Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Road Is Long
This is a very scary movie, and I enjoyed it so much I gave it five stars. I was however tempted to give it 4 due to the ending. They could have just cut the film ten minutes earlier without having to try and give it a "twist" at the end which was frankly un-needed. Anyway, that aside, the film is basically a family's night-time journey through a forest. Caught on a...
Published on 4 Dec 2005 by Green Man Music

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The fate of the Bellend family
This film whilst entertaining enough has got to take suspension of disbelief to new lows;people witness horrific events and yet a couple of minutes later everything's forgotten,and characters wander off on their own after said events have occured. The characters are unsympathetic especially the cretinous(literally) wanker of a son.Little is actually explained and don't...
Published 10 months ago by Gorgal Windsor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Road Is Long, 4 Dec 2005
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a very scary movie, and I enjoyed it so much I gave it five stars. I was however tempted to give it 4 due to the ending. They could have just cut the film ten minutes earlier without having to try and give it a "twist" at the end which was frankly un-needed. Anyway, that aside, the film is basically a family's night-time journey through a forest. Caught on a road that appears to have no end, they suffer a series of terrifying encounters each time they have to stop the car. There is also some really dark humour throughout the film, particularly as the family members begin to get driven crazy coping with what is happening to them. There isn't any complexity of plot, just a creepy sense of being caught outside of time - in the Twilight Zone, for example - it is really a particularly scary Bradbury-esque movie, and I thoroughtly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead End - A story of twists and turns!! Superlative horror., 9 Aug 2005
By 
P. Hargreaves "writerpaul" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is one to watch several times as what seems like a cosy, humourous road movie turns into a nightmare. All I can say is look out for the Lady in White when your out driving on quiet country roads at night!! Atmospheric, constantly moving and a labyrinthine ending that leaves you wondering - did it or didn't it!! (I'll not say more and spoil the plot).
An intelligent and thought-provoking film - I've been talking about this film for days after watching it - if you like horror/mystery films buy it - it's a must have for your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claustrophobic Dark Comedy Horror, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you like your horror films to be clever and suspenseful then you should definitely give this one a watch. Benefitting greatly from a simple set (one car, one road) and a cast of relatively unknown actors, the french director/writers have managed to create an entertaining and creepy film which is as much about the characters reaction to their situation as it is about the actual horror that occurs. I was particularly impressed with the performance of Lin Shaye as the mother, a fabulous character.
The storyline is simple. A family are travelling at night on Christmas Eve to visit relatives. In the car is the mother, father, son, daughter and the daughters boyfriend. The father decides to take a shortcut which takes them on a seemingly endless road in the middle of a forest. Shortly after a near miss with another car they spot a woman carrying a baby along the side of the road. Suffice to say after giving her a lift things start to go horribly wrong.
A very claustrophic, intense and incredibly classy piece of dark comedy/horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The fate of the Bellend family, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film whilst entertaining enough has got to take suspension of disbelief to new lows;people witness horrific events and yet a couple of minutes later everything's forgotten,and characters wander off on their own after said events have occured. The characters are unsympathetic especially the cretinous(literally) wanker of a son.Little is actually explained and don't get me started on the ridiculous ending.On the plus side,some of the comedic elements work and the ghostly car scenes are chilling enough.All in all an uneasy blend of comedy and horror that ultimately doesn't come off.I'd actually give it a two and a half rating if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still holds up, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I consider this among the best three horror films of its decade; very atmospheric and keeps the gorier parts in the audience's imagination mostly. It's basically a film involving a family travelling down a road while spooky things occur.

Incredibly, the film also includes comedic dialogue that works very well, lines that remained memorable long afterwards.

The film features charismatic characters and thankfully, people actually react to deaths logically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just a Horror film..., 8 Sep 2005
By 
Dominic "Dom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is very good. It really should not be thought of as only a horror film as it is far more subtle than that genre usually is. There is blood but it is minimal. Often the 'horror' is off screen in the best traditions of older films. It is thus left to the mind to create the horror. The directors are French & they bring a good deal of style to their film making. Beautifully dark & not without humour, I cannot praise this too highly. If you like European cinema you may well like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great film, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
horror fans ignore bad reviews on this film its good funny and great ending. garuntee u will like it promise. very cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exelent, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] (DVD)
this film you hate it or like it i think its great i have bought this film a while ago and stil like it there is constant somthing going on they been riding for hours on this road and try to go to there distination but cant seem to get there i dont want to give a lot away but it got a mysteriese ending i give it a 5 you have to see it and then decide great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very creepy., 11 Sep 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This isn't what you might expect and I would say this is more a thriller than a horror. Not knowing much about the film, I thought it would be a slasher road movie but in many ways it's better than that as it is quite original. It really does have a creepy, spooky atmosphere to it and a sense of dread of what will happen next. So it does keep you on the edge of your seat. Providing on your movie education you will either sense the coming twist at the end or be totally gobsmacked by it. Overall a very good, fairly original film that you should deffinitely watch.
There are not many extras on the disc, 2 deleted scenes which the director over explains. There is also a making of about 30mins long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For once, someone turns in something truly creepy..., 18 Mar 2005
By 
T. Carne "Techie wage-slave" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead End [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I'm not going to go into great detail about the plot of this movie, as it twists and turns so many times that explaining too much of it would spoil the effect of the film. Suffice to say an average family find themselves stuck on a seemingly never ending road, being stalked by what they initially think is another driver.
What makes this film so refreshing is this:
A: The film is actually tense, suspenseful and chilling. I'm more or less desensitized to gore and violence (there is some in this movie and it is unpleasant so the squeamish might want to take a raincheck) but nobody can resist a movie if it genuinely gets under your skin. For me, this was a movie that at times I wanted to turn off or pause, it's that suffocatingly tense. If you swing the other way and violence scares you, not tension, this movie would still probably work, as some unnervingly nasty things go on as the movie progresses.
B: It makes perfect sense. Sounds obvious, but a lot of horror movies, especially high profile ones like Hide and Seek, just don't add up when you think about them. It's all well and good writing a plot that twists all over the shop, but if it doesn't tie back up at the end, people will come out feeling cheated. This movie stops that from happening, with a tight, clever story arc and some killer twists.
To sum up, this is a movie that without a large budget, or with the exception of the fabulous Ray Wise, an A list cast, ramps the chill factor up to eleven and twists so much you won't know whether you're coming or going, yet reins it all back in for an ending that makes perfect sense and gives you a proper denouement to the tale instead of a botched Scooby Doo ending. They don't make 'em like this as much as they should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead End [DVD] [2003]
Dead End [DVD] [2003] by Jean-Baptiste Andrea (DVD - 2004)
4.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews