Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.O.N.W - Criminal Offence Not to Watch!
CSI's first season is unrelenting in its immediate appeal to the audience;not only does it succeed where many other similar shows have failed infinding the right balance between characters and plot, its ultra-hipmanipulation of new technology perfectly compliments the show's gravitas.
Whilst typical British dramas tend to over-emphasise characterinteractions and...
Published on 28 April 2004

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, no sale
The series has no subtitles. My family enjoys this, but I cannot. Which is kind of ironic and weird because one of the chacters is losing their hearing.
Published on 16 July 2012 by Robert Whitaker Sirignano


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.O.N.W - Criminal Offence Not to Watch!, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
CSI's first season is unrelenting in its immediate appeal to the audience;not only does it succeed where many other similar shows have failed infinding the right balance between characters and plot, its ultra-hipmanipulation of new technology perfectly compliments the show's gravitas.
Whilst typical British dramas tend to over-emphasise characterinteractions and forsake plot, CSI manages to give the viewer enough of asense of each character's personal life to understand their motivations,whilst maintaining the gradual reveal of each crime. (Special mentionmust of course be made of Jerry Bruckheimer/Anthony Zuicker's passion forthe music of Paul Townsend, used to great effect in this classy serieswhich never loses its cool).
Classic cases include:
PILOT
COOL CHANGE
CRATE 'N BURIAL
PLEDGING MR JOHNSON
FRIENDS AND LOVERS
WHO ARE YOU?
BLOOD DROPS
ANONYMOUS
UNFRIENDLY SKIES
SEX, LIES & LARVAE
I-15 MURDERS
FAHRENHEIT 932
BOOM
TO HALVE AND TO HOLD
TABLE StAKES
TOO TOUGH TO DIE
FACE LIFT
$35K O.B.O
GENTLE, GENTLE
SOUNDS OF SILENCE
JUSTICE IS SERVED
EVALUATION DAY
THE STRIP STRANGLER
This DVD set presents the show in fullscreen and has little or no extrafeatures, nevertheless its interactive menus are smooth and impressive,and isn't presentation in full boxset always more appealing than the halfseason equivalent?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series to watch., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of CSI and watch all three; Las Vegas, NY and Miami. CSI Las Vegas is my favourite though, and I decided to start buying the series a season at the time. I've not problem with the DVD so far and I doubt there will be any. For the price, I would recommend buying this especially if your a fan of CSI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an awesome start to an incredible series, 8 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
i got into csi a little late in the game... maybe season two? a lot of the other students in my human osteology class were talking about it, so i decided to check it out. i was hooked from the first episode i saw.
i just rented the first season to watch it for the first time. it was great to get a bit more background on the characters and to see how far the show has come from the pilot episode. the acting of the primary cast started out strong and has since gotten better.
yes, there's blood and gore, but it's presented in a way that leaves you caring more about the terrible things that go on in our world rather than steeling your heart and mind against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's The Grissom Gang!, 27 Oct. 2005
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
CSI is a great American TV show, now much copied.
It is mostly written to a regular formula and is always reliable, if not always plausible, entertainment.
William Petersen is great as Dr Gil Grissom ( a phD 'doctor') who leads the Las Vegas Police Crime Scene Investigation Department. Grissom and his sidekicks are not cops but you would be forgiven for thinking they are. In fact, It makes you wonder what the Las Vegas cops actually do as virtually all the major crimes in the area are solved by CSI staff.
There are some attempts to flesh out the characters but, with each episode lasting forty minutes, this has to be a plot-driven show.
The best episodes of CSI have been where they move away from the usual formula.
Sometimes it gets graphic and gory but this is still top notch American TV entertainment and the DVDs are a great opportunity to catch up.
Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love CSI, this brings it all back into perspective, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always loved this series. I bought this because someone bought me season 5 for Christmas some time ago and figured I'd make a start collecting the others.

This is a great series and it shows you why this series has become as popular as it has since release because no other pilot series can grip you like this can.

The only slight thing that struck me with this DVD is the quality. Looking back this series aired in 2000, now I was eight at that time and I can't remember the quality of TV being like that. It goes to show how far HD and Blu-Ray has taken us that we can look back at something that was 12 years ago and see the massive difference. The quality is iffy, especially in the light, open scenes like when they are in the desert and things like that. Overall you get used to it but it is pretty obvious at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, no sale, 16 July 2012
By 
Robert Whitaker Sirignano "Robert WS--" (Directly above the center of the earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The series has no subtitles. My family enjoys this, but I cannot. Which is kind of ironic and weird because one of the chacters is losing their hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Grim and GREAT, 2 July 2004
By 
A.Clark (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
C.S.I is the best thing that ever happened to channel 5.With a great cast and stunning visuals,csi never ceases to amaze me. The episodes are complex,intelligent and gruesome. The twists and turns always unexpected and and the developements of the characters are intriging.Another thing I love about csi is that everyone has a guilty secret.From catherines colourful past to grissom losing his hearing,it all adds to the depth of the characters,and to the viewers enjoyment.Although some episodes are disturbingly gory,csi always seems to maintain a smoothness that entises you to keep watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons of CSI, 5 Aug. 2005
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I actually did not start getting into CSI until the 3rd or 2nd series and completely missed the 1st season, however, when I first purchased season 1 I was pleasantly surprised that it was one of the best seasons that I have seen to date! The pilot episode was very original and I love the fact that you see some of the characters (victims) throughout the season for example, there is a prostitute who appears in several episodes and then Nick gets involved with her and its nice to see his caring side, even though he is known to be some what of a ladies man! The other CSI's also put in good performances with Sara showing a more sensitive side, Catherine having problems with her ex husband and the struggles of being a single mum with a demanding job and how several of the cases usually involving children affect her relationship with her daughter (over protective), also Warrick struggles with his gambling problem and Grissom showing a more sensitive side in a few of the episodes even though his moto is not to get involved and stick purely to science but you also see Grissom protecting his staff and building a relationship with them. I actually have never seen any of these episodes before on TV and found that all the episode storylines were very interesting to watch and of all the seasons this one really gives you an in-depth insight into each of the characters. The most important thing about this season though is the fact that I have watched them all over and over again and I'm still not bored! I must admit that some of the scenes can be a bit gory but it wouldn't be the same without a little bit of gore to make it realistic! This DVD is great for anyone that loves CSI or forensics and would also make an exceptional gift...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top rate crime drama, 1 Mar. 2005
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
CSI is simply the best US police procedural drama (which, given how many there are, is saying quite a lot).
The stories are strong and there is a cast of interesting characters. The central character, Gil Grissom (brilliantly played by William Peterson) is the reason it works so well. Grissom is wonderful character - an introverted and rather unemotional man, a serious scientist who happens to be a criminologist. As such he is free for most of the traditional TV cop baggage, giving the whole series a fresh and interesting perspective. In this series, the CSI team gets on with investigating crime scenes and solving mysteries attempting, but not always succeeding, to do this without bias or preconceptions. They leave the police work to others. Unfortunately, this model was abandoned with CSI: Miami making it a much less interesting program.
The rest of the cast is also very, very good bringing complex and interesting characters to life. Marg Helgenberger as ex-exotic dancer Catherine Willows is particularly good.
Danny Boyle directs most of the episodes with great style (redeeming himself after the failure of Judge Dread), even his habit of focussing in at a microscopic level (e.g. looking at blood vessels etc) works well. Setting the series in Las Vegas works well - the city, the desert, the mountains - they all provide great backdrops and look fantastic.
This is not the best CSI series (the show really got going in series 2) but it makes sense to start at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSI:Crime Scene Investigation - Season 1, 27 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Fantstic - I was hooked after the first five minutes. Amazing storylines and superb characters. Perfect for wannabe pathologists and Sherlock Holmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2001]
Used & New from: £1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews