Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is It His Greatest Hits, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
I am an Elton John fan, so please don't take this the wrong way but although this is a good collection of his hits, it is not his "BEST". These 3 C.D.'s contain nearly all of Eltons hit singles,however my favourite disc from this collection is the "bonus " 3rd disc if you purchase the 3 C.D.version I think you'll see what I mean. He has made so many great album tracks that were never singles that I think they deserve an Album of their own, tracks such as Great Discovery,Madman across The Water,Talking Old Soldiers, Pinky, I've Seen that Movie Too, Funeral For a Friend, Crazy Water,Bitter Fingers,Elderberry Wine,Blues For Baby and Me,Writing,Mona Lisas And Madhatters and more recently some of the Tracks from the albums he has made in the 90's, Sweat it Out, Recover Your Soul and Emily. It would be great to see a Best Of album that contains these tracks and some lesser known 45's that didn't make the "TOP 40". Elton is an album artist not a singles artist. In fact I think I'm right in saying he didn't have much say in what was released as a single or maybe he didn't want the hastle . Anyway that's the reason I only give this 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elton - the first 32 years, 5 Dec 2004
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
Elton John goes in and out of fashion, but he never goes away, and this selection of songs is a reminder of why.
It must have been a job selecting the tracks for this compilation, because the stuff left out is better than many other artists' greatest hits - Bite your Lip, Song for Guy, Part Time Love, Step Into Christmas, Border Song, Funeral for a Friend, Pinball Wizard, for example.
Considering how prolific Elton was in the 1970s (15 albums between 1970 and 1976!) that decade is a little under-represented here. But the problem is that the songs which are the favourites for many fans were not actually singles, although they are possibly as well-known as some of the singles.
Some older fans will feel that they would rather have more of the older songs at the expense of tracks like Circle of Life or Written in the Stars, but perhaps some younger fans are drawn in by those tracks and will discover classics like Honky Cat, so this selection is a reasonable compromise.
After listening to this, I felt a compulsion to go out and get new CD copies of Caribou, Captain Fantastic, and Goodbye Yellow Brick Road. Forget the tabloid stories, ridiculous costumes, and celebrity tantrums, Elton became famous for writing songs and this collection is a fine showcase of well-written songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an Elton convert., 19 Dec 2005
By 
Curlynob (Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
I have to admit, I've never had a great deal of time for Sir Elton. I've grown up in a period of time which i don't think even his most dedicated fans would consider his most productive. Rewind thiry years though and it's a different story. Your Song. Tiny Dancer. Are you ready for love. Rocket Man. Goodbye yellow brick road. Saturday nights alrigh for fighting. These are all such wonderful songs! Bernie and Elton were litterally on fire during this period - sometimes they even knocked out four LPs a year!
I realised that as a music fan, i just had to have these songs in my collection. I still can't stand some of his later stuff, but even if you just listen to the first CD, this greatest hits collection is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer perfection from start to finish, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
It's hard to imagine a stronger selection of songs from any artist. This is perfect late-night listening material, full to brimming with mellow and melodic tracks. There really isn't a duff track on here. This collection of songs made me investigate EJ's back catalogue and I now own seven more albums (and counting)! The man (along with Bernie Taupin) is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is only one Elton!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
If you like Elton John then you will find this CD a good addition to your collection. If you don't like him what are you doing reading this review in the first place?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical legend, 22 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
Sir Elton John is righteously knighted for his services to the music industry. In my personal view, "He is the premiere musician to embrace British pop music, with the trademark glasses, uplifting piano playing and earring". The Greatest Hits 1971-2002 honours the talents and skills of this legendary musical star. The album comprises two discs with a host of hits and an additional disc. The music spans from the hip decade of the 70's, nostalgia years of the 80's, funky years of the 90's to the digital age of the present decade. Timeless classics featured in the album include Blue Eyes, Don't go breaking my heart, Rocket Man , Candle in the wind, I am still standing, I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues, Sacrifice, Can You Feel The Love Tonight, Circle Of Life and many more.

Greatest Hits 1970-2002 is a true reflection of Elton John's colourful and energetic music which continues to appeal on a global basis. A few Disney classics and mainstreams adverts feature tracks by Sir Elton John. This clearly emphasises his popularity as a musical icon. The album is a great CD to include in your collection and listen to timeless classics already identified, time and time again. His music is a real pleasure to listen to and instils confidence in you. If you have been an avid follower of Sir Elton John all your life and appreciate high calibre music, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some of the best songs ever, bar none.........., 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
I first heard Elton John in the 1970's, as part of my dad's reord collection, and have always thought he was ok, nothing more. This collection puts his work in perspective, and I stand corrected; musically, Elton was a genius.

The highlight, in terms of songwriting, is disc 1, containing his 1970's output; the lyrics are intensely personal, revealing a man with many personal issues ('Someone saved my life tonight', 'sorry seems to be the hardest word' etc)but one supremely talented.

Disc 2 contains his later, different if not totally inferior, material. Its a nice mix, the 80's stuff standing up pretty well, and the Lion King material you love or hate (I actually love it!). A track written recently that sounds like it sneaked from the first disc is 'This Train Don't Stop There Anymore'; if you want Elton to sum up his disillusionment with the music biz, this does it perfectly.

A nearly perfect collection of 34 tracks. Great album for a great singer songwriter, every collection needs it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
great for singing along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elton john greatest hits, 17 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. D. Brown (GLASGOW, N.LANARKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
a gift well received,its a great album but to samey for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great legacy!, 12 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 (Audio CD)
Listening to these songs on 2 CDs lets you realise what a wonderful gift Elton has for writing great songs. There are not many artists who can fill two CDs with first-class music but Elton does it with ease - this is excellent music that will, like that of other composers with a gift for great melody, be heard for many generations after ours.

I have many of Elton's original albums but still find plenty to enjoy from this compilation - if for nothing else, for enjoying the immense quality of some of his best work put together in one place.

As such, I think this 2 CD set is of interest to both fans and newcomers and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good tune!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002
The Greatest Hits 1970 - 2002 by Elton John (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews