Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2004
Ahh Phoenix...... how ive missed you. Its been 4 long years since 'United' and I was fearing the worst. United was an excetional album, full of funk and rhythm, winning tunes and stunning melody and quickly became one of my favourite albums.
Now the young parisians have returned to try and follow up that great album with 'Alphabetical', and while it doesnt quite top 'United', it makes you glad there is a band like Phoenix about.
Opener 'Everything is Everything' is classic Phoenix, a subtle dance track, hushed vocals with a cracking tune. 'Victim of the Crime' is another winner. Opening like a dr dre song, the chorus kicks in and youre up and dancing again. All in all there is not a bad song on here, with 'Love for Granted', '(You Can Blame It On)Anybody', 'If Its Not With You' and 'Holdin On Together' being other fine songs.
The only downside to the album is the lack of a 'If I Ever Feel Better' or 'Funky Squaredance', the two quintessential Phoenix tracks. While all the songs are good, none come close to these, which is a shame.
But im being petty. Phoenix have returned and we should all raise a glass to them and celebrate the fact there is a band like them around. If you like music, you'll like Phoenix and i can wholly recommend you buy this album. You'll not be disappointed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2004
This album is far more coherant than their debut (a masterpeice aswell). Iwent to see them live last night and although you will hear the same thingfor practically every band I cannot stress enough how good they were. Asfor a disappointing return? I am not sure how to answer that other than"Victim of the crime", "Run Run Run", "Everything is Everything" have beenon repeat for the last month and I will continue to listen to them!
If you liked the first album and you are into the Parisian dance/pop/indiescene (Air, Daft Punk etc) this is a must for your record collection. It'sabout time people started to realise just how good this band is.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2004
I bought this album on the strength of the singles 'Run' and 'Everything Is Everything' and I wasn't disappointed. This album is everything you would expect from hearing the singles, with all the songs relying on understated vocals, light guitars and clever use of keyboards to create a unique and pleasant sound.
The songs range from the energetic 'Everything Is Everything' to the slower 'Love for Granted' and the thoughtful title track, 'Alphabetical.'
While this album is good, it is not to everyone's tastes, so if you liked the singles or if you're in to this kind of music buy this album. If you don't fit the categories, you wouldn't be missing out on a life-changing experience.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2004
Great album.
i had heard only a couple of tracks by phoenix, run run run and everything, and i had heard enough i bought both ALPHABETICAL and UNITED straight away... and I was not disapointed with what phoenix had to offer.
The music they are making is pretty unique it contains elements 80s disco funk, 70's soul and 60's jazz, merged with 00's rock and supertight production.
I feel alphabetical is slightly better than the first album, although UNITED contains some tasty tracks.
by far the most original album i have heard in a long time.
peace
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Best track for me is Run, Run, Run, but the whole album is a fairly chilled mellow affair and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
I've tried to like this album, but the melodies just aren't there. The sound is fine, vocals are okay, but at the end of each song I just don't remember anything about it. If this came on the radio, I wouldn't change station, but that might be because it wouldn't really register in my brain.

By the way, I didn't find their first album (United) particularly exciting either, but I'd probably rate that debut slightly higher than this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2005
Just started listening to Phoenix in the past couple of days. i haven't heard the first album so my review is solely determined by the Alphabetical. I think it's an excellent album. well crafted and full of surprises. I struggle to fault it. It's an album that is very easy to like and tolerably pop at times. But then again, I think the good french bands offer a sleekness to their music. It's unique because it's a different style to ours and a different French groove. Air have been the most successful band in passing on this good thing. More please...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
I first heard "Everything is Everything" in a Topshop changing room about three months ago and HAD to know what that song was. Since I bought the album I've not been disappointed! Funky beats, jazzy rifts, melody and soul all play a part in the music that is phoenix. 'Love for granted' is a gorgeous, laid back and uplifting track, whilst 'Can't blame it on anybody' has a super cool jazzy beat, and the title tune, alphabetical is a melodic, lazy-sunday kind of tune. Of course, 'Everything is everything' if you haven't heard it already, has a catchy funk meets rock meets south american jazz lilt that is really popualr in music at the moment. A must-have for any fans of laid back funky music, not totally dissimilar to Jamiroquai in their early days.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
Excellent album from the relatively new to britain band that is pheonix. You may have heard one of the tracks in the Oscar winnning film 'Lost in Translation'. Pheonix have a haunting sound that is sure to be big. I would reccomend anyone who enjoys coldplay, snow patrol, the coral and travis to buy this album before your friends do!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2004
Phoenix's exceptional debut release, "United" consisted of catchy, good feeling songs within a disco pop frame. Expecting an equivalent this time around, this is what one gets yet something is clearly lacking and disappointingly so. The promise in 2000's "United" which lead to movie soundtrack feature including last years highly acclaimed, “Lost in Translation”, has not been built upon. With an emphasis upon a camp disco sound, the album lacks the meaningfulness and musicianship so prominent on the debut album. Having said this, "Love for Granted" and “If it’s not With you” are tracks remnant of Phoenix’s former selves and is very pleasing indeed. Taken as a whole, “Alphabetical” does not flow, it sounds forcefully over-produced and is thoroughly disappointing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)