Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Plumbing Job!
Good piece of kit, saved me ,s Read the instructions before use as you will destroy it beforehand, oil it, fill it with water, crack on and do whatever you need to do :)
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by PETER CARROLL

versus
97 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money
I found this pretty well unusable.
To prime, you fill the exhaust tube, thing is, unless you are able to squirt it up in the air, as opposed to emptying in a bucket, the tube empties when you point it down again. It was impossible to prime without making a real mess. When I did get it working it was tempramental, if you got an gap of air you needed to re-prime it...
Published on 9 Nov 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money, 9 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
I found this pretty well unusable.
To prime, you fill the exhaust tube, thing is, unless you are able to squirt it up in the air, as opposed to emptying in a bucket, the tube empties when you point it down again. It was impossible to prime without making a real mess. When I did get it working it was tempramental, if you got an gap of air you needed to re-prime it. Absolutely infuriating. Within 2 hours it was back in the post.
I subsequently bought a SELF PRIMING wolfcraft pump through one of Amazons partners, you can find it on this site. This works perfectly, around the same price as this, so, if your after a cheap pump, go for the wolfcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor performance pump, 27 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
I endorse the above reviewer - the DIY Fan's review was not based upon a poorly built Friday-afternoon special, this model of pump does not pull much in the way of vacuum and so cannot self prime. OK with submerged inlet, so not that much use when connected to a mains electric drill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PURE CR@P, 9 May 2010
By 
Ga Molyneux "the meff" (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
Bought this for what i thought would make Water changes on the fish tank a breeze. How wrong could i be! this is a complete waste of money! utter cr@p.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless, 28 Sep 2009
By 
K. A. FINDLAY (Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
Bought this pump in order to empty the water from my waterbed as i was moving house.I was then going to use it to refill the bed.It brokedown before i had finished emptying the bed.Would not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Limited, 24 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
While it does pump water, it does not do so fast or with much pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless, 5 Sep 2012
By 
B. Gargaro (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
when this pump actually works,
intermittently,
the suction power is very low.
I do not recommend this product

Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Draper drill pump is rubbish, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
Please don't waste your money. It's impossible to prime unless you have ideal conditions which you won't have. I spent ages and it would only work with a very short 1 ft inlet pipe and sucking the outlet pipe like mad. I was trying to drain dirty water and got sick due to having to suck up by mouth so much dirty water to get it to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
I should have read the reviews on this before buying it.
The recommended hose size did not fit (as noted by another reviewer) and the pump was near impossible to prime (as noted by another reviewer).
It seemed the only way to prime it was to put the whole thing into water, and this wasn't easy when it was connected to your mains powered drill.
Several electric shocks later I took off the pump and hurled it into oblivion. My wife was watching me trying to use this pump, and said the cost of the pump was worth every penny for the entertainment value.
I'll bin this and buy a self-priming pump instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Plumbing Job!, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
Good piece of kit, saved me ,s Read the instructions before use as you will destroy it beforehand, oil it, fill it with water, crack on and do whatever you need to do :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not tried it yet was waiting on the plastic pipe ..., 12 July 2014
This review is from: Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump (DIY & Tools)
Not tried it yet was waiting on the plastic pipe that was on offer with the pump to arrive id did this morning but was to small to fit onto pump so don't take their recommendation for the pipe in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Draper 18937 Drill-Powered Pump
7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews