Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What UT2003 should have been
Having played the original Unreal Tournament almost solidly for three years, all offline against the game's wonderfully adept and flexible AI opponents, the 2003 version disappointed me. The look of the game was stunning, but the gameplay felt heavy, the weapons unbalanced, and the single player game was highly stylised, but exceptionally un-fulfilling and tortuous to...
Published on 8 July 2004 by Mark Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars don't be fooled..
We all know by now how great this game is.. but I just wanted to warn, until amazon decides to correct their mistake, that users who ordered this so-called DVD 2 disc version, got the vanilla-DVD, with only 1 disc inside the box. It's still a good price for a very nice product, but DON'T BUY this if you're expecting a second DVD with all the extra content.
Published on 21 Mar 2004 by Tiago Santos


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What UT2003 should have been, 8 July 2004
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having played the original Unreal Tournament almost solidly for three years, all offline against the game's wonderfully adept and flexible AI opponents, the 2003 version disappointed me. The look of the game was stunning, but the gameplay felt heavy, the weapons unbalanced, and the single player game was highly stylised, but exceptionally un-fulfilling and tortuous to play, with clunking, mindless team-mates and sharp-shooting but slow-moving opponents. Epic seem to have received the criticism well though, and despite UT2004 seeming to be a remake of last year's offering, the actual gameplay has been refined so well that it feels like a different game. The 'bug' of so-called "boost-dodging" (which gives unrivalled height and distance to jumps) has been removed - this move that took advantage of a loop-hole in the game physics gave an unfair bonus to those who knew about it, and left all the other players wondering how they'd cleared that huge pit when they themselves kept falling in each time. As such, the combat feels more grounded and human, as well as more even.
There is no doubting the pace of this game is phenomenal; bewildering, in fact, to the beginner. But the multitude of game modes, map styles and scenery is unparalleled. It comes at a price - the amount of hard drive space required is huge, and the hardware required to turn over the graphics at a decent speed will make you and your wallet wince, but the visual experience you get out of it really does make the jaw drop. Gameplay has been fine-tuned to be more even, and makes shoot outs last a little longer now - enough to be interesting and skill-dependent, but not too long to be an endless exchange of gun fire. The one-player mode will hold your interest, and makes you play many different game modes to succeed and climb the ladder to ultimate victory and a few pleasant pictures (not really reward enough, but a good ending is something hard to find in games these days).
A special mention must go to the game's Onslaught mode. Bringing in vehicles, bases, huge power nodes and rolling terrain, it does turn heads in spectacular fashion, and takes the focus away from on-foot combat for something different. It's very well created, and with enough people or bots on your team, can expand into a 45 minute battle to grind your opponents back to their own base and conquer the whole map. Clever stuff.
Unreal Tournament is more than a game - it's a living, breathing community of flak-heads who want to play with and against others at all hours of day and night. The online experience (as long as you have at least a 150k broadband connection) can be excellent when you can find the servers and players to fill out a good game, but a word to the wise: Don't even THINK about trying to play online until you've successfully mastered the game mode you intend to play against the PC, first. There are way too many outstanding players out there, and they take sick pleasure in dispensing repeated thrashings to new players. Get a solid grounding beforehand, or else you'll be put off for life when you go online and play against the egotists that swamp the internet servers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics with UT2K4, 30 Mar 2004
By 
N. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have to say, I wasn't overly impressed with Unreal Tournament 2003. The game seemed to be leaning more towards the Quake series, both in look and feel.
I'm pleased to report that Unreal Tournament 2004 reverses this trend completely, bringing the game back to the look and feel of the original UT which we know and love.
All of the gameplay greats are there, including (team) Deathmatch, Assault, Bombing Run and Domination and Capture the Flag, along with a few new gameplay modes.
By far the most impressive of these new modes is Onslaught, a team based strategy / kill everything in sight game along the lines of Domination, but with the addition of various vehicles to help. From highly maneuverable flying Raptors to heavily armed tanks, speedy light hover Mantas to Humvee style APCs, everyone is catered for. The vehicles are not only great for additional firepower and mowing down the opposition (literally), but also for transport across the sometimes epic sized maps.
A full on Onslaught match can last anything from 5 minutes to half an hour, depending on the team skills and how well they are matched. But not a minute is dull, there is always some clear and near objective. Absolutely frenetic fun!
Graphics and sound are, as always, great. Playing this game on a computer with 5.1 sound is highly recommended to take advantage of the directional sound effects. The music is also surprisingly good for a shoot 'em up game - it definitely adds to the overall atmosphere.
To sum up, if you loved the original UT, you'll love this. If you're not sure, grab the demo and try out the onslaught map ONS-Torlan. I guarantee you'll buy it afterwards :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best title for GNU/ Linux operating systems, 8 Aug 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having switched recently to Linux, I bought this game because of all the hype surrounding it and even more because it is one of the rare mega-hit titles available for GNU/Linux.
Linux installation shell script is on every UT 2004 DVD even when the label says it is only for Win2000/XP and the script (courtesy of Sierra programmers who made it in their own spare time as I believe) will launch easy to follow graphical installer.
It appears only that no phone technical support is provided to Linux users and that's why its not being advertised as Linux game.

The game is terrific, it works smoothly on 32 and 64/bit Linux boxes, the look and feel no different from MS Win or Mac OS-X versions, Internet connectivity to most popular game servers is flawless and I look forward to the sequel if there is to be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your programming is inferior!!!, 15 April 2004
By 
J. Blee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It's the 10th April and the post is slightly early this bright and sunny morning. I recieve the usual junk, bills and bumph, but today I recieve a small parcel. I open it up and out pops Unreal Tournament 2004. I immediatly ran upstairs and installed it on my PC (athough I had to make some room for its impressive 5.5 GB quota).
I immediatly went into a multiplayer "invasion" match, without even thinking about my set-up (I was just too eager). As soon as I joined I found I was being mauld by an impressive array of alliens, ranging from small pests, up to monstrous diablo-like demons firing rockets at you!! Luckily a helpful chap burst in redeemer in hand and took the whole room out in one swift motion. But it didn't stop there, "New round in 10, 9, 8....". It was intence.
I have never played UT2003, and very little of the original UT and I love UT2004. I have sampled every game mode and the only mode I dont like is Deathmatch and that is simply because I'm more of a team-based person. Onslaught is brilliant. Just the sheer thrill of driving past someone with a buggy and using the alternate fire to swing two vicious looking blades out of the sides of the vehicle and then hearing the immortal announcers voice call out "Road Kill!!" is just a great way to end a days frag-fest, and to start one off again the very next day.
There are several other game modes aswell including capture the flag, team deathmatch and last man standing. But also Mutant, where by one person is an all powerful war-machine and everyone else has to kill him/her. Also, assualt, where one team must complete several objectives to win the game, and the other must defend those objectives at all costs.
Furthermore, the UnrealED game editor is a superb additive to the mix. If you like mapping, and modding then you'll love this easy to use programme. I have never touched any editing tools before, but already I have made a few (although basic) maps for unreal tournament. And because it is the same editor as for UT2003, there are heaps of tutorials on the net when using it. I particularly recommend 3D Buzz and their video training modules. Which brings me to another point, because, as I say, the engine is the same for UT2003 as it is for UT2004, there are hundreds and thousands of maps out there, all playable online or with some bots.
Make no mistake, if you like online gaming, and you like FPS, this is a game you must at least try out. So what are you waiting for? Add to your basket now! You'll only regret it if you don't. Anyway, must dash, I got me some invading aliens to frag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UT2004 Buy it now!!, 25 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
In three words Best Game Ever! Ok, bit more information on why this is would be useful. It's a fast FPS, so the only reason you would not like this game is it you hate FPS, anybody else will love it. Its fast action paced shooter set in the future. There are multiple game types, including Death Match, Capture the Flag, Onslaught, team Death Match, Invasion, Bombing Run. Basically you are either by your self with the aim to kill as many of your opponents as possible. Other modes require you to work together to defeat the other team by either flag captures, goals or even just surviving. So there is a bit of what ever you fancy at the time offered. Ut2004 is very similar to UT2003 in content, but UT2004 has much upgraded bits and bobs, but mainly for the Onslaught game mode. This mode requires you to work as a team to capture small power nodes, then keep them defended while other team members go for the next small power node in the level. Once all the small power nodes are captured by your team the enemy base power cores shield goes down and your team must destroy it to win the match. Sounds great fun right....and it is. It gets better, you get to drive powerful tanks, fly ships different types of vehicles such as buggies and jeeps. Some of the vehicles allow other team members to pop in for a ride, while also being able to help defend or attack with the other gun mounted. Its great fun wiping out a squad of enemies by simply driving over them! Everything about the game is fun! Oh and before I forget, I have to mention the Leviathan, this is a special vehicle, its huge, and it's the most powerful vehicle in the game. It can have up to four other teams sit in for a ride and fire powerful turrets while the main driver can deploy the main gun. This thing requires the vehicle to stop, and deploy the gun, which takes about 10 seconds to unfold and then when you fire nothing survives in the blast range.....which is also big. It's the most dreaded vehicle in game. When the enemy heads for your base in one of these its time for everyone to start panicking and attack before it reaches its intended target!

So what about other things. Well the AI is amazing, so you don't have to just play on Internet with other real people. The AI can be set to be very easy for beginners and very hard for experiences players, so the game never gets easy. They play and work together very well and follow orders very good.....if you give them orders, purely optional, but good way to get them to do what you want to win a match. You can quite easily forget you are just playing against a silly computer, as the AI make them feel like real characters. The weapons are fantastic and very varied....guarantee there is a weapon for everybody. There is no particular super weapon that everybody uses. They all have their own particular way of using it. Some prefer and are better with certain weapons then others. All the levels are varied and have different themes which is nice as you can pick what ever level you feel like playing. The game also comes with a good number of levels to keep you going for a while. The graphics are very good, very clear and also can be very detailed. Some great effects are often present too. The sky in some levels are breath taking and feels very real. Even to todays standard the graphics are still some of the best out there. Never do I play a level and think this is getting old now. It will also run on almost any computer, it still looks very good on older machines and can be configured in many ways to suit what you feel is most important to you. But if you can wack graphics right up, then do!

So that pretty sums up my onion of the game. I should also note that the game comes with UnrealEd which is the same editor used to create the many maps in the game. Due to this there are thousands of maps on the internet you can easily download and add to your collection. There are some very talented level designers out there and some of the maps are hundreds of times better and fun then the retail levels and that's not saying they are bad. Some of the custom made maps made by the community are so good you would never have seen anything like it in any other game, some are so original its crazy. There are also map packs which include many of the best community maps in an easy to install manner. Also as the game is so easy to modifiy, there are also many many mods that add game play and player models to download like Smith from matrix, Homer Simpson, new weapons. All can be added and rremoved easily or even combined. This effectively makes the game never old, there is always new content and new ideas being made, so you can never get bored. The only reason to move onto new UT games is due to better engine and even better effects and graphics.

As a personal matter, due to the superb levels made by the community and the included UnrealEd for creating new levels, I now design and create my own levels and find the included editor very powerful and fun to use. I have made maps for community mods and also normal maps just for fun. I have gone beyond that now and now also Model my own Static Meshes and texture/ skin my own stuff. So I can now produce 100% custom content for my levels....all this because UT2004 was so good and made me curious, I had no idea it would go this far. UT2004 will always be fun to play and sit happily on my HDD.

So stop reading and buy this game if not already. It will entertain you for as long as you want! Remember one of the stronger elements is the mod community on the Internet so check it out, so much content to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Update to an excellent game, 15 Feb 2004
Having just downloaded the demo of UT2004 and played the new features of it, I can say that Epic have done a great job of updating and already excellent series of games, and have taken the game closer to the limit of what is possible in a FPS game. There are vehicles, there are flying craft, there are new weapons, there is simply more of everything, and while some may say this makes the game spread too thin over different game types, first impressions of the demo suggest this is not the case. For those of you who played the original UT, and were disappointed when the original sniper rifle didn't make the cut for UT2003, then you'll be pleased to here its back in, as is the Assault game type. There is also a new game type called onslaught. This is one of the biggest UT maps I have ever seen, and would take several minutes to cross on foot, (Handy then that you have jeeps and such to get around in) The idea of the game is to start at opposite sides of the map in your own base, and take over a series of connecting power nodes between your base and the enemy. The first team to reach the other base and blow up the power core inside wins. This makes for something resembling a gigantic game of tug of war but with guns and lots of stuff to blow up. I for one am very pleased that much of what made the original such a joy to play is back in to compliment the superb visuals that have been uprated further from UT2003, and even more pleased that Epic have found a way to make the multiplayer shooter even more fun and interesting to play. This really is one of the best looking games on the PC, and until Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 arrive, I don't see it being challenged apart from maybe by Far Cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best version to date, 21 Mar 2004
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If your going to buy 1 multiplayer game this year then you should seriously consider buying this. all the content from ut2003 and more + 40 new maps in this fantastic game, assault mode returns with some of the best looking and playable maps ive played. Also onslaught which is like a sci fi BF1942 but faster.
Im running the game on a athlon xp 2600+ with 1 gig of ram + radeon 9800Pro and the game handles well with 4xFSAA 16x AF with max details, shadows turned off. The load times are fast but the game eats memory and cpu cycles like a starved pig however there is so many settings to tweak so people with low spec machines can easliy get good performence. Some maps score about 25 fps which is low but the engine still remains playable. Most maps on avarage run @ 45fps which is fine.
Some great weapons too, the sniper rifle is back but it doesnt feel as good as the original UT sniper rifle but its still great fun to use and satisfying if you scrape a headshot from long range. A mine layer, grenade launcher and a anti armour rocket launcher makes a new aperance.
All in all this is a great game thats fast paced and gets the heart pounding the only downer is this version is meant to have 2 dvd's but i only recived 1, maybe there was a mistake with my copy who knows. Second disc has video tutorials on the map editor however im not a map maker so i wont miss this. Also there is a linux installer on the first disc.
Buy it you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 12 Nov 2004
By 
M. Wickenden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I've been an FPS fan since quake 1. I'm very picky about what i like to play. I had played both the previous Tournament games and thought "Good all round game" but got tired of it quite quickly. I installed this and thought "This have improved, loads more game modes". Then i played the Onslaught levels and thought Wow! I cannot stress enough how addictive and enjoyable these levels are. They really are worth the price tag alone, and they're only about 10% of the entire game. Also,Epic have already released extra levels! Assault mode is back too. An all round great purchase. Just a shame some other games manufacturers don't pack so much into one game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 4 Sep 2004
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Unreal Tournament is easily the best deathmatch shooter. Every game has been brilliant and Unreal Tournament 2004 is the best game yet.
There is an amazing range of weaponry from Assault Rifles to Rocket Launchers and a new addition for 2004 are vehicles. They are quite similar to the vehicles of Halo and were probably influenced by them, like the Manta which is basically the Ghost off Halo. The vehicles can be used to change the game completely, as they are nothing like the normal fighting.
There are numerous game styles such as the Deathmatch, Onslaught, where 2 teams battle to control nodes to make links to the base, mutant, where one person gains a huge advantage over everyone else of the map but is hunted down, and invasion where you and 2 bots fight against waves of monsters.
The single player story mode offers numerous levels of difficulty for any gamer, and the game can always give a challenge.
This is a must have game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game of the year until Half-life 2, 24 April 2004
This review is from: Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If you're looking for a slow, classic graphics, easy, shoot 'em up this isnot your thing. but like most gamers will tell you noboday wants a gamelike that. they want a fast, amazing visuals and has a very good learingCurve A Game like Unreal Tournament 2004.
Most fans of the game will tell you that UT2003 was a big dissapointment ,yet this game does not fail to please. The 1st Unreal Tournament game wasone of the best online games to play ,and i guess still is but with thisnew offering on the market it could have been beat.
Ut2003 was not all that bad but it was outshined by Battlefield 1942 whichwas bought out at roughly the same time and the new title does not have arival shooter out now (apart from far cry) it did not feature assaultmodes a match where you have to capture or take something by doing certainobjectives and then holding the capture building , train or even a shipfor a certain amount of times which could be fun and a good break fromstandard deathmatch. that mode was not in the last game but they haveadded it for the new game and its great, new levels and some of the oldones with new graphics.
talking about graphics ... WOW! you'll need a good graphics chip for thisgame as the graphics are great.
well overall this game brings back good elements and takes out bad onesand it prob the best game out so far this year until , Half-Life 2 comesout that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD)
Unreal Tournament 2004 (PC DVD) by Namco Bandai (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews