Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars carving kit
This was a good buy, carving my pumpkins this year was fun and easy!! : ) The different sizes made carving
much simpler, just selected the size appropriate to the detail and effect i was wanting to create.
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by seahorse

versus
59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time and money
I had the same problem with the chisels bending. They are also very badly attached to the handles, so the blades keep dropping out.

Spend a bit more money and get a decent set.
Published on 4 Aug 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time and money, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
I had the same problem with the chisels bending. They are also very badly attached to the handles, so the blades keep dropping out.

Spend a bit more money and get a decent set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars draper wood chiels, 10 April 2006
By 
David Cavanagh (Cambridge, Cabridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
I have a set of these chisels and I don't rate them at all.
the blades are too flimsy and bend too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars carving kit, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
This was a good buy, carving my pumpkins this year was fun and easy!! : ) The different sizes made carving
much simpler, just selected the size appropriate to the detail and effect i was wanting to create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a waste of time or money., 16 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
These chisels are fine for beginners detailed work. I don't know why people are complaining what did they expect? A decent set of micro tools cost between sixty and a hundred quid, which is clearly beyond someone new to carving who just wants to get started.

They DO sharpen quite well with the stone provided. They are missold a bit as they are not really "carving" chisels, but detail ones (for putting the final touch on your carving). So long as you only use them for doing fine details (in conjunction with proper chisels (or a dremel) for the heavy stuff) they are fine. These are just for tapping gently or for just working with your hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entry level tools, 4 April 2013
By 
Al80 (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
I bought these chisels so i could have a go at whittling without spending a lot of money on a potentially short lived hobby. Some of the blades can come loose but i found twisting the blade popped them back into position allowing me to carry on working without any problems. The blades were very sharp and stayed this way even after countless hours of use on (a reasonably soft) wood. I can't really fault the tools for performance but loose a star on the rating only due to the slight lack of quality in the construction.

If you were to take up whittling i would recommend these chisels as a good entry level set of tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
For adding a little detail to a wood carving these chisels are great. Good metal quality and with a very shallow honing angle you can carv even hard woods easily. For thier price they are perfectly good usable non-substandard fine finishing tools and a must for any sculptors's tool set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kit for beginners, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
A good basic kit for beginners, would give you an inexpensive insight to what would be required as you improve and need to upgrade to a better quality set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tools., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
I bought these for my 14 year old son. He really liked them because they are strong, sharp and easy to use. They were perfect for intricate work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. G. Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
Really good for the money. Some of the tools were sharp, some weren't but a stone is provided so doesn't really matter. Good to have a go with the different shape blades and see which you like using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars carving tools, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 31777 7-Piece Wood Carving Tool Set with Sharpening Stone (DIY & Tools)
Excellant. Why do we need to write any more than this for a review, it was a present for someone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews