Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino - a man or a god?
In my mind, music can make a good film great, and perhaps this is the case with the Kill Bill films. Tarantino is a genius with his soundtracks and Kill Bill 2 is no exception.
Although the dialogue in the CD can become a little annoying when you're expecting great music, I would recommend this album to anyone who even vaguely enjoyed the film. I bought it on impulse...
Published on 28 Dec 2004 by Ally

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Outside the context of the film, the music is in the main uninspiring. Two or three tracks stand out as exceptional, but 5.99 is a lot to pay for them. Tracks are not available for individual download (or weren't when I made my purchase last week).

All in all, unless you are desperate for the flamenco tracks, my advice is "don't bother" with this. Wait until...
Published 21 months ago by Single Mind


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino - a man or a god?, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
In my mind, music can make a good film great, and perhaps this is the case with the Kill Bill films. Tarantino is a genius with his soundtracks and Kill Bill 2 is no exception.
Although the dialogue in the CD can become a little annoying when you're expecting great music, I would recommend this album to anyone who even vaguely enjoyed the film. I bought it on impulse and it was probably the best music purchase I made in the last six months.
Diverse and engrossing, the tracks vary from western American schmooze with a manic, menacing edge ('Can't Hardly Stand It') to a desperate and surreal version of 'She's Not There'. However, I'd have to say my favourite track is 'Malaguena Salerosa', a lively and memorable hispanic track which cannot fail to remind me of the end of the film. Personally, after I've listened to it, I always want to hear it again.
Other tracks to enjoy include 'Tu Mira', a sexy, flamenco-sounding song with a sinister beginning and an incredible voice throughout, and the very frightening and threatening 'A Silhouette of Doom'.
All in all, this album is filled with beautiful, thoughtful misery, sexy hispanic vibes and a few hints of violence and loneliness. A great way to recall the film and even develop your taste into new music. Just a shame we have to listen to David Carradine and Uma Thurman quite so often. Still, even that can be enjoyable. I don't often skip 'The Legend of Pai Mei'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 May 2004
By 
Jon Hutchison (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Unbelieveably, this is actually better than the first Kill Bill sound track. The mix of music is wonderful and gives you lots of ideas for future music purchases.
A good CD for in the car, but also as background music when you've got friends round. It creates a great mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Tarantino's choice in music, I'd say this is a must buy, the cover art alone is enough to warrant purchasing this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outside the context of the film, the music is in the main uninspiring. Two or three tracks stand out as exceptional, but 5.99 is a lot to pay for them. Tracks are not available for individual download (or weren't when I made my purchase last week).

All in all, unless you are desperate for the flamenco tracks, my advice is "don't bother" with this. Wait until tracks are available for individual download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Bill Vol 2 Soundtrack, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
wonderful music from Kill Bill Volume 2, Including some clips from the movie,where David Carradine and Uma Thurman are speaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended seller. 5 Star rating., 29 Mar 2010
By 
S. E. Ingram "vetali by night" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Item arrived sealed and in perfect condition. Very fast international delivery. Would definitely buy from again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool soundtrack, 1 May 2004
This album is a great addition to any one who likes Tarantino films, collects soundtracks or just likes listening to good, may i say again 'cool' music. Ennio Morrocone's 'l arena' is a beautiful song, and Johnny Cash's version of 'a Stratisfied mind is mesmerising'. Great sound bites from the film. A great addition to one great album. Not one bad song on a Tarantino soundtrack...again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another tarantino classic soundtrack!, 1 May 2004
By 
A. Cropper "cap_explorer" (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Never before have i sat in a cinema and been in absolute awe of a film soundtrack, until now. Infact the soundtrack Kill Bill volume 2 to me has to be one of the best things about the film (well apart from the coffin scene and Pai Mei). The first proper track is the tune from the opening credits and is very strong, although i have never heard of the artist 'Shivaree' before.
Again like the first soundtrack of the Kill Bill series there is a track by Charlie Feathers, infact another rock-a-billy obscure number which doensn't really fit with the rest of the ST.
The highlights of the ST include the Johnny Cash song 'A Satisfied Mind' which unbelievably clear and a very philisophical meaning to it, pure class. The other highlight is the three tracks from Enno Morricone, famous for spaghetti western soundtracks such as 'Once upon a time in america' the songs contained here aren't his most famous work but are absolute gems, 'Il Tramanto' is beutiful and yet only just over a minute long, 'A Silouette of Doom' builds from start to finish and u have to listen to every note like it was a word, and thridly there is 'L'Arena' which has to be the most gorgeous piece of music i have heard in a long time, it is unbelievably rousing (even to me, the rock lover!) and needs playing every day!
In conclusion this ST is a must have, infact you needn't have seen the film to appreciate the quality compiled by Tarantino.
This is a no brainer desicion to buy!
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully flowing, yet perfectly varied, 13 April 2007
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
The songs on this album, unlike processed pop, show a variety that keeps the listener interested throughout. The tracks range from vocal dialogue, to instrumentals, and to both english and foreign singing. Even with such a range, the overall flow of the album is held together by the common mellow and meaningful feel. Of course by mellow I certainly don't mean dull, but rather that it's not really going to hype you up. What it will do is make you listen and listen intently. 'A Satisfied Mind' is a perfect example, as the lyrics are powerful and flow deep.

If you own and like the soundtrack for the first Kill Bill, I would recommend that you buy this album. Although there are some really strong tracks in the first album, the overall quality is better in the second. 'The Legend of Pai Mei' is a nicely placed vocal extract from the film that really helps you to visualise the scene and is followed by Ennio Morricone's 'L'Arena' whose melodies send shivers down my spine every time. The album finishes (excluding the bonus track) with Meiko Kaji's powerful voice, whose words you don't need to understand to enjoy. This is no doubt a much stronger finish than the strange sound effects in the first album.

All in all, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez (whom Tarantino accepted as a guest to aid in choosing the film score and whose band 'Chingon' contributes the song 'Malaguena Salerosa'. If you enjoy this song, be sure to check out the soundtrack for 'Once Upon A Time In Mexico' which shows off Rodriguez's talents as a singer-songwriter) combine well to form a brilliant soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper than the first, and just as good!, 29 April 2004
By 
J. Hunt "revelsuk" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I was itching to order this as soon as it appeared on Amazon, after thecracking first album, and I haven't been disappointed!
Volume 2 takesus away from Japan and into a more Tex Mex theme. After a few words fromThe Bride, we kick off with the sultry Goodnight Moon, that wouldn't soundout of place on the Pulp Fiction soundtrack. Thanks to some fantasticEnnio Morricone selections we have a more thoughtful album - think thebest spaghetti westerns. L'Arena's slow build up from a whistle to acrescendo is amazing, and fits perfectly with the scene in the film. TuMira is a wailing, repeating flamenco chant of unrequited love, whichyou'll either love or hate. Charlie Feathers returns this time with aplodding (in a good way) cowboy song, and is joined the man in blackhimself Johnny Cash with the introspective A Satisfied Mind.
Supplyingthe funk this time are the short The Chase and Summertime Killer, tracksthat I can only imagine driving insanely fast to!
The track that really throws you is Malcolm McLaren's About Her, arendition of The Zombies' She's Not There. It doesn't fit in with eitherof the soundtracks, but that's not to say it isn't welcome. You'll besinging along by the second verse.
We return back to Tarantinolandwith the jubilant Malaguena Salerosa, and after whipping us up into aMexican frenzy we are calmed back down to the closer, Urami Bushi, aBond-esque torch song about a woman holding a grudge against a lover,which is quite fitting don't you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill Vol. 2
Kill Bill Vol. 2 by Kill Bill Vol. 2 Original Soundtrack (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews