Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2005
There are on the market loads and loads of Christmas/holiday films, many of which are quite a bit better than this one, however i think that it can be enjoyed at least to some degree if not taken too seriously and if you don't expect too much of it, otherwise it will most likely dissapoint.
Jonathan Taylor Thomas plays Jake Wilkinson a wheeling, dealing self centered student who makes up excuses every year so that he doesn't have to go home for Christmas. His father who desperately wants his son home for Christmas if only for one year, offers him Porche if he gets home by six o'clock on Christmas Eve.
However, Jake has a few problems of his own when one of his deals backfires and the lads who suffer becuase of it, dress him up in a Santa outfit, and dump him in the middle of a barron wasteland, aka the desert. With no money and no means of transport, Jake must somehow find his way back home in time for Christmas Eve or miss out on the best Christmas present ever.
Jonathan Taylor Thomas does his best in his role as Jake Wilkinson but the audience never really becomes that attachted to him and therefore not particularly bothered whether he does get home or not. The gorgeous Jessica Biel plays the equally gorgeous Allie, Jakes girlfriend. Adam LaVorgna plays the creep Eddie who is basically trying to steal Jakes girlfriend.
Overall, 'I'll Be Home For Christmas' isn't the worst holiday movie ever but it certainly isn't the best, and if you want to enjoy it just that little bit, don't take it too seriously, don't expect too much of it and just accept t for what it is. Kids will probably love it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2004
I'll be home for Christmas tells the tale of Jake, a 18 yr old kid, who's got a girlfriend called Allie. The main plot of the story is that his father will give him the family Porsche if he comes home for Christmas. This ruins his initial plans to have Christmas with Allie, so he agrees to the challenge. Sadly, after a deal with a bunch of dudes backfires, he ends up stuck the desert in a santa suit, with Eddie (the gang leader) with his girlfriend. The film basically tells the tale of Jake's trip across the desert.
The film is funny in parts, but quite boring in others. It is still a good film and i would seriously consider buying this, especially at amazon's great price as i saw it on the Disney Channel. It is full of fun and good entertainment with a brilliant cast. A fun feel-good happy Christmas, but not Disney's best Christmas film, but worth a watch or a purchase at the price it's being sold for on amazon. A fun film that most people will find funny, entertaining and enjoyable like i did. The only reason it gets 4 stars is because the chances of being able to hitch so many rides across the desert with no money is a rather difficult thing to do.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2015
Like most Christmas films of this type, you sort of know what you are going to get, same old crappy and cheesy acting and a typical predictable story line, plus a soundtrack that sounds like every kids Christmas film you have ever seen, and 'I'll Be Home For Christmas' is all this and more.(a big bucket next to you will help) But like most films like this, they do have the odd feel good plus funny moments.

All in all not a bad film for the kids to enjoy.

***Merry Christmas***
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Funny film which is of good quality and is a bit different from many of the Christmas films. Arrived in time for the big day which was a bonus even although I ordered quite late. A funny feel good film of good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 November 2014
When I ordered this DVD, I'll Be Home For Christmas, I didn't know what to expect due to the mixed reviews. But in truth it ain't that bad. I enjoyed it.

To be blunt it's a film about Jake Wilkinson (Jonathan Taylor Thomas) trying to get home by 6.00pm Christmas eve as hes dad is giving him the family vintage Porsche.

It ends up being a nightmare, but luckily he gets some help & learns a few life lessons along the way.

Does he get home? Well I wouldn't like to say as that would spoil it. But one thing I will say it take a chance on it, as at the end of the day it is just a nice little film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I love this film and have it on DVD. I first watched in when I was 19, I am 35 now so the film dosnt have the same effect as it did when I first saw it. Although I still enjoy watching it, its funny and is a great teen film. It is laugh out loud funny when you havnt seen the film before and don't know whats coming.

Its got a nice feeling of Christmas spirit thrown in, and its clean viewing! Just a pleasant Christmas film good for all the family or young adults. A good one to watch in the run up to Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
I stumbled across this film one Christmas on the Disney Channel and decided that I must see it all! So I ordered it. And I am so glad I did!

Its a hilarious Christmas Family comedy that everyone can enjoy, including the adults.
The characters are brilliantly written and fantastically performed by the cast, and there are some excellent quotes that you'll be repeating every christmas.
(or if you're a christmas nut like me - all year round!)

This film will you keep you laughing on into the New year and beyond!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
it became family tradition to watch this film when it was on tv at christmas one year it wasn't on and amazingly the family was upset so had to buy it on dvd we now set a day and the whole family watches it ,its funny and sends a nice message across about being with your family at christmas my kids are 20,15 and 9 and with me and hubby we all watch it ,give it a go make a night of it u might enjoy it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
An ok christmas film with some good moments,not the best christmas ever made but certainly not the worst,but still worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I seen thia film as a kid and loved it, as it was coming upto christmas and i now have my own child i decided to buy it on dvd! If your looking for a good family christmas film then its worth a watch :) delievered quickly and dvd came new :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)