very well when he says: 'It tackles the big ideas, or human values on a universal scale. Nothing is less than fundamental, everything must be taken with a pinch of salt. In other words: proper human values. If you are looking for an easy ride forget it, but you can enjoy yourself along he way.' That's no mean thing. I don't understand why he gives it only two stars and a dismissive heading ('wasted opportunity'). Its a lovely film. The star is Jessica Lange. It has some wonderful corny Latin American Dylan covers. The only problem for me is the rather facile ending, everyone getting shot in the Revolution. They should instead have been liberated by bombing from a great height like the lucky people of Libya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Dylan that poor ?, 13 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
Bob Dylan is not always very well inspired these days. To invest his song and music in a fictitious Latin American situation with a dying general dictator, a civil war without any ideology, some dumb sharks trying to exploit some artists to organize a free concert in support of ... of what? It tries to show how Latin America is rotten, how our times have changed so much that we have lost all ethical ideology, how show business is meaningless, how even a revolutionary guerilla warfare has no real ideological objective and yet the film sets some religious objectives to this revolution. And it all ends in a fiasco. Bob Dylan is no great actor and that is not new. His music are interesting but this film is betraying them 100%.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine & University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond bad., 9 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Masked And Anonymous [DVD] (DVD)
A terrible film. The story is drivel. The overacting is ubiquitous. Dylan's singing is awful. Why did they bother? Does no one have the bottle to tell Bob that he isn't the most talented guy in town or they all just a gang of fawning lackeys?
How can I get back the 100 minutes of my life I wasted in watching this rubbish? Bobcats, open your eyes and ears asnd come to your senses. Stop trying to make out that this disaster is in some way meaningful. Or maybe you DO need a weatherman to tell you which way the wind is blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masked And Anonymous [DVD]
Masked And Anonymous [DVD] by Larry Charles (DVD - 2004)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews