Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic
You want an early Dylan album but you are not sure which one to buy. Buy this one. Listen carefully to it a few times. Let it get into you as only the best music can, it takes a while sometimes but the effort is worth it. This album can be like that. Most of the songs on here need listening to until something clicks then you are hooked for all time. Dylan will never leave...
Published on 24 July 2005 by Mr. K. Watton

versus
7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, tragedy about the quality control
With it's orginal release, Highway 61 Re-Visited changed the world. There had never been anything like it - and the mono version was the best. The stereo mixes were never as integrated as the orignial mono, and the stereo 'It Takes a Lot to Laugh' was wrecked - with its over-loud disembodied piano stuck out on the left channel. Desolation Row suffered from...
Published on 6 Nov 2005


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 24 July 2005
By 
Mr. K. Watton "kaydoubleyou" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
You want an early Dylan album but you are not sure which one to buy. Buy this one. Listen carefully to it a few times. Let it get into you as only the best music can, it takes a while sometimes but the effort is worth it. This album can be like that. Most of the songs on here need listening to until something clicks then you are hooked for all time. Dylan will never leave you. After all 'when you ain't got nothing you got nothing to lose'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 20th century masterpiece, 22 May 2004
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
"Highway 61 Revisited" should be on every "Top Ten non-classical recordings of the 20th century" lists, for many reasons: Its courage and innovation, and the influence it had on the music of its time, and for the impact it continues to have; the strength of its strange but potently poetic lyrics, and the quality of its musicianship; and most of all, because it is fabulous listening.
Dylan turned the musical world on its head when he went "electric", and the musicians he assembled to back him are legendary; Michael Bloomfield, guitar / Al Kooper, organ & piano / Paul Griffin, piano and organ / Bobby Gregg, drums / Harvey Goldstein, bass / Charley McCoy, guitar / Frank Owens, piano / Russ Savakus, bass. The music they make sounds as fresh today as when I first heard it four decades ago; everyone will have their favorites, mine are "Ballad of a Thin Man" and "Tombstone Blues", but all nine tracks are brilliant and powerful.
Fortunately CBS/Sony has released this CD in the same format as the original LP, with Dylan's incomprehensible but terrific liner notes ("On the slow train time does not interfere..."), and with no extra tracks to ruin the feel of the music. It is a recording that is like clear water when compared to the stagnant musical times we live in, and no CD collection is truly complete without it. The sound is excellent and total playing time is 51'37.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SACD merely emphasises this masterpiece, 17 Oct 2004
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The importance of this original release in "breaking" Dylan away from his folk links and selling him into the rock mainstrean is well documented and for me still remains his best solo effort ever in terms of range and songs - the acoustic number "Desolation Row" sounds like nothing the man would have attempted on any prior acoustic outings. The songs and performances were to demonstrate a "full group" tightness and overall production level that has been only hit occassionally by the man since (notably the follow up "Blonde on Blonde" and later "Blood on the tracks") with such overall consistency being demonstrated.
The improved audio CD version in fact has already been available in a costly DCC gold plated CD which underlined the great sound that had been created in the NY studio - the SACD version now makes that quality available more cheaply and with the edge in overall sound separation.
A priceless masterpiece beautifully improved in sound and packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dylan album of all time!, 31 Dec 2003
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
Yes, you read me right, better than Blonde on Blonde, even better than Blood on the Tracks. OK, so maybe I'm getting carried away, and certainly there isn't that much to separate "Highway 61 Revisited" from Dylan's other outstanding albums, and it may not have had the revolutionary timing of "Blonde on Blonde", but the completeness and magic of the epic songs that appear here merits such a title.
"Like a Rolling Stone" is probably the best album starter in music history, and there or there abouts as Dylan's finest works, with a very catchy melody and a moving theme of riches to rags. It also showcases what "Highway 61" is all about, Dylan finally finding a harmonious blend of the electronic and the acoustic, with the electric organ blairing out unmistakeably. "Tombstone Blues", while perhaps not the most catchy or melodic song around, provides Dylan at his cheekiest, with lines like "the sun ain't yellow - it's just chicken". "From a Buick 6" provides a jazzy number with Dylan at his most soulful.
"Balad of a Thin Man" provides an incredible change of style as the pivot of the album, haunting with its piano chords and introducing a very different sound to the accustomed folky Bob Dylan. "Queen Jane Approximately" further provides a gorgeous melody and some wonderful instrumental work which really isn't seen on Dylan albums pre-"Highway 61".
However, perhaps the crowning glory of the album comes at the end of the album with the two epics "Just Like Tom Thumb Blues" - a lament of a man about his time away from New York ("there's a lot of hungry women there, and they'll really make a mess out of you") and the sumptuous "Desolation Row" with the beautiful imagery of two lovers looking out at the chaos of the world from the safety of their own personal love.
"Highway 61",then, seems to represent the first step of Dylan to becoming the legend he is today, but furthermore it is the Dylan album that blends his witisicsm with his sincerity in such a wonderful mixture of pure music that never lets up or shows one sign of weakness from start to finish. Contender for best album of all time? Most definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one word can justify this piece of work, 16 Jan 2002
By 
S. Reid "S.Reid" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
MAGNIFICENT!!! The best album of all time???
I have all of Bob Dylan's albums but this one, in my opinion is the best. Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks and many more run it close, but it is Highway 61 that I keep coming back too. From the opening bars of Like A Rolling Stone, you are hooked and there is no going back. Just listen to the lyrics of the album from the start, ending with Desolation Row, which is Dylan's crown jewel on the album. No other songwriter on the planet could write Desolation Row! You have to hear it to believe it. In between there is Tombstone Blues, Ballad Of A Thin Man, Queen Jane, Highway 61, and Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues. All are simply superb.
This album changed rock music forever.... This is essential and fully deserves 5 stars. BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important works of the 20th century, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
Dont listen to the guy who gave this 1 star. It is obvious that he doesnt realise that poetry doesnt need a political gain...

This album is as rough and ready as it comes. It sounds like it was a whirlwind session, as if everone ran into the studio to record it all in one go, one take each song, before everyone legged it out of the studio once again to follow Dylan on the next leg of his creative evolution. The song that sounds the worst on this album is Like a Rolling Stone; a fantastic song, powerful and spiteful in all its other forms, but the sound of the original is, dare I say it, horrendous. Listen to that 'chuga-a-lug-lug' guitar in the middle of the mix (possibly Dylan) especially when he loses the timing.

I always thought Tombstone Blues would've made a better start. This is a stonking song; violent, fast, like a steam train driving through your stereo. Dylan's voice on this is wonderful, so full of character, especially when he slyly and dirtily sneers "stop all this weeping, swallow your pride. You will not die, it's not poison" (my interpretation of this line doesn't bare thinking about!). The length of this song is impressive too. How they kept up that beat for the entire length of the song is a mystery.

It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry and From A Buick 6 are sublimely sluggish songs, kind of like (I can only imagine) rolling slowly down a muddy hill, but they still dont lose that loose urgency that appears with the other songs. Ballad of a Thin Man is possibly the dirtiest, most metaphorical song I've ever heard and is delivered with that same disgust and foreboding that poor old Mr Jones must feel for himself.

Highway 61 Revisited returns to the same powerhouse stomp-a-long as Tombstone Blues and is similar too in its humorous, character driven lyrics, a quality of his songs I have always loved. Just Like Tom Thumb Blues is a good song, but every time I hear this version, I have to go put on the vastly superior version from the Bootleg Series vol 4.

Now...what words can I use to describe Desolation Row? Nothing that will do it justice, that's for sure. One of my favourite songs of all time and certainly one of the most beautiful I've ever heard. Again, a wonderful character driven song, featuring Romeo, Cinderella, Casanova, Betty Davis, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Einstein, The Phantom of the Opera, T.S Eliot and others. The imagery that this song envokes and the gorgeous poetry it is formed around is made all the better in its heartfelt delivery. This is a song that I can listen to again and again; indeed, I never really want it to end. During the last harmonica solo, I am always anticipating that hidden verse I've always missed, that perhaps this time his voice will kick in again and the song continues in an everlasting roam. Of course, this never happens, the song comes to a close and all I can do is play it again from the start.

Please, buy this album, because if you have any kind of creative bone in your body then this will serve as the greatest of inspirations. Some of the most beautiful use of the English language ever is contained in this album, of which Dylan is one of the true great masters. His voice may not be to everyone's taste, but the poetry he writes and the way he delivers it makes his songs truly beautiful. When Dylan writes and sings a song, you know he's not messing about...he TRULY means it.

What kind of genius writes like that? The best kind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan at his most energetic and creative., 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
What can i say about this album? I've listened to it endlessly since i bought it two years ago (i've worn the cd out!) It is quite simply one of the greatest albums released by THE greatest artist of our time! This album is breathtaking a true work of art and like all great albums the more you listen to it the more you get out of it. Every song on the album is worth it's own review, each song on this album has at one time been my favourite, for me the songs that immediatley stood out when i first heard the album were "Like a Rolling Stone" (of course!) with it's irresistable organ and angry lyrics. "Ballad of a thin man" with it's doomy blues piano riff and a strangley compelling chorus, "Highway 61 revisited" has some incredable guitar work courtesy of Mike Bloomfield. A very important thing to mention about the album is the musicianship, First class and inspired each musician peforming at their peak, driven by Dylan who is also at the very peak of creativity.
This is a truly great album its impossible to describe how great it is with words you just have to listen to it and 'feel it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
This is Dylan's best album - when he was at the peak of his career. Bracketed by 2 of his greatest songs, 'Like a Rolling Stone' and 'Desolation Row', all nine tracks are superb, culminating in an album of pure genius. Everything that needs to be said about 'LARS' has already benn said - it's truly classic. 'Desolation Row' is often not well known about by those who aren't big Dylan fans, probably because of its length (it isn't on the greatest hits compilations or best of albums), but in my opinion is his best song, which is saying something! It is a brilliant song, with lyrics that are the closest to poetry that I have heard. 'ballad of a Thin Man' is another classic, with the infamous Mr Jones, and 'Tombstone Blues' is in the same league as 'Subterrainean Homesick Blues' and 'Maggie's Farm'. Allthe tracks are just superb - this album is an absolute must. I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe it, and my words fail miserably to do it justice. A word of warning though, the purchase of this album may lead to an unstoppable hunger for Dylan and his work, and cause a considerable burden on your bank balance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heap of broken images, 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
this is not really a review - its hard to be objective about an album like this - you start the player and you are literally swept away - the album begins with "Like a Rolling Stone" - for God's sake. Dylan sneers his way through it - and it sets the tone for the rest of the album - you dont really understand how sneers and snarls and growls and rants can make for great music - maybe they make for great emotion - but just look at the songs - Ballad of a thin man, Queen Jane approximately, the title track, Tom Thumbs blues - as good as Desolation Row - and Desolation Row itself - the title sounds cheesy - but listen to the song - and you listen to a fascinating meld of poetry, music cynicism and self disgust that is actually beautiful...
this is a good album - the sun is a yellow ball in the sky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please let us Revisit Highway 61, 21 Aug 2003
This review is from: Highway 61 Revisited (Audio CD)
This was the third album by Bob Dylan that I listened to and it has become one of my favourite albums ever. Thereis nothing better then putting this cd into your CD player and pressing the play button and listening to the wonderful drum that opens up Bob's amazing 'Like A Rolling Stone.'
'Like A Rolling Stone' remains one of my favourite Bob Dylan songs because its ability to leave the listener in wonder and wanting more. Well thanks to Bob, the listener gets a lot more: 'Tombstone Blues' is one of Dylan's most satisfying numbers and it really lives up to the previous track on the album.
The rest of the album is basically satifying. You have got the upbeat 'From A Buick 6'. If that is not enough for you, ' then Bob Dylan has thrown in major surprises: 'Ballad Of A Thin Man' talks about a man named Mr Jones that has you either in chuckles or wonderment at his brilliant use of lyrics and his own voice.
The title track, 'Highway 61 Revisited' is a brilliant short number (short for Dylan). You just want to repeat this song with its police sirens and amazing.
My favourite track and probably one of Dylan's most unusual is the last track, the eleven minute wonderment, 'Desolation Row'. I think this is the greatest thing that Dylan has ever done and I am so glad he managhed to put this on the end of a truly terrific album that you have got to have whether you are a Dylan fan or just a fan of music of any kind. A true music collector and poet cannot be without this album that has done wonderment for the society of the 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highway 61 Revisited
Highway 61 Revisited by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews