Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ENCAPSULATION OF ALL EMOTIONS
Listen to this loud and alone,without distractions,and have the lyric sheet near at hand.This will make you think,listen again and think some more.In possibly his greatest work Dylan expresses one or more emotions to which we can all relate somewhere or at sometime.If you want the antithesis of manufactured image driven substanceless pop you have found it...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by Mr. J. P. Lockett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Ok cd
Published 1 month ago by S. B. Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ENCAPSULATION OF ALL EMOTIONS, 12 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
Listen to this loud and alone,without distractions,and have the lyric sheet near at hand.This will make you think,listen again and think some more.In possibly his greatest work Dylan expresses one or more emotions to which we can all relate somewhere or at sometime.If you want the antithesis of manufactured image driven substanceless pop you have found it.

Although there was some very good intervening material,Dylan would not produce anything of this quality again until 1997 when Grammy winner Time Out of Mind enriched our lives and on which his masterpiece Not Dark Yet appears.

One of these two is his best and which may depend on your mood when you listen.

Blood On The Tracks best track? That is a very difficult question and in many ways it only exists as a whole work but,if pressed, Shelter From The Storm. Pure Genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless Classic, 19 May 2004
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan's 'Blood on the Tracks' is one of the most talked about albums of all time and having recently discovered it's contents I can now understand why.
To me Bob Dylan was the whining voice that played incessantly in my frequent visits to hippy run record shops in my punk days of youth. An endless drone that seemed directionless and empty.
Now, at the grand old age of 37, I decided it was about time that I investigated the work of the great man and what a work this is.
Essentially folk / blues in it's make up, this is a collection of songs of intense quality and breathtaking emotion. Dylan is on spectacular form and delivers each track with the depth of feeling that suggests he was personally involved with the story line of each one.
This is one of the finest albums I have ever heard and has been played to death since I bought it. I defy anyone not to connect with one or two of the songs and would describe it as educational and essential for any music lovers collection.
Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has Dylan sounded better?, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
There are 22 reviews of this album on amazon.co.uk, and you might well ask what on earth I can write that hasn`t already been said. My initial response would be "You`ve got some attitude, Mr!", but the short answer is I can add nothing; but that doesn`t mean I don`t feel I should write something to express how breathtaking it is.

I`m too young to have a context in terms of society or where Dylan was in his life in `74, so I`ll just keep it simple. I normally listen to hard rock, and some friends don`t like the sound of Dylan`s voice on his earlier work; this definitely is more accessible. Only in terms of sound though - not content. "Idiot Wind" is mind-blowing, containing some chilling imagery, and terrific delivery, and followed by as contrasting a piece as possible, "You`re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go"...your head is still reeling and it`s like putting a Gainsborough next to a Goya - both masterpieces but the juxtaposition is the killer. I hope that makes sense! This album meets whatever need you may have as a listener. "Shelter From The Storm" is another wonderful song, preceded by "If You See Her, Say Hello", where Dylan`s voice sounds as though it`s genuinely drowning in emotion, especially when compared with the bile of "Idiot Wind"...it`s just one stunning moment after another, one great line after another, one great song after another...I`ve tried to avoid simple song for song explications, as it`s an album that needs to be listened to in it`s entirety to be appreciated as it should be. If you`ve got any doubts about this purchase, dispel them and buy it, as your jaw will hit the floor, more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His last truly GREAT album...., 27 July 2006
By 
Francesco Bonfanti (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
This album is monumental. No longer is Dylan the whiny, cocky kid from Highway 61 Revisited, Blonde on Blonde and Bringing it all Back home. Here, he shows that he is all too human. The idiots who treated Dylan as their "messiah" find that he is the same as us all, that he does suffer trials and tribulations. It opens with the magnificent Tangled Up in Blue which is quite simply an epic piece of storytelling. Simple twist of fate

is possibly the saddest song about love ever written. Lonesome when you go is great (sounds like something Elvis would have sung) and meet me in the morning is catchy. Then there is Idiot Wind. Without a doubt the nastiest song Ive ever heard as Dylan spits his venom at all those who have double crossed him. You can actually hear his anger and resentment burst from the song and it is a truly masterful piece of dark dark poetry. All in all, the only following albums that come anywhere near close are Desire and Oh Mercy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Breakup Album Now Sounds Even Better..., 24 May 2004
Described simply but accuratley by many as 'the ultimate break-up album', Dylan manages to convert raw emotion into 10 tracks of musical genius. Despite releasing a number of strong albums in the late 60s and early 70's, critics remained skeptical as to whether Dylan would ever reach the heights of talent that he had exhibited in the 60's with legendary albums like Blonde on Blonde and Highway 61 Revisted. Dylan's credibility as a legendary songwriter was instantly restored with this 1975 release, documenting the unraveling of his marriage. One of the clear stand-out tracks is 'Idiot Wind', a seven minute long outpouring of bitterness and hatred, exquisitely crafted by Dylan's unique style. Whilst 'Idiot Wind' is a highlight, every track shines, and this album is both essential for even the most casual of Dylan fans, as well as the perfect starting point for the uninitiated.
The 2003 remastering of the album has only served to accentuate the 'bare-bones' atmosphere of the album, making you feel as if you're right there in the studio listening to Dylan pour his heart out.
Also Recommended:
Bob Dylan: Planet Waves (1974)
The precursor to Blood On The Tracks, a much more positive albums, but still emotionally driven and lyrically complex.
Bob Dylan: The Bootleg Series Volumes 1-3 (1991)
An all encompassing 3CD release, with endless highlights, but worth buying if only for the alternative versions of several of the standout tracks from Blood On The Tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangled up in a 5-star 30 year old classic, 30 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
Some personal stuff first: hearing Tangled Up In Blue under the bedclothes on late night radio, when I should have been revising for O' Levels, first turned me on to this album - and to the power of poetry and the blues. Until punk came along and shifted my musical axis, this album was rarely off my turntable...ultimately the turntable broke and got replaced by a CD player, so that it has been twenty years since I listened to this album. I finally got around to buying it on CD 6 months ago - and it sounds as great and moving as it first did to the callow teenager under the bedclothes.
There's never been a doubt about Dylan's lyrical ability, but the poetry, combined with narrative flow, of Tangled Up in Blue, Simple Twist of Fate and Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts turn them into real "tours de force". The emotional connection that You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go, If You See Her, Say Hello and Shelter From the Storm make - and the sweet bitterness of Idiot Wind and Buckets of Rain - really hit the spot. Oh - and the melodies are strong too. These are Dylan tunes you can hum along too, if you're so inclined.
Surely every music lover has this album already?
Dylan may not be my favourite artiste of all time - but if I could take just one album with me when I die, it would be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan's most consistent best, 16 Aug 2006
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
Dylan may have written better songs but many of his albums are patchy enough in terms of songwriting or performing and Blood on the Tracks is top quality throughout, his best since Highway 61, ten years before. Indeed, although amazingly poorly represented on Best Of Dylan type compilations, the album's first 5 tracks are pretty indispensible in the the Dylan canon - Tangled Up in Blue, Simple Twist Of Fate, You're A Big Girl Now, Idiot Wind and You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go. From a technical point of view, his voice strains, his guitar is slightly out of tune, the harmonica playing is at times amateurish and the lyrics scan unnaturally but, whaddyaknow, it sounds brilliant. Only Dylan can get away with this! Other standouts are If You See Her Say Hello and Shelter from the Storm but really the album is a wonderfully homogenous whole, variations on the theme of tangled and broken down relationships coming, I believe, at a time when he was having marital problems. Of the other tracks Meet Me in the Morning is simple blues format, Buckets of Rain unassuming and Lily, Rosemary etc is a catchy uptempo story-song that goes on a bit long. In a Desert Island Disc situation this is the Dylan album you'd want to bring along. Powerful stuff and still fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singing, 5 Jun 2008
By 
Paul Callick (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
Just a note for anyone who, like me, wants to buy a CD version of this, after the old vinyl copy's become battered. Has Dylan's singing ever sounded so fresh, so full of intent and invention? It's a bizarre idea, as one reviewer here suggests, to listen to this while reading the lyric sheet; for every sentence, each word, is crystal-clear, the voice full of tautness and intelligence. On this CD (remastered?) version, the voice sits slightly apart from the instruments, not muffled behind them. A stunning performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime intrusion on another man's pain, 21 Sep 2009
By 
J. A. Harvey (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood On The Tracks (Audio CD)
More than any other artist, every word and note Dylan ever put to music has been scrutinised, dissected, evaluated and either applauded or put to the sword. Therefore it should have come as no surprise that when the vultures gathered to pick the bones of this album clean they would eagerly report what was patently obvious, that this was the work of someone wrestling inner demons. It's hard to imagine the great man suffering the usual slings and arrows; he was the oracle, the fountain of eternal wisdom, surely not given to the same mortal agonies as the rest of us. He has on ocassion denied the album was autobiographical; if he'd said it was about his own marriage problems it would have left him open to prying questions, and I don't really think he owed anybody any more than he gave on this untouchable masterpiece which is far more deserving of its status as a classic than any other classic I can think of.

Songs like 'You're A Big Girl Now' and 'If You See Her Say Hello' are so full of the despair that comes with heartache that I feel privilaged to listen. But it isn't all doom and despondency; there are moments of the sort of intelligent humour that has been one of the hallmarks of Bob's work. Take the words of 'Idiot Wind' for instance. "They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy, she inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me, I can't help it if I'm lucky". Perhaps he kept those words back from the album of that cowboy film he made a couple of years earlier.

Unlike every other Dylan album I've heard (27 at last count) I don't really have any favourites on this one because every track is a great song, oh alright, maybe 'Tangled Up In Blue' (for which my volume control knob never gets any higher) and 'Idiot Wind' if you're pushing me. I would regard this as my equal favourite Dylan album along with the follow up 'Desire', which was also made during the breakdown of his relationship with wife Sara. But I suppose if you're lucky enough to be a songwriting genius at least your pain can be put to good use making other people happy, and this album has given me more joy over the years than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest record I own, 26 April 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood on the Tracks (Audio CD)
That's right.
I have a lot of CDs, enough for me to have lost count a long time ago, but this one I keep coming back to.
A quiet, understated album, the music on "Blood On The Tracks" is dominated by strummed acoustic guitars, perhaps a piano, and once in a while a drummer playing a gentle rock shuffle.
The melodies, and the lyrics, too, are among the best things that Bob Dylan have ever written. Lovely and melancholy all at once, and the superb production make even Dylan's sometimes harsh harp breaks mellow and even melodious.
And there is not a weak track on the entire album. It opens with the wonderful "Tangled Up In Blue", Dylan singing softly and pleasently, accompanied by a shuffling backbeat and gently ringing guitars, one picked, one strummed.
If you've only heard "Shelter From The Storm" played live, you'll be surprised how pleasant and melodious it sounds here, as does the closing number, the bluesy "Buckets Of Rain", which opens with a groovy bass riff and a clanging guitar figure.
All the tunes on this magnificent album, every single one of them, are musical and lyrical masterpieces. If you ever heard a Bob Dylan-song and thought "that's not too bad", you can't go wrong with this album. Hell, if you ever heard an acoustic folk-rock song and liked it, then this is for you. I have never heard a finer collection of songs than "Blood On The Tracks".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood On The Tracks
Blood On The Tracks by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews