Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, goosebump music, 16 Jan 2005
I first heard of the delays back in 2003 when I heard 'Hey Girl' palyed by Mark & Lard show (now sadly deceased) on radio 1. It caught my attention but didn't strike me as amazing.
However I got the single the next week and was hooked. Then came Long Time Coming the best song of 2004 without doubt. Before you know it I'm going to see them live and have got their album.
If you haven't got this album why not? Yes Greg Gilbert the lead singer amy have a high voice at times, some of my relatives cannot distinguish whether its a man or woman singing at times, but forget that. All of the tracks on this album are brilliant, from the spine tingling 'Stay where you are' to the upbeat 'One Night Away', each song has its own character. Favoruite tracks have to be 'Bedroom scene' and 'Wanderlust' as well as 'Long Time Coming'. This album is a must have!
Underated album of 2004 I think! Can't wait for the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pristine Pop Perfection, 13 May 2004
Jingle jangle guitars, soaring vocal harmonies and not a duff track in sight, what more could you ask for. The perfect companion for summer, buy it you fools, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly Music, 4 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. M. A. Quinn (MANCHESTER) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
Its been a while since I bought something that made me ring all of my music loving mates and tell them about it. I dont know much about these boys but from now on I will be scouring info on them, tour dates, new albums etc. They are amazing.
Beautifull singing and harmonys, floating guitars and the odd steel drum, tracks 1-4 are without a doubt the best on the album with track 4 - Bedroom Scene being a work of genius, you could take elements of the song and make about 4 songs out of it based on the various hooks within it.
With shades of the La's (vocally) but a few octaves higher and melodies that are totally fresh I have to recomend this to anyone who like anything slightly Indie or Rock related, its a WINNER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Feb 2005
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the best album I have ever heard from a great British band. If all our bands were this good we would easily have the best music industry in the world. My favorite track from this masterpiece is Long Time Coming but Nearer Than Heaven is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply superb..., 15 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
First of all I'd like to simply point out that this is a really superb debut album - everything that I'd come to expect from a band who are signed to Rough Trade.
The Delays, I'd say, fall somewhere in between generic indie-pop-rock but definitely carry a uniqueness about themselves. The harmonies containted in this album are absolutely flawless; Greg Gilberts effeminate yet raspy and, therefore, somewhat masculine vocals work exceptionally well with some great bass fills and some amazing synth work. The Carribean-esque steel drums on Wandrlust are a great addition. In my opinion there's an element of Mansun here are somewhat lacking their eccentricities; which is by no means a bad thing.
The singles released so far are superb. Long Time Coming has to be one of the sweetest and most melodic indie anthems I've heard in a long while and Nearer than Heaven is simply beautiful. Hey Girl is a pleasant mix of resonant guitars not too far removed from (early) Byrds work and I certainly don't feel that this album is a case of 4 good songs and 8 'fillers'. Highly recommended and catch them at this year's summer festivals if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally ACE!, 21 April 2004
What an ACE ACE ACE album. One of the best I've heard in a long time. Its one of those albums where you can listen to the whole thing rather than just a few selected fav tracks. The whole thing works really well together. Number 12 is a bit 'meh' but the rest is just ACE! What a terrific debut. Well done guys. *smile* It's a must have album! When I got home I just carried on walking today because I had me good old MD on and didn't wanna stop the great music EVEN THOUGH it was raining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faded??? Um, no...., 3 May 2004
After having heard the three singles and respective B-sides, I was expecting more of the same from the Southampton four piece. I wasn't disappointed. Opener "Wanderlust" is a very upbeat introduction to the album, leading into the singles "Nearer Than Heaven" and "Long Time Coming", which will appeal to indie shoe-gazers and pop fans alike. The album slows down a bit on the bland "No Ending" which, for me, was the weakest song on the album as it just seemed to have no tune. The next song however, the bouncy "You Wear The Sun", with its similarities to The Las and 60s music is in stark contrast to the dirge of the previous song. Some slow songs follow; "Stay Where You Are", with its groovy synth intro, and the middle-of-the-road acoustic ballad "There's Water Here" providing a wind-down before "One Night Away" and live set-closer "On". Lots of variety on this album, often it is the temptation for all the slow songs to be grouped together, likewise the upbeat numbers; but not so on Faded Seaside Glamour. At times Greg Gilbert's falsetto vocals can be hard to get past; but overall, a charming, infectious indie-pop album. Go on, I dare you. Your mum'll love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Half an excellent album, 22 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
The first five tracks of this album are excellent with the first three inparticular, Wanderlust, the sublime Nearer Than Heaven, and Long TimeComing making for the best "sit up and listen" start as I have heard on apop CD for some time. The musical arrangements are great and the falsettovocals of Greg Gilbert really carry some great melodies. Unfortunatelythough, once the album hits the half way point, the songs tend to be lessmemorable and merge into a background blandness. Maybe it's the fault ofthe magnificent openers that these latter songs pale by comparison -hopefully they'll be growers. So four stars it is for me - an average offive for the first half and a three for the second half, but worth gettingfor that opening salvo of sublime pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, with a Top Game, 26 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
A bit like going back to the late eighties, early nineties.
Sounds like the Cocteau Twins, which can only be a good thing.
Also, as the boys in the band like their footy, there is an associated online football game at [...] which is really very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a band with a bright future, 9 Mar 2004
This review is from: Faded Seaside Glamour (Audio CD)
the delays, a foursome from southampton, have hinted at greatness from various live gigs and singles. their album confirms the speculation.
poppy indie with a tinge of the 60s and high soaring vocals run rampant through this highly impressive debut album. like a more mellow franz ferdinand, this is album is a pleasure to listen to. It's a combination of effortless harmonies and cascading melodies, which you will find yourself drifting off to before you know it.
higlights are plenty, but special mention must go to nearer than heaven. its pop perfection and Greg Gilbert pussycat growl is as heartfelt as it could be harrowing. Long time coming and wanderlust have the poignancy and the ability to mellt the hardest of hearts.
From this evidence the delays are one of the most promising bands on the indie scene at the moment. this debut is simply pop perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faded Seaside Glamour
Faded Seaside Glamour by Delays (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews