Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba In Concert (1979) US and Wembley.
A truly spectacular release. The DVD is an updated version of a 1980 TV special for Swedish television. The footage follows ABBA around the USA on their tour of the US in September 1979. Some good atmospheric shots, interviews with Bjorn on the road, an insight into the day to day running of the biggest tour of the 1970's. The DVD then switches to Wembley in November of...
Published on 8 April 2004 by diego1092

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars abba in concert 1979
i found this very disapointing .the track list looks impressive but they only play half of alot of the songs too much talk and not enough music
Published on 17 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba In Concert (1979) US and Wembley., 8 April 2004
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A truly spectacular release. The DVD is an updated version of a 1980 TV special for Swedish television. The footage follows ABBA around the USA on their tour of the US in September 1979. Some good atmospheric shots, interviews with Bjorn on the road, an insight into the day to day running of the biggest tour of the 1970's. The DVD then switches to Wembley in November of '79 and the 5 sell out nights ABBA performed. ABBA were never a good live band, but this DVD sounds incredible. The sound has all been remastered and the negatives cleaned up for DVD.
There are bonus tracks, interviews with producers of the shows and people close to ABBA at the time. They recount their memories of their time with ABBA on tour. A good insight into what happenned and a few snippets of current information. Will they reform? Not even a billion dollars as reportedly offered recently will make them reform.
Extra concert footage includes unseen and renovated "The Way Old Friends Do" preceded by Agnetha and Bjorn recalling how well this track sounded live. So much so they added it to their 1980 album "Super Trouper". A great unseen "Thank You For The Music" and "I Have A Dream", an uninterrupted version in full.
A great historical record of a great group at the height of its popularity in the 1970s. This DVD is a must for anyone studying music and of course for anyone who likes ABBA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT ABBA EXPERIENCE, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This DVD follows Abba on their 1979 journey starting from the US with short Concert footage to wembley stadium which has the full concert footage of some of the songs shown,except for songs like "I have a Dream" which you can watch the full version on the extras footage on the dvd.

Another great thing about this DVD is that it is in 5.1 Surround sound which allows you to get the full Abba experience.

This is a must have for any Abba fan and collector especially if you were not around when Abba was together.

A MUST HAVE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars abba in concert 1979, 17 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i found this very disapointing .the track list looks impressive but they only play half of alot of the songs too much talk and not enough music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Was Twenty-Five Years Ago...ABBA, 10 Aug 2005
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a great DVD for fans that want to see ABBA as they really were in the seventies. However, remember that this is over twenty-five years ago and the quality of the picture; the camera work and the sound (God forbid) are not anything like they are now. It is fun to see ABBA camp it up on stage and the vocals (although tough to hear) are actually excellent. The outfits are a riot and only Benny seems to survive the 'big butt syndrome' by hiding behind the keyboards. No more tight outfits, please. The first few songs are not complete in entirety and there is quite a bit of editing for on-the-scenes- commentary about the excitement of doing their first tour. Eventually there are some full-length songs. It seems as if this was a documentary filmed for television in the format it is edited, so be prepared. This is not like a "Bee Gees-One Night Only" concert or an "Eagles" tour that goes from song to song without interruption. It is more of a documentary than a simple concert, but that shouldn't matter one bit for any ABBA fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little something missing, 21 Jun 2007
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I was a little disappointed in 'Abba - In Concert' - but not because it's bad.

The sound quality, in particular, is excellent - I shut my eyes a couple of times and could imagine being right there in the crowd. Also, it's filmed very intimately - the real focus (and rightly so) being the band and not the crowd, with plenty of close-ups and on-stage shots. And all the 'life on the road' clips at the beginning are insightful and intriguing.

But while the performances are good, I think the concert falls a little flat in parts. In 2007 we are used to seeing highly produced and choreographed music shows, and Abba's energetic but slightly inpromptu stage movements look quite dated now.

Also, I know that the film was only ever supposed to be an hour long, but I can't help but feel a little dissappointed that we didn't see the whole concert from start to finish - it might have made up for the fact that the majority of songs were short versions.

Having said that, it's worth a look, and while some of the magic is missing, it's still Abba and the music is still fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
great concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abba DVD, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A great Abba DVD that has the tracks I wanted to hear, good quality sound/picture and all at a brill. price, its down to this seller who sells good quality at a fair cost.. Thanks I will be back to you....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Ive loved Abba since I first heard and saw them. Now I have a great video of some live performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm a great ABBA fan but..., 12 May 2004
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I bought almost everything that was selled about ABBA, and I have to say that I was waiting for this Dvd, but it was sort of a bad surprise: the songs are amazing but I expected to find some more. In my opinion, the most beautiful song in this dvd is "The way old friends do": the version of that song came out so well in this concert that hey decided to put it (in the liveversion) in one of their cds: simply extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABBA TASTIC, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I love ABBA, so anything ABBA is amazing and when it has been compiled by someone with my unique surname, I can say nothing wrong about it. Any fan will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004]
Abba: In Concert [DVD] [2004] by ABBA (DVD - 2004)
8.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews