Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done
One look at this track listing and you see what a great album it is. Usually greatest hits comprise of a few good songs from a brilliant first album (which are here) but what makes this album so strong is the brilliant tracks from the Illusion albums. The double albums were weak in places but had some stunning songs (November Rain) and they sit really well with the...
Published on 8 Mar 2004 by Carsten Doig

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unrepresentative of a classic rock band
So here it is. A chronological overview of Guns N Roses' biggest hits. Of course, as we have seen with many acts - including The Beatles I might add - "the hits" doesn't necessarily mean "the best work", and nowhere is this more apparent than in the case of GNR. So, after the four sublime cuts from the Appetite For Destruction/Lies era, the quality of the songs becomes...
Published on 10 Jun 2004 by kingcreole78


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done, 8 Mar 2004
By 
Carsten Doig (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One look at this track listing and you see what a great album it is. Usually greatest hits comprise of a few good songs from a brilliant first album (which are here) but what makes this album so strong is the brilliant tracks from the Illusion albums. The double albums were weak in places but had some stunning songs (November Rain) and they sit really well with the classic tracks. Patience is also nicely placed,rather than having the other acoustic tracks from G'n R' Lies. The album does taper off a bit with the songs from The Spaghetti Incident but even they sound quite decent after some really classic material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is one if the best albums I've ever bought, shame I didn't look to Amazon for the cheap price thier offering this at. I still cant stop listenig to this album my favourite song on the album has to be either "sweet child of mine" or "november rain"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF 'ROCK'S' GREATEST GROUPS', 16 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The group formed in 'Los Angeles' in 1985 and have maintained a strong fan-base both sides
of 'The Atlantic' ever since.
Arguably one of the Hottest Rock acts around with artists such as 'Axl Rose' (lead singer) and
considered one of the all-time great Guitarists 'Slash' (lead guitarist) along with 'Rhythm Guitarist'
'Izzy Stradin' among the impressive instrumentalist line-up.
Their music has achieved World-Wide success and acclaim.....the group first featured in the U.K
Chart in 1987 with a lower-order entry - 'Welcome To The Jungle' (Chart '67') however the song
was re-released the following year and achieved Top 30 status.
This 'Greatest-Hits' album does include all the groups Top-Ten U.K entries down the years.......
which includes numbers such as - 'Paradise City' (Chart '6' 1989) 'Sweet Child O' Mine' (Chart '6'
also 1989) 'Patience' (Chart '10' 1989) 'You Could be Mine' (Chart '3' 1991) 'Don't Cry' (Chart
'8' 1991) followed by 'Paul McCartney's' 'Live and Let Die' (Chart '5' also 1991) the following year
also having U.K Hits with 'November Rain' (Chart '4') and 'Bob Dylan's Classic' 'Knocking On
Heaven's Door' (Chart '2') also the same year 'Yesterday's / November Rain' (Chart '9') in 93'
'Civil War E.P' (Chart '11') followed by 'Ain't It Fun' (Chart '9') in 94' they had just the one Top 10
entry 'Since I Don't Have You' (Chart '10') and in 95' 'Rolling Stones Classic' 'Sympathy For
The Devil' (Chart '9') all these mentioned tracks on-board this great 'Rock' album.
They never actually achieved a U.K number One Singles Hit, though this Album and their 'Use Your
Illusions II Albums did Top the Album Charts.
Surely one of the great Rock-Bands of our Time...........this album obviously a great reflection of the
groups best known material.
(My Daughter, and Top 500 reviewer 'Timelord' persuaded me to add a 'Guns N' Roses' album to my
ever growing music collection......Glad I Have, many would say long-0verdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you don't have the songs already, 21 Jun 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of GnR and used to own all of the albums on tape (I know... but it was a long time ago). To be honest I always thought that Use Your Illusion being on two albums was a bit of a con, so I never bought the CDs. But my patience has paid off, and finally, here it is; a collection of the best of GnR at a decent price. It's quality from start to finish, containing pretty much all of their best songs (ok, five are covers, but they were always good covers). Some people may have a preference for some of their other songs; for those people, buy Use Your Illusion I and II and leave this well alone. If you just want to relive your old GnR days, this does the trick (although you might just want to buy Appetite for Destruction as well...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for an introduction, not for die hard fans, 29 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. Michael D. Robson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Being a Guns N' Roses fan I bought this album just so I had every release. Although i'm not dissapointed with it, I am not pleased either.
One problem I have with the album is the lack of tracks. A GNR greatest hits should be a double CD with around 30 tracks in my opinion. Its missing such tracks as 'Its So Easy' and 'Mr Brownstone' from Appetite For Destruction. From the Use Your Illusion Albums where are 'Bad Obsession', 'Dust N' Bones' and many more. The tracks from The Spaghetti album should have been missed off, and more Appetite For Destruction added. Its such a shame this isn't better. You have to listen to all of Appetite just to know what GNR were all about.
Saying that important tracks are there, Welcome To The Jungle, Sweet Child O' Mine, Paradise City, November Rain...all great rock tracks, some of the greatest rock tracks ever.
In conclusion if you need to listen to some GNR for the first time then buy this. It has a good range of songs and for the price you can't go much wrong. Once you've listened to it then go through their back catalogue and you won't be dissapointed. For the hardcore fan this is dissapointing and you feel like the GNR feel is missing somehow. The fact that Slash, Axl, and Duff actually got together and tried to stop this being released because they didn't get to choose the artwork, the tracks, or anything to do with it says it all. GNR by name, not quite by nature.
Buy it anyway if your a fan to add to the collection, never heard of GNR, GET THIS NOW AND YOU WON'T LOOK BACK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guns N Roses for dummies, 16 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have to argue with MIkey P the other reviewer of many of this item. Axl Rose did not want this to go ahead, he and Slash and Duff joined forces (amazingly) to try and stop the release of it.
The ones you should be saying that are reaping in the money whilst sitting on their backsides are the people at Geffen who signed Guns N Roses.. and anyway...its not a bad album..
So there are five covers..perhaps..just perhaps they did the covers quite well...! And they sounded really good..!
As well as the songs they wrote themselves..
This is brilliant for an introduction to the band- Guns n Roses`s rauchous and raw power illustrated through all fourteen of these tracks... yes 14 NOT 9!!
Buy this Baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracks included, 19 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For reference as I would have found this useful, tracks comprise:

Welcome to the Jungle
Sweet Child o' Mine
Patience
Paradise City
Knockin' on Heaven's Door
Civil War
You Could be Mine
Don't Cry
November Rain
Live and Let Die
Yesterdays
Ain't it Fun
Since I Don't Have You
Sympathy for the Devil

You know what they sound like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Not The Greatest Hits, Certainly The Most Accessable, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Daniel Mercer "dgenerationx_69" (Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Whilst certainly not the biggest Guns N' Roses fan in the world, I often found myself unable to resist their catchy hits and so, upon seeing this CD available at a budget price, I snapped it up and I am sure glad I did.

This CD has not left my player since it arrived and to me it is an album I can listen to all the way through everytime I put it on. Whilst the most hardcore of G N' R fans may say that there are better songs that could have been included on this release, I feel that these are the most accessable songs that will bring in new fans. After all thats probably what Geffen where hoping since they actually wanted to sell copies of this thing.

For me the album does a good job of showing all sides of Guns N' Roses, from the rocking anthems like Welcome To The Jungle and Paradise City, to the power ballads such as Patience, Don't Cry and November Rain, and of course a few cover versions such as Knockin' On Heaven's Door and Live And Let Die. Not to mention my own favourite Civil War.

Whilst there may infact be a few too many cover versions and the record company could have gone with a few other original tracks already suggested in the other reviews, this album is still a great purchase and whilst to some it may be Guns And Roses lite, it is certainly a great way to introduce yourself to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars guns n roses - greatest hits, 14 Sep 2004
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Not being a real guns n roses fan but having a wide interest in music i am aware of the great following that guns n roses have so i was intersted in listening to some of their music. I think this album was ideal for this as you've got a good amount of tracks to listen to and decide on your own personel opinion. On doing this I think this is a great album if your into your classic rock but not being too heavy. I also think that the album is worth buying just for the track november rain. Worth the money definatly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise CD, 30 Jun 2004
This review is from: Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
OK, so Axl Rose didn't want this album released because he didn't agree with the content. That doesn't make this a bad album. In fact for the those of us that weren't truly appreciative of this fantastic band the first time round, it acts as a fantastic reminder of just what they were capable of. Back in the days when G'n'R were at the top of their game, I really wasn't keen enough to buy an album. The fact that someone decided to put all the tracks that I know on one CD is not a bad thing! This is an album that reintroduces G'n'R to old fans who had forgotten how good they were, and to a new audience who have never heard 'Live and Let Die' except on a Bond soundtrack.
I for one will now go out and buy 'Appetite for Destruction' etc. I wouldn't have done that if this was a bad album in any way!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits
Guns N' Roses Greatest Hits by Guns N' Roses (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews