Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2010
This is an ideal torque wrench for any job, especially if you have critical 'low' torgues to set, such as engine block, engine head or cam follower bolts.
The more common "Clicking" vernier ratchet types are not accurate or reliable at low torques at all and should not be used when this is required.

Half inch socket drive and clear torque markings by the handle.
No ratchet, so make sure you have the room to engage the sockets you have and swing the wrench. Arm is about 50cm long.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
I've had one of these for years, which only broke when testing the torque on some wheel nuts that an idiot tyre fitter had put on with an air-gun. This torsion-bar type are perfectly adequate for occasional home use. Maybe not as 'sexy' as the click-type, but those are a lot more expensive and require periodical calibration, even when they are NOT used on a regular basis, as calibration can drift just with the sort of heat/cold cycling likely to be encountered in a domestic garage. Apart from maybe metal hardening over many years of use these cannot go off calibration, as it is a moments work to check the pointer is on zero before using it. You do need to watch the pointer against the scale of course, rather than listening for a click, but that is a small price to pay.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Good tool, had to buy this to torque up my timing belt on my Landy. It did the job well and was cheep enough even for a one off buy, it was well made and seems to be sturdy and will last. It'll probably gather dust but sure it's always there when ill need it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This torque wrench is really great. It can be used by anyone, you don't need much knowledge about torque settings. Simply check the manufactures specifications for the torque setting of the bolt you wish to tighten and then simple attach the correct size socket on the torque wrench. Then just turn the torque wrench clockwise for a right hand thread and watch the needle on the wrench. When it is over the torque setting you require you will know it is correcly toruqed.

I really think this wrench is brilliant and is very affordable. I have found it has come in useful a lot since I bought it and I can't live without it now.
Therefore I am rating it five stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Perfect for most jobs and a lot more "trustworthy" then the click type torque wrenches. You can actually see what you are doing and can get good results. It would be perfect if it had a smaller (shorter) brother for smaller jobs requiring less torque.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
What can I say - its a simple item that works as you would expect it to - best value I could find on the internet, though alignment of pointer to zero mark slightly off on receipt, however only a very minor deviation. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
This tool can save a lot of money and dose the job, nice one for those jobs that need a bit more attention on how tight some thing must be .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Perfect for 99% of occasions, simple, very little to go wrong - why make life more difficult than it is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 November 2013
I bought this because I'd read that ratchet torque wrenches should be recalibrated on a yearly basis, which pretty much makes them disposable items, unless you know someone who can calibrate them for you for free! This style of torque wrench is known to be very reliable and robust.

When it arrived I was a bit irked to find that the indicator was NOT reading zero (see my picture). Checking further online, I found that it is perfectly normal to gently bend the indicator so that it reads zero when it is under no load.

In use the item performs ok, but you do have to make an extra effort position yourself to see the pointer, as you would do for all torque wrenches of this style.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
This type of torque wrench works very well for general home use. It works with 1/2" square-drive sockets. Unlike click-type wrenches it won't go out of calibration and has no moving parts.For some jobs which require that you maintain torque on a fitting (e.g timing belt tensioners) it's the only type that works. Sockets can be fitted to either side of the wrench, so you can always position it so you can see the scale.

One small criticism is that there is no Nm scale on the wrench- only foot-pounds and the lesser-used kgm. However, since most service manuals will have foot-pound specifications, you can just use that scale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)