Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
25
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2004
More effortless class from genius Gough. Another peerless collection of great songs. Intimate, moving, infectious, amusing, lyrical, inventive - you'll be humming these tracks for weeks (especially Year of the Rat, one of the most unashamedly anthemic pieces BDB has ever penned. Can't wait to see the kids' choir on TOTP..)
Unlike, it seems, almost everyone else on the planet, I thought Have You Fed the Fish was a fantastic album. OK, so it wasn't Hour of Bewilderbeast Mk II, and it did attempt a more orchestrated, mainstream sound. But I think this has distracted some people from acknowledging that the quality of the songwriting was as high as ever. You Were Right, for example, is one of the greatest singles of the last decade.
One Plus One is One proves that, if anything, the songs are actually improving. Some people have given this album a half-hearted response, saying it's just more of the same - as if an artist with the talent of BDB has to innovate with every new album simply to counter the restlessness of the audience and please the critics. Many bands struggle for decades to come up with a handful of great songs - BDB seems able to knock them out one after the other. This album is the latest batch from the conveyor belt of genius, and it's hard to pick out highlights, there's so much quality on offer. Summertime in Wintertime, Four Leaf Clover, This is That New Song - all classics.
Buy this and you'll listen to nothing else for a long, long while.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
This will never be regarded as a great album, and clearly lacks the coolness and mysticality of Bewilderbeast, but it does mark a significant return to form for Damon Gough. Judging by some of the lyrics in this album, and various past interviews, BDB himself felt his music and perhaps his professional life was lacking direction. As he sings in the title track 'Its time to close the doors on myself...As the past becomes the future it gets clearer that it still boils down to love and peace.' Love and peace is really what the album itself boils down to. It is full of uplifting lyrics like in 'Another Devil Dies' and 'Year of the Rat,' which both somehow inspire you to be a better person.
Gough has really gone back to doing what he is best at - writing simple tunes with great lyrics. Whilst the songs themselves are catchy and decent without being brilliant, there is a lyrical maturity reminiscent of the incredible 'You were right' that was never too evident in Gough's earlier work. He manages to say some pretty wise and even profound things without sounding in any way forced or condescending. What really shines through in this album is what a nice bloke Damon Gough has managed to remain throughout his rise to fame. He's totally comfortable with himself and the music he's producing - who else is cool enough to have children singing on two tracks on the same album and get away with it?! Not Cliff Richard, and certainly not Michael Jackson...
Badly Drawn Boy simply doesn't make bad music, and anyone calling themself a fan should definitely add this to their collection. There are 5 or 6 good songs, and lyrics that really make you listen. For any fans of Anchorman, there is even a dashing of Burgundy-esque jazz flute. What more could you ask for?!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
I must admit that I am new to BDB but the moment I started listening to this album I really loved it. I especially liked "Easy Love", "Summertime In Winter", "Another Devil Dies", "Year of the Rat", and "Fewer Words". Hell to be honest I loved them all and I will buy all his other albums.
Just a word of advice to people who like to complain, please go listen to an album before you buy it. It is usually what intelligent people do. You may want to write that down in case you forget. Anyway I think people should appreciate someone who hasn't been corrupted buy the music industry. I believe this is someone who is totally original, which is something of a novelty these days.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
One plus one has its moments of magic, and the more I listen to it the more I like it. However, if you are new to badly drawn boy do yourself a favour and purchase Hour of the Bewilderbeast first, it's his best album and showcases his bumbling musical style.
And if you should ever get the chance to see him play live, GO!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
If i were looking for instant gratification from an album, then I would probably have reviewed this 2 or 3 stars...but I wanted to stick with it and, after 5 listens, i can honestly say this album really grows on you and gets under your skin, songs such as Another Devil Dies and This Is That New Song, they really get inside you. It's a great album, but please please give it a few listens if it doesn't grab you at first...it'll be worth it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2004
I noticed some very negative reviews of this album here on Amazon - the writers are obviously new to BDB and aren't fans of his style at all. They're probably into Blink 182 or something. If you are new to BDB then perhaps you ought to check him out before buying this, but if, like me, you are already a fan, then ignore the bad reviews here.
This is definitely his best work since Bewilderbeast, I'm personally quite in love with this album at the moment, and it's definitely a grower. It sounds much more polished than a lot of his older work (listen to the lovely warm acoustic guitar on 'Easy Love') which I consider a good thing. The album's filled with great melodies from start to finish, always keeping the classic BDB sound. Thanks for another great album, Mr Gough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2004
Unlike the entire music press I was pretty happy with "Have You Fed The Fish", there were some classic singles and a overall feel of an artist on a roll.
Sadly "One Plus One Is One" is rather subdued and meandering, there is nothing that grates and this is far better than other blander,bigger selling solo artists but still it misses the spark of his earlier efforts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2004
Badly Drawn Boy gives us another fantastic album. He didn't just write it for people to call it crap! I love BDB's music because no-one else does anything like it - it is completely unique. His past albums are great - this is no exception.
If you don't like music that is a bit on the weird side, why don't you find someone else to listen to, for god's sake? I think that the people who gave this 1 star are total bloody nutters! BDB offers inspiration for budding musicians like me, or is just great to listen to! I would reccommend this to
anyone who doesn't like the boring pop music. My favourite songs are Takes the Glory, Four Leaf Clover, Easy Love and, of course, One Plus One is One. The mixture of different instruments and effects is good in all of the songs.
Overall, a fantastic album. Full of interesting ideas that BDB has managed to dream up. GET IT NOW!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
Now before i bought this album i had only really heard BDB on the film about a boy. Normally i prefer american rock music such as Matchbox 20, Counting Crows, Dave Matthews and Bruce Springsteen. Now when i saw one plus one is one on offer i thought id have a listen and to my amazement i would say this is a contender for album of the year. Having about 7 really catchy songs on personal favourties include, year of the rat, fewer words. and logic of a friend. Even on the weaker songs BDB offer something different to other bands such as small piano solo's etc. Ive found this is one album where i really feel ive got my money's worth and im so happy ive bought it go out and buy u won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2009
BDB is bloody great-bloody bloody great-but, unfortunately since have you fed the fish he seems to be missing a trick. The first album was great-the second album which was the soundtrack to about a boy was more than a soundtrack, it was a brilliant album. Then came have you fed the fish which was just great good pop songs and a thoroughly good record. So what has happened with damon gough since-oh dear. His writing sounds like its gone fro m being prolific to sporadic. I suspect he wrote a couple of good songs and then thought an album was looming and wrote the other songs to order which i'm afraid simply don't work. This is definetly his worst album and should never have been released as it is just not good enough. in fairness there is a couple of good tracks but from what we have been used to there should be an album of top tunes.it makes me really angry that he is clearly an amazing writer and he has somehow let his own standards slip.
There will be plenty of BDB fanatics who will write great acolades on here but you get that with every artist as nutters will always be attracted to thinking people will listen to them but trust me-i love his first 3 albums but this is just cobblers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.72

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)