Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!
This album is simply superb, a welcome return to top form from the Scorpions, if you are/every were a fan then buy this album now you won't be dissapointed.(Can't wait to see them support Judas Priest)
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Mr. P. LAST

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Right Turn
On `Unbreakable', reunited with producer Dieter Dierks (the man at the helm on all the great Scorpions albums) after more than fifteen years; with a new bass player, Pawel Maciwoda, on board and having drummer James Kottak contributing to the songwritng on three of the tracks, the Scorpions sound fresher, more alive and more energetic than they have in the studio since...
Published on 7 Aug 2007 by Nev Daimler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. P. LAST "The Neon God" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
This album is simply superb, a welcome return to top form from the Scorpions, if you are/every were a fan then buy this album now you won't be dissapointed.(Can't wait to see them support Judas Priest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars landmark album!!, 24 Jan 2005
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
i took a chance and bought this album with tongue in cheek, after the dreadful eye2eye i wasnt expecting much more of a change, i was immediately proven wrong im happy to say, with this fine playlist, theyve shown that theyre back with a vengance! one of the best songs on there is "she said" which harked back to the the kind of quality we saw in "send me an angel" and "when the smoke is going down" well done scorps great to see you back with something decent keep it up..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real sting in the tail!!, 21 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
When i read good reviews of this album I couldn't believe it as their last album 'eye to eye' was absolutely awful.
However, I have a lot of respect for these long running rockers, and bought the album.
I am so glad I did as this is a total rebirth.
If you have ever enjoyed a Scorpions album in the past, then you MUST buy this.
Their glorious 80's heyday get's a nod, but this album sounds amazingly fresh and vibrant, and the songwriting is of a superb quality.
If there was any justice, this would be a top chart album.
Thoroughly recommended, and my album of the year so far!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Right Turn, 7 Aug 2007
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
On `Unbreakable', reunited with producer Dieter Dierks (the man at the helm on all the great Scorpions albums) after more than fifteen years; with a new bass player, Pawel Maciwoda, on board and having drummer James Kottak contributing to the songwritng on three of the tracks, the Scorpions sound fresher, more alive and more energetic than they have in the studio since 1991's `Crazy World'. Whilst the album is far from perfect, the guitar heavy production and the emphasis on rockers instead of ballads marks something of a return to form for the band. Long-standing fans breathed a collective sigh of relief after years spent fearing that their favourite band had completely lost direction.
Nothing on `Unbreakable' will set the world alight and some of the songs are pretty formulaic heavy rock-by-numbers, but they're played with plenty of skill from a tighter-sounding Scorpions unit and recorded with plenty of power in the mix. `New Generation' is a rather plodding opener, but `Love `Em or Leave `Em' is a solid ass-kicker, `Deep and Dark' a satisfying footstomper and `Blood Too Hot' energetic and catchy.
Best of all, where too many Scorpions albums veered rapidly into ballad territory, no slow songs are on offer here until track six. `Maybe I Maybe You' works very well as a restrained, piano-driven tune, yet even on this the band can't resist plunging into bombastic rock at the finale.
The latter half of the record, after the very fine `Someday is Now', doesn't quite sustain the quality but the songs are still far more enjoyable than most of stuff the Scorpions had offered up over the last thirteen years (unlucky for some, namely the fans). The cheesy, upbeat final number (with awful lyrics) is called `Remember the Good Times': highly appropriate, because `Unbreakable' most definitely does hark back to the glory days of the band and although it can't compete with albums the Scorpions released at the height of their powers, it offers plenty of positives and is a very solid slice of traditional heavy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In your face hard rock, 15 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
For me, 'Lovedrive' is the greatest hard rock album ever , and 'Tokyo Tapes' comparable to the classic live albums of Thin Lizzy and Aerosmith.

This album, however, is not far behind , and is superior in terms of the heavy guitar work and the production. In addition, Klaus Meine has a beautiful hard rock voice and the melodies will drift through your brain incessantly.

I regularly listen to this by lying on my sofa , eyes closed, from Track 1 through to the last track. A bit special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 18 Oct 2009
By 
M. Jones "It lives" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
This album is a return to top form for the Scorpions.
The album is full of great songs and an energy not seen since the 80s.
This is matched by the new live shows which have been spot on too.
Wondering where the Scorpions are at. This is a good place to start.
Humanity follows on well from this album but this is the better of the two.
I rank this as equal to their classic 80s output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very ggod album, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
the songs here are very good, nothing to envy to their old albums. scorpions are on top form, xx xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
I bought this album mainly is for 'maybe I maybe you' which is kind of soft song. Did not expect I would enjoy other songs that much. But I really enjoyed this album, all songs are great. At least great for road trip:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE !!!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
A great album !!! You must have it absolutely...This album includes lots of nice tracks...Also, there is a nice ballad such as "may be I, may be you"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This may be the best album ever but...., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
I bought this and found that it would not play in my car (where I most listen to music). It would not play on my laptop or PC either. I thought it was faulty until I saw a small logo on the front of the disc. This turned out to be Sony BMG copy protection circa 2004, which basically also stops it playing on many other devices - essentially Sony treating paying customers like pirates. This was subject to a law suit and was dropped, but Amazon seem to be still selling these discs.
I have returned it for a refund as it is useless to me, but watch out for this if you consider buying this album. Amazon should clearly state that the CD is copy protected or not to allow an informed buying decision.

Update: Amazon customer services confirm that they will continue to sell the now illegal copy protection version of this album only. It seems to be labelled as "Enhanced, Limited Edition, Import". I'm guessing that the 'enhancement' is that you can't play where you may want to. Some enhancement! So unless you are happy that you do not want to play in your car or on your PC, laptop etc or to be able to transfer to your MP3 player, do NOT buy this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unbreakable
Unbreakable by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews