Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She never says that....
Bob Wiley is a neurotic man who has a habit of clinging onto his therapists. His last one, not being able to deal with him, sends him to Leo Marvin.

After having just one session, Bob thinks the world of Dr. Marvin. However, the doctor's leaving to spend the rest of the summer with his family, which throws Bob into utter despair.

He calls the doctor...
Published 13 months ago by Corey Newcombe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Bill Murray vehicle but not one of his best
The concept sounds amazing: a neurotic and devious (but ultimately kind-hearted) hypochondriac played by Bill Murray causing problems for his pretentious Psychiatrist, However, after not having seen this film for around 10 years, on rewatching I found "what about Bob" more of a predictable and staid "family movie" than I remembered and a bit dated and slow...
Published 8 months ago by TedK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She never says that...., 12 Feb. 2014
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Bob Wiley is a neurotic man who has a habit of clinging onto his therapists. His last one, not being able to deal with him, sends him to Leo Marvin.

After having just one session, Bob thinks the world of Dr. Marvin. However, the doctor's leaving to spend the rest of the summer with his family, which throws Bob into utter despair.

He calls the doctor constantly demanding to see him, but the doctor cuts Bob off. He manages to find out where he is and goes there.

The doctor's family takes a liking to him but the doctor feels that he is just intrusive. And no matter what he does, Bob just won't go away, and everybody thinks that Leo is the problem.....

Bill Murray playing a mental patient is as good as De Niro playing a psychopath, no matter how crass or silly the film is, you can guarantee a good performance.

Luckily this is one good comedy, and in 1991 there were a lot of sleeper comedies that did really well. Murray as expected is excellent, and Dreyfuss is just as good. Think of Dreyfuss as the straight man to Murrays comic, then you have the film (probably the reason why they didn't get on.

It's a simple story, made into a laugh out loud movie thanks to the two central performances and the straightforward jokes.

It's just set up after the next, with Leo becoming increasingly frustrated, and bob becoming more endearing. And just when you think it couldn't get any worse, it does.

It's good family fun, with good performances and more than six good laughs.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What About Bob?, 12 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I had seen this film a couple of years earlier and remembered it being hilarious so took a chance on it when it came out and am I glad I did!
If you are a huge Bill Murray fan like me then there's is no doubt you will like this film. He is at his comic best throughout the film and will have you rolling with laughter.
The interraction between Richard Dreyfuss and Bill Murray is top class and I'm surprised just how underrated this film is.
Definitely worth a watch and would be a great comedy addition to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My sides hurt!, 18 Oct. 2004
By 
Kerry Quinn (Fordingbridge, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This movie really is fantastic. It is one of those movies which can be watched over and over and never ceases to make you laugh. Richard Dreyfuss and Bill Murray really are on top form and work so well together.The storyline is great and script well written. This is a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIGGLE CITY!, 8 Sept. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Totally unmissed at it's time of release, a total classic comedy film. Murray & Dreyfuess at their comic best!
You just can't help but 'feel' for the neurotic 'Bob' (You can call me Boob) and his harrassed psychiatrist 'Leo' (Call me Dr. Marvin) as Bob sneakily follows his pyschiatrist on holiday.
As Bob gets better, Leo gets very, very ill. Unwittingly, Bob empowers everyone around him, and sends his Dr. to hell & back.
Fantastic casting and performances by all. One of my top five films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bob Does the Job, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Every now and again you want to go back and watch a movie from a more classic era. I am not talking about the black and white films of the 40s and 50s, but the top notch comedies of the 80s and early 90s. In recent years Bill Murray has flourished in offbeat comedies that are not always mainstream, but in his first heyday his films were not only great, but also for a mass audience. Nearly everyone would have seen ‘Groundhog Day’ by now, but is there something that could act as a companion piece? The answer is a firm yes. Look no further than ‘What About Bob?’ a great comedy with one of Murray’s best outright comedic performances.

Murray plays the titular Bob, a neurotic hypochondriac who goes through psychiatrists faster than beans through an infant. His latest doctor is Dr Leo Marvin, author of Baby Steps – a guide to overcoming your fears. When Dr Marvin goes on holiday with his family he thinks Bob will manage, but Bob has other ideas. ‘What About Bob’ has that classic 80s comedy feel that is formulaic, but works so well. You kind of know what is likely to happen from the off, but don’t mind as you enjoy yourself getting there.

The reason why the film works so well is not the slightly humdrum script, but the central comedic performances. Murray is fantastic as Bob, a highly annoying character that you end up liking. However, the unsung hero is Richard Dreyfuss as Dr Marvin; he is excellent as a man driven crazy by Bob’s incessant nature. The chalk and cheese comedy double act is a staple of comedy and when they are done as well as this you can see why. This is an excellent comedy that has heart, laughs and great performances. A gem of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray as the patient. Richard Dreyfuss as the ..., 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Bill Murray as the patient. Richard Dreyfuss as the psyhotherapist. An amusing look at some psychotherapeutic theory and methods, especially of the self-help kind, and the results as an over-dependent patient ingratiatingly crosses a few psychotherapeutic boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray & Richard Dreyfuss great together!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I stumbled across this film back in the 90s because I love Bill Murray films... and it cracked me up! I think him and Richard Dreyfuss are great together in this film and I would say any fan of either actors will love it. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreyfuss steals the show!, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Don`t get me wrong the chemistry between the leads is great and it wouldn`t be the same without either but i think this has to be one of Richard Dreyfuss best performances.I bought the dvd about 4 years ago & have watched/enjoyed it 3 times,that`s maybe it i can`t see me watching it again anytime soon but it`s served it`s purpose.

Review update:31/03/12
Not long after writing this review i sold this dvd but soon found myself missing it.Lucky me came across the dvd again yesterday for £1! So of course i snapped it up & it feels good to be back with Bob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Call me Bob". "Call me Doctor Marvin"..., 4 Jun. 2009
By 
Peter Buckley "peter15115" (Dyfed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Having read the other comments, I'd say they are pretty fair, even the critical one, after all, particularly with comedy, one man's meat is another man's poison! I was recommended this film, and enjoyed it enough to watch a couple of times and now recommend myself.
Bill Murray is great, but I particularly liked Richard Dreyfuss' portrayal of Leo Marvin, not least of all because so many professionals seem to have too high an opinion of their abilities (and no sense of humour!). Without too much analysis (or I might sound like Leo, sorry, Dr Marvin) it is thought provoking that a very real 'them and us' attitude prevails in the mental health business, and it was great to see a big needle being stuck in that balloon! Hope you enjoy.
PS.. 'Baby steps' is such a great concept I wish I'd come up with it first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, dvd works fine, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Arrived well within the estimated delivery time. Great film, dvd works fine. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What About Bob? [DVD] [1991]
What About Bob? [DVD] [1991] by Frank Oz (DVD - 2004)
£4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews