Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in 1974, just before BoTT...
Eclipsed by the seminal follow-up release `Blood on the Tracks' and late-career Grammy winner `Time out of Mind', Dylan's 1974-released `Planet Waves' is nevertheless a very good album with some sublime moments. PW marked the beginning of a new creative period in the mid-1970s, and is one of Dylan's more notable though less appreciated creations in a long and variable...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by The Guardian

versus
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another album in his domestic period, not his best collaboration with The Band
PLANET WAVES is an important album in Dylan's career, thought not necessarily an essential purchase for any one but the fans of the man. While his best albums are undeniably important records in the pantheon of the rock canon, PLANET WAVES is not among that elite. But first, let's review examine Dylan's history around this time.

Dylan had been fairly quiet...
Published on 2 Oct 2007 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in 1974, just before BoTT..., 27 Jun 2012
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
Eclipsed by the seminal follow-up release `Blood on the Tracks' and late-career Grammy winner `Time out of Mind', Dylan's 1974-released `Planet Waves' is nevertheless a very good album with some sublime moments. PW marked the beginning of a new creative period in the mid-1970s, and is one of Dylan's more notable though less appreciated creations in a long and variable career with too many high points to list.

This is the first (and only?) studio album Dylan recorded with The Band, his on-stage backing-group led by guitarist Robbie Robertson. The music has a lot of energy, plenty of light and shade and some sublime lyrical moments. The confident and heartfelt voice of an artist in his creative prime is evident here. Highlights are `Something there is about You', `You Angel You' and two very different versions of `Forever Young' - especially the first, slower and more personal variant (Dylan admitted during the recording sessions "I been carrying this song around in my head for five years and I never wrote it down, and now I come to record it I just can't decide how to do it" so he did several different versions, two of which ended up on the album).

The closer `Wedding Song' is a Dylan-poetic classic with warm, poignant and heartfelt lyrics shot through with a hint of humour, reminiscent in lyrical content to `Sara' on the 1976 `Desire' album and in simple-acoustic musical form to `Shelter from the Storm' from BoTT.

All in all, PW is an interesting and just-short-of-great album from one of Dylan's two or three most creative periods, the immediate precursor to BoTT and in a similar musical, lyrical and thematic groove. If you like BoTT and you have never heard PW, give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound Waves, 2 Mar 2012
By 
street-legal (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
This album has more or less been written out of critical history '1984' style, because the one that followed cast such a long shadow over it. When Blood On The Tracks came out, it more or less cancelled out anything Dylan had released in the previous five years. Planet Waves, its immediate predecessor, was not so much left in the shade as kicked into a dark corner.
It is time for it to come crawling back out again, for not only is it the one single time Dylan recorded a studio album with The Band, it is also clear that he had at last found the 70's voice which would lead him to his next renaissance. The soft edges of his country croon have all but disappeared, replaced by his trademark acidic punch.
There are a handful of songs that have Dylan soul-searching, asking questions of himself, reaching into the past. Among these are Going Going Gone, Something There Is About You (which mentions 'the phantoms of my youth' and 'the old hills of Duluth'), Dirge (with its amazing 'I hate myself for loving you' opening line) and to some extent Forever Young. They are undoubtedly the most compelling selections. About half of the songs are slightly more basic paeans to lurve (On A Night Like This, Tough Mama, Hazel, You Angel You, Never Say Goodbye) but the whole is carried along with an infectiously buoyant, almost bouncy, musical style, which is where The Band deserves considerable credit.
Most Dylan albums either start or close with a particularly strong statement. Sometimes both, if we're lucky. In this tradition, on Planet Waves it is perhaps the final song whose chord strikes deepest: The Wedding Song. It is the only all-acoustic track, and it is a very dark love song to his wife. It is so rough and raw, it almost sounds like a rehearsal...his cuff button repeatedly catches the guitar...but some of its power comes with retrospect ('now that the past is gone'), for within the year they would be separated. It portrays 'woman' as almost a Christ-like saviour, a theme he would continue with on Blood On The Tracks and eventually chew up and spit out on Street Legal.
As on New Morning, Dylan occasionally seems to strain for something he wants to write about, but Planet Waves has a strident power about it, a musical confidence; it emboldened Bob to tour for the first time in 8 years, again with The Band. Definitely worthy of multiple hearings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best albums, 13 Dec 2006
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
Many of Bob's albums are best valued in retrospect. Planet Waves is an amazing album. The Band plays well. One should not always compare with other performances, better then to focus on the music itself. I will ask you to take special notice of the song "Never Say Goodbye" on this album. It takes a few times of listening to get it under your skin - and then: It just grabs you. Everything is right in this, albeit short, wonderful song. Bob starts singing as if he is about to fall asleep, or is hypnotised - dark, soft, and then he sings up, delievering some beautiful lines (you're beautiful beyond words. you're beautiful to me - you could make me cry, never say goodbye) I recognize magic when I see and hear it - and this song floods over.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated Masterpiece, 13 April 2005
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
Many people would say that the best albumn you get with Bob Dylan and the Band together is the "Basement Tapes" but I disagree. This albumn has real feeling and a gutsey groove to it and really grows on you with time as the greatness of this albumn gradually unfurls itself before your ears.
The only poor track is the opener: "On a night like this". It really doesn't seem to fit in with the rest, but after that it just gets better and better. "Hazel", "Something there is about you", "You angel you" and "Never say goodbye" are all beautiful love songs. The two versions of "Forever Young" are vastly different approaches and are great in different ways.
"The Wedding Song" is a passionate profession of his love (for Sara perhaps?) but is touched by bitter sweet overtones as he moves to and throw between major and minor chords. "Dirge", accompanying himself on the piano, is a bitter, regretful reflection on his love (again perhaps for Sara?) that appears to be over.
Don't lightly disregard this albumn; it has real depth of character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfairly overlooked Dylan/Band album., 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
I picked this up in a bargain bin in Canada 2 years ago and not being too familiar with Dylan's 70's stuff, was expecting some crap. Not so. This album is good from start to end and was a breath of fresh air to me, being more familiar with the intense 60's Bob. The music sounds spontaneous - indeed the album was recorded in just 3 days. There is pretty funky stuff like 'Tough Mama' as well as some of Dylan's best acoustic work, like 'Wedding Song'. The highlight is 'Forever Young' of which there are two versions - the one familiar to anyone who's seen 'The Last waltz' and the C&W version.
A good album, but not quite as good as his monumental ones. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Goodbye, 10 July 2009
By 
Tom Kay (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
I've been a massive Dylan fan for many years now and have had obsessions with various albums along the way; namely Blood on the Tracks (my first love), Blonde on Blonde and Highway 61.

I first heard planet waves a few months ago when a friend played me "Never Say Goodbye". The song absolutely blew me away and i bought the album the next day.

As a Dylan album it pretty strange, and some songs are defintiely weaker than others. It does, however, have themes that run through the album and thus a overall direction. It chronicles love, obsession and grief as well as any other dylan album, and the love songs on Planet Waves are definitely some of the best of his career (which is certainly saying something).

Stand out tracks are "Going Going Gone", with screaming guitar by Robbie, "Hazel", "Forever Young" (the first version - the second version if the only song i'd ever dream of skipping), "Something there is about you" and what is in my opinion the most underrated song of his career "Never Say Goodbye".

I can never understand why that song isn't talked about more often, because to me it is simply the most honest, powerful and achingly beautiful love song in the world, and since i was first introduced to it several months ago, i have listened to it at least once every single day.

Now that something...

Buy it. Hear it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FORGOTTEN GEM, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
Dylan has delivered so many first rate albums that it is easy to overlook offerings such as Plant Waves, which has always been for me a good but not outstanding album. This was his last studio recording with 'The Band' and his best since John Wesley Harding, and it immediately proceeded his classic Blood On The Tracks and Desire. Of the eleven tracks or ten songs on offer (Forever Young has 2 versions here), probably the weakest is Dirge which is reminiscent of New Morning. Going Going Gone / Hazel / Something There is About You / Wedding Song are all superb songs, but for me the outstanding track has to be 'Never Say Goodbye' with its key changes. This could be regarded as being the first of four studio albums dealing with his marriage break down, but like Desire it would appear to be an attempt at reconciliation. A great but overlooked classic Dylan album, from what has always been for me his classic era and the beginning of what was to be a string of 5 superb studio albums ending with the brilliant Slow Train Coming, plus two classic live releases which were Before The Flood and Hard Rain and one dodgy 'official' bootleg The Basement Tapes. Great song writing as always from the master at the beginning of his second coming, and The Band are on top form also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Waves: Bob Dylan and the Band - Dylan rejoins the Band and regains that spark of inspiration, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
This 1974 album is the fourteenth studio release from icon Bob Dylan, and marked a welcome return to form after a run of lacklustre albums through the first half of the seventies.

Always at his best when he had something to prove or something to react against, years of success and matrimonial harmony and happiness had led to some uninspired music from Dylan. But for this release he teamed up with his old backing group, the Band, and had to raise his game to match their talent. And, as the many of lyrics show, married life was starting to lose its appeal for him and he had some juicy personal torment to sublimate into song. Though having said that, the finest song on here, `Forever Young', is a touching ode to his children and the happiness they brought him.

Dylan delivers his most impassioned singing for many a long year, with a host of songs that have a bitter edge and a cynical look at life. The Band are on form, providing a superb musical backing that matches Dylan's vocals perfectly. The feel is a sort of country rock, with strong rhythms and backing that compliments Dylan's passionate vocal and results in a record that is accessible and great to listen to on a warm summer night. After the slew of mediocre albums from Dylan from Self Portrait onwards, it was a very welcome return to form for the troubled troubadour, and marked the start of a strong run of albums that would last for most of the remainder of the seventies. 5 stars and an essential purchase for Dylan or Band lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good mid-70's album with The Band., 26 Nov 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
Ok, this is no Live 1966 or Basement Tapes- but this is a rather good Dylan album in the period from the derided (but sometimes intrigueing) Self Portrait and classics like Blood on the Tracks & Slow Train Coming. Dylan is back with The Band (who had also declined in quality from the first classic releases)- this is one of those Dylan albums like New Morning & Desire- there are a few duds (opening track On a Night Like This ,the 2nd version of Forever Young)- but there is more good than bad. Dylan isn't overtly experimenting with his voice, though it is moving to the hurt passion of songs like If You See Her, Say Hello on tracks like Going Going Gone (which has some great guitar work/odd noises/organ on). The comparison to Bonnie Prince Billy's I see a Darkness in Uncut a few years back is more than warranted.
Tough Mama is not unlike the classic Band material, or material from Highway 61- while Hazel and Forever Young were famously performed on The Last Waltz- so there are four tracks I'd put on that classic Dylan compilation for certain. It's pretty much all listenable- and songs like Dirge and Wedding Song are minimal classics that should find receptive listeners with those who like alt-country (or whatever it's called this week).
Planet Waves is one of those Dylan albums that appears to be overlooked, if you've got the obvious albums and the first two Band albums, then this one's for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Waves: Bob Dylan and the Band - Dylan rejoins the Band and regains that spark of inspiration, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planet Waves (Audio CD)
This 1974 album is the fourteenth studio release from icon Bob Dylan, and marked a welcome return to form after a run of lacklustre albums through the first half of the seventies.

Always at his best when he had something to prove or something to react against, years of success and matrimonial harmony and happiness had led to some uninspired music from Dylan. But for this release he teamed up with his old backing group, the Band, and had to raise his game to match their talent. And, as the many of lyrics show, married life was starting to lose its appeal for him and he had some juicy personal torment to sublimate into song. Though having said that, the finest song on here, `Forever Young', is a touching ode to his children and the happiness they brought him.

Dylan delivers his most impassioned singing for many a long year, with a host of songs that have a bitter edge and a cynical look at life. The Band are on form, providing a superb musical backing that matches Dylan's vocals perfectly. The feel is a sort of country rock, with strong rhythms and backing that compliments Dylan's passionate vocal and results in a record that is accessible and great to listen to on a warm summer night. After the slew of mediocre albums from Dylan from Self Portrait onwards, it was a very welcome return to form for the troubled troubadour, and marked the start of a strong run of albums that would last for most of the remainder of the seventies. 5 stars and an essential purchase for Dylan or Band lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Waves
Planet Waves by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews