Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously funny, witty, Lily at her absolute best!
This video is absolutely hilarious. This is a real gem. She excells herself, and when you think that it cannot get any funnier, it does. Definitely worth buying!!!!!!
Published on 21 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing footage
loved this show when i had i on Video ordered it on Dvd and all the songs are missing still funny and a decent price
Published 6 months ago by Dino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing footage, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
loved this show when i had i on Video ordered it on Dvd and all the songs are missing still funny and a decent price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a full version, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this to find sections missing, not ideal quality. Given this I would have concerns about authenticity. I did not contact seller as it was very cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete version, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this to replace a VHS tape. Bizarrely it's an edited version with all the musical numbers missing. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars better on vhs, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
got this on vhs in the 90s the dvd is missing to two numbers which are on the video why is this? avoid this on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously funny, witty, Lily at her absolute best!, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This video is absolutely hilarious. This is a real gem. She excells herself, and when you think that it cannot get any funnier, it does. Definitely worth buying!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 29 Dec 2007
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
'Paying the Rent' is an early Lily Savage VHS release. Paul O' Grady is a very funny and talented man, but this performance doesn't capture his true talent. In fairness though, his 'Blonde Bombshell' act was originally performed in working men's clubs, and so Paul had yet to refine and work on a more suitable Lily for a TV audience, which he would later do so brilliantly.

The programme tells the story of Lily's childhood briefly, through Kitty, an old neighbour (also played by Paul) recalling his earliest memories of her and her family, and quickly moves onto Lily performing a stand up act in her council flat.

This was how Paul played Lily on the pub circuit, before he moved her into light entertainment with 'The Lily Savage Show' and 'Blankety Blank', and a series of far superior, high quality videos. The language used here is notably cruder, and not as clever as the brilliant performances you can find on the boxset: Lily Savage: 3 Great Shows [DVD]

To make matters worse, the DVD version has dramatically cut down three of the songs that appeared on the original video. It seems bizarre that the decision was made to do this, and rather disappointing. In short, you would actually be better off buying the VHS tape instead.

Whilst I did raise a few wry smiles, this is not Lily at her best. Buy the aforementioned boxset, where you'll find three very good, and vastly superior performances. Lily Savage was comedy gold, but it just doesn't show on this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars totally savaged, 11 Feb 2006
By 
S. A. Luff "stephenluff" (Worthing) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Well first off watching this you may say same as me "Thank you Paul for getting rid of Lily Savage". No loved the character on such shows like 'Blankety Blank' but this isn't Lily at her best. I have many comedy stand up DVDs and this one would go at the bottom as laughs would go.
It is a shame as Paul O'Grady is a very talented guy. I'll tell the truth yes of course some bits were funny but mainly looked at my watch wondering how much of this was left. What may of helped but was clearly cut from the DVD was his singing part. It gives you a big build up and a few snip-its of the song going wrong but no song. If you love Lily sorry but get one of the others not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lily Savage - Live - Paying The Rent [1993] [DVD]
8.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews