Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top marks for top tools
Being from an engineering background, as well as a model figure painter, these tools have stood me in great stead since I received them, being used daily in both my work and play times.
Sturdy, with a very agreeable handle (much better than the old all-steel products I used to use) that ensures a good grip whether you're covered in oil or clean handed, they have a...
Published on 23 July 2011 by Crystal Warrior

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for
After reading mixed reviews, I took a punt on these, and the best way to describe them is "you get what you pay for".
As per other reviews, the file blades are sometimes crooked, kinked, or have steps in the edges. The tapered tips are poorly finished, often curling like a banana. In places the rough surface is missing or only lightly pressed into the metal, so...
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top marks for top tools, 23 July 2011
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
Being from an engineering background, as well as a model figure painter, these tools have stood me in great stead since I received them, being used daily in both my work and play times.
Sturdy, with a very agreeable handle (much better than the old all-steel products I used to use) that ensures a good grip whether you're covered in oil or clean handed, they have a file for all areas of use.
I am a personal fan of Draper products, so am possibly biased in my opinion of these files, but years of experience have proved their brand to be much superior to many others on the market, so I know what I'm talking about here (for once).
They are perfect for both precision engineering and model making purposes, and the price (when compared with certain products here in the Republic of Ireland) is well worth it.
Anyone who is either a professional engineer or a craft hobbyist would be well advised to snap up a set of these files, as you simply won't find any better.
They are perfect for model making, as they have every type of plane imaginable, from round to more complex planes, which get into all the little places most regular files will not reach, meaning that figure painters will be able to fully clean up their figures without having to use the more dangerous technique of scraping away with a craft knife (snapped blades are just one danger in this particular hobby), and will not obliterate the finer details, common with other brands, due to their finer depth between the teeth.
Engineers will also find much to praise in these files, as they may look quite fragile, but are built of sturdier stuff than other brands, and will soak up some vigourous usage without any mishaps, and come back for more.
All in all, they are simply better than any other brand I've used over the years, and should last me a good few years, too.
Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 25 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
After reading mixed reviews, I took a punt on these, and the best way to describe them is "you get what you pay for".
As per other reviews, the file blades are sometimes crooked, kinked, or have steps in the edges. The tapered tips are poorly finished, often curling like a banana. In places the rough surface is missing or only lightly pressed into the metal, so will be pretty ineffective.
I also notice that not all of the advertised shapes are included; instead several duplicate files (round, flat, tapered flat) have been included.
If you are after some general purpose files for occasional hobby use, these are probably ok for you, but if you hope to use them for anything nearing 'precision', I advise you to look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product marred by awful packaging., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
I gave these files 4 stars because they are as described - high quality in a range of sizes, encased in a handy plastic wallet. They have been useful in jobs involving woodwork and metalwork, and they are comfortable to use. For the price paid, they certainly met and surpassed my expectations.

My only gripe is that they arrived in the most frustrating packaging I have ever experienced - I opened an amazon carton to find the file set binded to a product information card by sticky plastic - the kind used to cover and protect books. I spent a good part of 20 minutes removing the film from the plastic wallet which the files live in, as it was a case of removing a small piece at a time with a great deal of force. I was very unimpressed in this sense, but I think the quality of the files has made up for this disappointing start in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars draper 12 piece needle file set, 30 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
excellent quality needle files, the files are well made and excellent for deburring or filing small objects & in small awkward places. the set contains every type and shape of file you could require. i use these files at work and they hold up to heavy duty day to day use with no problems. overall an excellent buy. Draper 36325 12 Piece Needle File Set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HANDY NEEDLE FILES., 8 Nov. 2013
By 
LandlubberDave "Dave D." (Clacton on Sea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
Once you have got the wrapping off using half your tool kit (I exaggerate!) you have a handy little File Set which is ideal for occasional use around the home, workshop or certainly for hobbyist use.

I have used a few of them when I recently enlarged a few key holes, enabling me to make a much neater job than I would have done without them.

Although they are obviously of slim build, they do seem to be quite robust. I consider them to be a handy addition to my tool kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars File Set, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
Dispatched super fast, dose what it says on the packet. Well priced but if you need files for precision work would suggest you will need to find better quality, as the rat tail files in my pack both have kinks to their tips! Draper Quality Control?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needle File Set, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
Great little set of files in there own cover, I have used them many times and they are still like new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars They do the job - but, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
This is a useful set of files providing a variety of different shapes including four various flat, one round, two different triangular, one square, three various oval and one knife. They work well but but I would not consider them to be the best quality. The shapes of the files are a little uneven, and none comes to a decent point, and those that come near to forming a point have a slight kink near the end. The small handles do make them more comfortable to use than the conventional handless needle files.

These do not compare with the more expensive quality needle files, but they are a fraction of the price and as such offer good value.

They come in a plastic wallet and the whole set is packaged in plastic wrap on card, and the plastic wrap is extremely difficult yo remove, so tenaciously does it cling to the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet set but horrible package, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
Good quality files. They did the job admirably.

The only issue is the package. They come vacuum-packed, like food, in a very sticky plastic. It almost feels like they've used glue inside. It took me many minutes to remove the wallet without damaging it.

If you don't care about the wallet and only want the files, you can just rip it off. However, i think the wallet is very usefull and keeps the files organized.

I gave it 5 stars because i'm rating the files and not the package but that was one of the most frustrating packages that i had to open over the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars x files, 29 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 36325 12-Piece 140 mm Needle File Set (DIY & Tools)
files arrived today 29th January - 2 days early which is good but files little disappointing - knew they would be mini-files at only 140mm length but the file blades seem thin and a bit fragile to stand up to some heavy duty filing abuse - nice handles though and well made all the same - blades will impress me if they don't snap under normal wear and tear - ok for the cash and fast delivery 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews