Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you, good sir, are hot
well, i had the original defender of the crown on the old commador 64. I was about 8 at the time. It was by far my favourite retro game of all time. Now, the original just got better. You can play as Robin to "steal from the rich and give to the poor" by raiding castles, or by using your archery skills by attacking trade wagons. Little John gives you the opportunity to...
Published on 4 Aug 2004 by takingbackmarc

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a waste
This game has many attractive features that have been thouroughly messed up. The prelude is sort of fun, exept for the raiding, which is either far too difficult, or far too easy. The swordplay depends on:... blocking and slashing, well how imaginative is that? Exactly. Shooting from a tree gets pretty boring after a couple of times too.

The next stage has been...
Published on 25 April 2006 by Magni


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a waste, 25 April 2006
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
This game has many attractive features that have been thouroughly messed up. The prelude is sort of fun, exept for the raiding, which is either far too difficult, or far too easy. The swordplay depends on:... blocking and slashing, well how imaginative is that? Exactly. Shooting from a tree gets pretty boring after a couple of times too.

The next stage has been made a little broader when compared to the original, which is nice, except for the very poor AI and a few ridicilous aspects, like King John setting sail and landing an entire army behind your lines in the same time it takes you to raid a castle or advance one territory. I also found the interface very annoying, the storyline is pedantic and just no fun. In the original, you can buy men, knights and catapults. Expanding this with archers and peasants is a little slim. And then the fighting... who came up with this? A few clicks and that's that, no time or real opportunity for any strategy.

I could go on for a while, especially about what a great game they could have made of this concept, but I guess you get the picture by now.

The second star is for the sieges. I think these have been improved somewhat. And improving anything on such a great game as dotc has to be worth something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you, good sir, are hot, 4 Aug 2004
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
well, i had the original defender of the crown on the old commador 64. I was about 8 at the time. It was by far my favourite retro game of all time. Now, the original just got better. You can play as Robin to "steal from the rich and give to the poor" by raiding castles, or by using your archery skills by attacking trade wagons. Little John gives you the opportunity to use strategic "Command and Conquer" style fighting, allowing you to fight against the nobles, take counties, and eventually the country. Sir Ivanhoe allows you to hold jousting tournaments for fame, money, and even land. This aspect of the game has been dramatically improved. It is now possible to win in the joust, where as in the original, you couldn't. Ivanhoe also gives you the opportunity to build keeps, castles, and fortresses to protect you most vital counties. Finally, Marian allows you to spy on enemies seeing how many men they have in their counties.
So with all that out the way, i really enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. The only problem was that the start to finish when a little too quick. I remember spending hours on end, sometimes even days defeating the enemies of England. This new version is easy. There is no option to put it on hard mode, etc. Also it has not got very good re-playability. After completing this three times in the space of a week, i got bored and soon lost interest.
However, do NOT let this put you off. If you are a true fan of the original defender of the crown, then you must get this game. It is such an improvement on the original. I would give this 5 stars, but the simpleness of the game lets it down. But still, I loved the original, I love this one. I am hoping for a follow up to this game but with harder game play, and hopefully on the scale of Britain by including Scotland and Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic game, 12 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
A revamp of the original with better graphics. Works on my windows 7, 64 bit system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How to turn a classic game into pure garbage, 13 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
I bought the original game when I first got my amiga, thought the graphics then were simply stunning, the attention to detail of the castles was something I'd never seen in any computer game before. Although the game play was pretty basic it was a very enjoyable game, after all up until then I was used to games on the C64. So when the chance came to try out defender of the crown on the PC, I just had to download the demo and see what improvements to the graphics and gameplay had been made since the last time I played it, back in 1986 I think it was. Was the wait worth it...Er no!!, the graphics although now in 3D are the worst I have ever seen, they are jerky, poorly designed and the animation in the sword fight, looks like robin hood is doing some kind of dance. Then thers the archery section, your just stuck up a tree firing arrows at passing soldiers, what a lack of imagination. What should have been a great game has turned into a joke of a program, terrible graphics, animation and I dare not mention the gameplay. Although there was one feature which I did enjoy...the quit button. Do yourself a favour, check out the demo before shelling out good money on this. If I could of awarded minus stars I would have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a short while, 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
Robin Hood DotC was a classic game in Amiga and other platforms before hitting the PC market. However, this game offers limited gameplay and fun and does compare poorly to other games around these days.
The player starts off with being Robin Hood and raids the troops and supplies of the Sheriff of Nottingham. As Robin you use the mouse as the Archer trying to kill the troops while sitting on a tree. Shortly thereafter Little John is available to recruit an army with which you try and take over counties. As SIr Ivanhoe you can later hold tournaments and jopin tournaments where you joust against other nobles. The winner get a county and cash. Later on you can also raid castles using your learned fencing skills.
The game offers serveral tutorials for fencing, archery,leading battles and sieges.
THe interface is OK if not great. The voices and video sequences are a nice feature. The biggest shortfall of DotC however, is that the game seems to be several small games mixed into one. The graphics are nothing special. Leading battles is oversimplistic and the interface is mediocre. On my laptop (P4 2.4, 512mb, 32mb geforce 420) some action sequences e.g. archery were not that smooth. It is an OK game for a short while of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Game that Was!, 5 Oct 2004
By 
S. Graham "swordfire" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) (Video Game)
I first played the original Defender of the crown on the old 8 bit Nintendo, and thaught the game was wonderfull. Unfortunatly in trying the update the game it has been ruined. First of all it took several atempts to install the game, as when putting the second disk in my P.C. it asked me to choose a movie player. Once I finaly got the game installed I found a game that was very different from the original. The raiding part now has two seperate forms while the swordfighting is bacicaly the same, but the camara angles make it hard to see who is doing what. The archary sections are so hard to aim that you are lucky to hit 1 in 10 targets. the stratagy part has also been alterd so that the size of armys needed and the costs to bay them means that it takes you forever to get, hold and move on from any area. Meanwhile all the computer opponants dont have this problem and amass large areas of terratory very quicky, so you are left despritly trying to hold very little. Also castles are now so expencive you can never afford to buy one and still field an army. The siage warfare has also been changed, now when you atack a castle with catapults the enemay destroys large parts of your army before you can even fight. Also now it is not simply a mater of bringing down the walls and killing troops, destroing a wall starts the battle. Plus where as before throwing "special" ammo over the walls killed enemay troops now you must first bring thw walls down so far so that the special ammo can get in, even then you can only destroy so much of a perticular type of soldier depending on which wall and building you hit. Plus once the siege is over and the fighting starts unless you completly destroyed every wall (which you cannot do) you oppnant just stays behind the walls and destroys your army. The combat has also been chamged it is no longer just click and done, now you must select a target for every unit in your army and how much of your unit will attack. All in all the game TOO improved so that much of the simple fon of the original is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC)
Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PC) by Zushi Games Ltd (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews