Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2014
If you are thinking of purchasing this Blu-Ray release of Oklahoma, here is some further information about it. I have just received it myself and:

Disc 1 is the Blu-Ray of the Todd-AO version
Disc 2 is the Blu-Ray of the Cinemascope version
Disc 3 is the DVD of the Cinemascope version
Disc 4 is the DVD of the Todd-AO version

(2 different versions of the movie were filmed).

The 2 Blu-Ray discs are marked as Region A (USA) only, but play on both my Region B (European) Panasonic players.
The 2 DVDs are marked as Region 1 (USA) only and do NOT play on Region 2 (European) players.

... a bit bizarre, that!

The Blu-Ray of the Todd-AO version DOES look stunning! - whereas the previous DVD version didn't.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2006
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare you for this with a screen apology before the titles and I suspect that the original 70mm version has suffered from poor film preservation over the half century of its existence.

Many younger viewers will never have seen the original TODD-AO Road Show version and I'm afraid will not be impressed with this offering.The CinemaScope version (to be found on Disc 1 of this 2 Disc issue) is excellent for its age and the DVD is worth having for this alone as previous issues were dreadful pan and scan versions.

The music however is a delight and the narration from Shirley Jones is a welcome extra. If you have or are about to order the new Special Edition of 'SOUTH PACIFIC', which also contains the TODD-AO version, you will see the quality that made TODD-AO so exciting - it is excellent. What a pity this print of OKLAHOMA doesn't come near to the same quality.

Update: Having now lived with the TODD-AO version since its Region 2 issue in March, I have to admit I prefer it to the CinemaScope version. Tweak your TV a little and its completely enjoyable.
33 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I thought it was a nice touch to include an option whereby you can just play all the musical numbers.

Its true that the Todd AO version lacks some quality but I found this only a minor thing, it is so nice to see the new version.

All in all you could not ask for more.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2002
As an American, I grew up listening to the music of Rogers and Hammerstein, but my experiences of their work has been limited to the film versions of the great musicals. On a recent trip to London, I found this video, which a British friend had recommended to me. I was completely enthralled! It was an absolutely marvelous production. Although I have seen the film version several times over the years, watching this production, I felt like I was seeing a brand new show. The cast was simply marvelous. I enjoyed Josefina Gabrielle's interpretation of Laurey as a tomboy, something not revealed before; Shuler Hensley, as Jud Fry, brought a new, in-depth menace to the character that was very chilling to see. Jimmy Johnston as Will Parker was funny and charming, and he did a great job with that lariat. But it was Hugh Jackman's performance as Curly that really clicked with me. I'd read a little about this actor, and something I read mentioned he was an accomplished singer. But nothing prepared me for the wonderful quality of his voice as he started singing the first song off stage. I enjoy listening to a good male singing voice, and his is one of the best I've heard in the last couple of years. I hope that despite his growing film career he will someday do more Rogers and Hammerstein musicals... I think he'd be a perfect Billy Bigalow! (Carousel)
This is a production that should NOT be missed. If you love Rogers and Hammerstein's musicals, you will DEFINITELY love this video.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2003
It is easy to see why the Rodgers and Hammerstein estate wanted this stage production to be recorded for posterity - it is hard to imagine that anyone could do it better. While it can be difficult to do justice to a stage show on video, this one has been beautifully filmed. The cast, choreography and staging are all excellent. Hugh Jackman makes a wonderful Curly, and Shuler Hensley is impressive as Judd Fry. The fact that they used the leads to do the ballet sequence instead of the usual dancing lookalikes adds significantly to the show. The behind the scenes documentary and interviews with the cast and crew are a nice bonus. This version of "Oklahoma!" is a must for any fan of classic musicals.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Oklahoma [Blu-Ray plus DVD] This four disc set consists of two Blu-ray discs that are REGION FREE and two DVD's that are Region 1 and will only play on a Region Free player. Disc One is the Todd AO Blu-ray version is by far the best and up there with some of the best for sixty year old film restorations. Not too far behind quality wise is the CinemaScope version Blu-ray. Disc 3&4 are DVD versions of both films, which though superior to the previous DVD versions are not really worth bothering about. The film was made in two versions, filmed at the same time and there are slight differences. Overall this is a worthwhile purchase if you enjoyed the film and its catchy music. I did feel it had dated and was perhaps slightly overlong and needed shortening to about two hours, but that's interfering with history and how the Studio wanted the audiences of sixty years ago to enjoy their film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
Oklahoma is the most stunning and intense video adaptation of a musical I have ever seen. Never in the three hours it lasts it gets boring. The enthusiansm and thrill the audiance must have felt watching it live is easily tansported via the screen. The songs and characters are so full of live and passion that it leaves the viewer breathless. I would especially want to point out Hugh jackman who plays Curly, he is a stunning actor, singer and dancer. Especially the fighting scenes are incredebly realistic even though this normally only can be reached in films. All the tension between the lovers and the enemies, but also the happyness is transfered into the livingroom and makes it part of the theatre. Its an experience that makes you want to stand up and give the actor a standing ovation and it leaves behinde the feeling of regret not having been there life to participate in something so extraordenary.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 October 2014
A fabulous Todd-AO ( the preferred version) 30 fps restoration of the classic musical that was also shot in CinemaScope 2.55 : 1 (a solid but not as spectacular transfer). The four disc set - playable on UK machines is good value for money and the film shines and sounds the best you will probably ever see it! Highly recommended!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
It's a Rodgers and Hammerstein production so obviously it seems to go on forever but in this case it doesn't seem to matter.
Gordon MacRae and Shirley Jones are highly watchable as the two leads while the subplot involving the love triangle between Ado Annie, the peddler and Will Parker also provides entertainment.
The dances are wonderfully choreographed, in particular Gene Nelson's superb solo dance for 'Kansas City' which has me bouncing up and down in time with the music.
Songs are tuned to perfection as is expected from these writers but for me the standouts are the well-known 'People Will Say We're In Love', 'Oklahoma' and 'Many A New Day' which is my personal favourite simply because of the high notes that Jones reaches that seem impossible to the untrained.
As for the story, a simple enough love story which still seems to add something new to the genre.
If there was one thing I was annoyed about when I first watched the film it was the length. However the songs and suspense of the last hour made it less of a trial.
Ultimately, I would recommend to anyone at all interested in musicals or to anyone just wanting an enjoyable experience.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Oklahoma (Bluray)(US Import)
This review refers to US import.(4 disc set)
The 2 bluray discs are region FREE , but the 2 dvd discs are region 1(will not play on uk machines unless multi region)
The bluray discs are pristine copies and in the Todd-AO version (discs 1) a stupendous 7.1 sound .
An enjoyable Rodgers and Hammerstein movie musical from 1955 , worth getting for disc 1 alone.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)