Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fearsome battle in court and at home
Yes, 5 Stars, probably worth 4 and a half. A little known gem, to the wider audience. A complicated case comes to court whereby a giant car company is being sued for producing dangerous vehicles. The alleged victims hire Gene Hackman from a small local company to take on the case for them, although he is well aware he is unlikely to win against the big company that is to...
Published on 9 Feb 2008 by Red Rose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little courtroom drama....
Though I shan't name specifics, back in the '90s, when Class Action was made, vehicle component malfunction affected and scared more everyday folk than the usual cases for U.S Courtroom dramas i.e Medical and Corporate cases.

So, when a lighting circuit component fails in a popular car model and causes vehicle fires, naturally a case is lodged against the...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Tim Kidner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fearsome battle in court and at home, 9 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, 5 Stars, probably worth 4 and a half. A little known gem, to the wider audience. A complicated case comes to court whereby a giant car company is being sued for producing dangerous vehicles. The alleged victims hire Gene Hackman from a small local company to take on the case for them, although he is well aware he is unlikely to win against the big company that is to defend the vehicle manufacturers. Matters become worse when he discovers that his own daughter will be the lead council opposing him.

War is declared at home and in court, with his wife left to pay the ultimate price. Hackman is marvelous in this, and really plays from the heart. One or two moments in this might put a tear or two in your eyes. At one point when a key witness pokes fun in court at the alleged victims, Hackman retorts 'it's all right for you to joke, you still have both your arms and legs'.

His daughter, Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, hates her father for his past behaviour towards her mother and has no intention of losing the case, although events leave her with a moral dilemma. One can not help taking sides with the underdog, but how will this resolve itself ?? The film has a very fine ending, which is somewhat unexpected. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hackman excels again, 24 Aug 2011
By 
A. Costigan "Popeye" (Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
Hackman is excellent in this role as the crusty old attorney battling with his estranged daughter. One of Hollywoods greatest - in my opinion - Hackman makes it look so easy. A good, not great plot and storyline, is carried well throughout and reaches the slightly obvious conclusion with near perfect timing, as another 15 minuts might have been a tad too long. Buy it, watch it, enjoy it, Hackman is pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gene rules, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
Gene Hackman yet again does a great acting job great courtroom drama that has daughter against father, who will win well you will have to buy the movie to find out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little courtroom drama...., 23 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
Though I shan't name specifics, back in the '90s, when Class Action was made, vehicle component malfunction affected and scared more everyday folk than the usual cases for U.S Courtroom dramas i.e Medical and Corporate cases.

So, when a lighting circuit component fails in a popular car model and causes vehicle fires, naturally a case is lodged against the manufacturers. Taking the case is a crusty, liberal lawyer, Jed, (Gene Hackman). But, to his shock and fortunately for us, in defence is Jed's estranged daughter Maggie (Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio), who's ambitious and ruthless. This creates a tension, in the courtroom and privately as reasons and causes for their differences are aired.

Unlike some more well known courtroom dramas, there's little shouting or violence. No one gets murdered. The case is reasonably involving and both leads are good. The outcome wasn't as full-blooded as I'd have liked and so I give three and bit stars. Quietly recommended, though, especially for lovers of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the p&p, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
i have never been so bored in my life. surprised hackman accepted the part. definitely not to be recommended, not worth the cost of the postage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
The film is rubbish don`t buy it to avoid disappointment,The sort of film a big name star does for the money, like he needs it. And I`am a Hackman fan.It`s the sort of film you only watch once, then sits on your shelf for the rest of your life, or until you offload it to Oxfam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD MOVIE, 10 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Class Action [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this movie, maybe because I like all courtroom dramas. I have liked others better, but would watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Class Action [DVD]
Class Action [DVD] by Michael Apted (DVD - 2004)
3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews