Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SANDRA BULLOCK CHARMS...HARRY CONNICK, JR. SIZZLES...
Forest Whitaker's directorial efforts pay off, as he presents the viewer with a solid, though predictable, romance. The ever charming and coltish Sandra Bullock gives a strong performance as Birdie Pruitt, who has just found out on national television that her husband Bill is having an affair with her erstwhile best friend, Connie. Shocked, she is left to cope with this...
Published on 13 Jan 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so So
Shame as i love Sandra Bullock but the character of her mother is annoying and irritating and down right weird.
Published 19 months ago by Milliemollym


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SANDRA BULLOCK CHARMS...HARRY CONNICK, JR. SIZZLES..., 13 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Forest Whitaker's directorial efforts pay off, as he presents the viewer with a solid, though predictable, romance. The ever charming and coltish Sandra Bullock gives a strong performance as Birdie Pruitt, who has just found out on national television that her husband Bill is having an affair with her erstwhile best friend, Connie. Shocked, she is left to cope with this very public betrayal.
Birdie takes their daughter, Bernice, and leaves her husband, returning to her small town roots in Smithville, Texas, where her mom, an eccentric but lovely lady, wonderfully played by Gena Rowlands, still lives. As a teenager, Birdie had been a big fish in a small pond, a popular high school cheerleader who had ended up marrying the high school star quarterback, Queen of Corn three years running, and the envy of most of the young women with whom she grew up. She now finds herself returning home with her tail between her legs, her fairy tale life having taken a decided nosedive.
While home, some of those who remember her manage to get their digs in. One person, however, a sensitive and sensual good ol' boy, Justin Matisse, played to sexy perfection by Harry Connick, Jr., remembers her with fond affection, as he has loved her since they were in high school. He is there, just waiting to pick up the pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful romantic drama, 14 Sep 2005
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Birdee is invited on a talk show and then her best friend tells her that she's having an affair with her husband. After the show Birdee moves with her daughter, Bernice, back to her mother's house (which is situated in a small town). Her father is ill (we find out more about that later). Bernice's cousin, Travis, is also staying at there.
From very early on Justin tries to woo her (with a lot of unsubtle hints from her mother).
It's Birdee's story and follows her as she deals with the aftermath of her marriage collapsing. It's also about Birdee's relationships with her family (especially her mother and her daughter) and others.
What I loved about the film was the fact that it was character driven and the characters are 3 dimensional (at least the main ones are). The whole thing feels real and, therefore, is more touching. I had tears rolling down my cheeks watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poignant, bitter-sweet, tear-jerker with a hint of comedy., 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I first saw this film when it was shown at the Odean in Holloway Road, London. I was captivated from the first opening scenes and spent most of the film with a lump in my throat, determined not to cry, although I did shed a few silent tears (I drew the line at sobbing - public displays are not my thing!). The acting was superb and it had great atmospheric conotations. Harry Connick Jnr. took me by surprise as the romantic lead and I would just like to say that he has gone up in my estimations for sheer sex appeal alone! Brilliant film for a girlie night in! Box of tissues, bag of tortilla chips with dip, chocolates and some beer. Sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Sandra Bullock's best!, 14 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Of several of her movies that I have seen, this is perhaps her best effort. Less of the fluffy 30-something portrayed in some of her later movies, it may be that Forest Whitaker, in the unusual role as director, was far more restrained (or perhaps, constrained0 than those who followed in the Congeniality titles, for example.

Bullock cannot, and probably will never, be described as a great actress, but she can be a be a good one when at her best and she is certainly very good in this. In my view, Bullock's most successful role and perhaps far more believable than in Congeniality or its sequel, the presence of Harry Connick Jr is quite a good choice and provides a good foil. The young girl playing the daughter does a very good job, herself.

The movie has its deadpan side, especially in the scene where her young daughter pleads with the disinterested father/husband to be able to join him which is replete with pathos, it later moves to the lighter side when Bullock's character starts to enjoy her life when working for the photo shop.

A very good effort from all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HARRY CONNICK, JR. SIZZLES...SANDRA BULLOCK CHARMS..., 18 Sep 2001
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Forest Whitaker's directorial efforts pay off, as he presents the viewer with a solid, though predictable, romance. The ever charming and coltish Sandra Bullock gives a strong performance as Birdie Pruitt, who has just found out on national television that her husband, Bill, is having an affair with her best friend, Connie. Shocked, she is left to cope with this very public betrayal.
Birdie takes their daughter, Bernice, and leaves her husband, returning to her small town roots in Smithville, Texas, where her mom, an eccentric but lovely lady, wonderfully played by Gena Rowlands, still lives. As a teenager, Birdie had been a big fish in a small pond, a popular high school cheerleader, who had ended up marrying the high school quarterback, Queen of Corn three years running, and the envy of most of the young women with whom she grew up. She now finds herself returning home with her tail between her legs, her fairy tale life having taken a nosedive.
While home, some of those who remember her manage to get their digs in. One person, however, a sensitive and sensual good ol' boy, Justin Matisse, played to sexy perfection by Harry Connick, Jr., remembers her with fond affection, as he has loved her since high school. He is just there, waiting to pick up the pieces.
This is a very enjoyable movie, with strong performances by the entire cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so So, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Milliemollym (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Shame as i love Sandra Bullock but the character of her mother is annoying and irritating and down right weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and completely depressing - avoid!!, 25 April 2012
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those movies that you just can't imagine why they ever made it. Well actually I can - no doubt Sandra Bullock wanted a film in which she could do some 'real acting'. The film is boring and depressing with only the faintest glimmer of a happy ending in literally the last few seconds. The blurb on the box of this film said "A feel-good movie you can feel good feeling good about". I think the writer of this must live on a different planet and needs referring the the Trades Descriptions Act. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You *Can* Go Home Again..., 26 Oct 2010
By 
Wendy C. Rigney (Troy, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Sandra Bullock does a wonderful job as Birdee Pruitt, a woman who has the rug pulled out from under what she thinks is her idyllic existence as a homemaker on national television when her so-called best friend, luring Birdee on a Ricki Lake-type show for what she believes is a free makeover, announces she has been having an affair with Birdee's husband, Bill. An affair he has precious little remorse about.

Humiliated and reeling, Birdee takes their daughter, Bernice, from the home she and Bill shared in Chicago and goes back home to Smithville, Texas, where Birdee sheepishly reminds her daughter she was "Queen of Corn" for three years straight. In Texas, where she was once a big fish in a small pond, Birdee hopes to lick her wounds. Once home, she reacquaints herself with her mother, Ramona, a somewhat offbeat woman played with zest by Gena Rowlands. (A classic line from her when she asks Birdee why she was on TV and Birdee answers, "I just wanted a free makeover" and Ramona responds, "Well you got one!" was superbly delivered.) She also reconnects with her nephew, Travis, being raised by his grandmother while Birdee's sister tries to make it as an actress in California. Travis acts out his abandonment issues in an odd fashion, in costumes and as various characters, which Ramona handles with equanimity, likely since she is a bit off center herself.

In the midst of Birdee's humiliation and misery comes some matchmaking by her mother when old friend - and someone who crushed on Birdee from afar when in school - Justin Matisse drops by. Justin, played by Harry Connick, Jr, is a salt-of-the-earth type architect/construction worker. He clearly still has deep-seeded feelings for Birdee, feelings she is ill equipped to handle. Bernice does not handle the entrannce of Justin into their lives well, secretly hoping for her parents to reconcile.

What follows is a languid, slow-paced tale of Birdee wallowing in pity until Ramona sets her straight. When trying to find a job with almost no skills, some former classmates Birdee looked down upon waste no time in slyly rubbing her nose in it. Bullock plays a chagrined Birdee to perfection, making you feel for her and hoping she can get herself together. Along the way, a flirtation with Justin slowly turns into more, despite Birdee's continued antipathy about her marriage. Connick holds his own with Bullock, and I thought they had remarkable chemistry. One of the best scenes in the film is when Justin and Birdee dance. Connick and Bullock apparently trained with Patsy Swayze, and likely did her proud. They clearly looked like they were having a blast. The subsequent scene at the house Justin brings Birdee to, one he is building, is very romantic and gentle. Those adjectives sum up the relationship quite well.

Of course, no would-be romance would be complete without conflict, and, as mentioned, Bernice's resistance provides plenty. Mae Whitman as Bernice was compelling. She played a child of divorce achingly well, and even when acting out, you could see the hurt underneath it. The scene between her and Michael Paré was gut wrenching when Bill would not take his daughter home with him. Alas, the only flaw seems to be that Bill is shallowly characterized, the heartless guy who has no qualms about abandoning his family. But since it does happen, I can't be too harsh here.

Add in other issues, such as Birdee's father battling the heartbreak of Alzheimer's disease and Ramona's eventual fate (I won't spoil it), and I admit, it is not always a "light" movie. But the romance keeps it from being too maudlin, and the family dynamic is as real as it gets. This is not to say there is no fun. See the aforementioned dancing...as well as a sweet scene as three generations of women - Ramona, Birdee, and Bernice have a little fun with "I Can't Get Next To You."

Forest Whitaker does a credible job as director here. Overall, this movie seems to be about a woman's journey from long-time appendage to finding her own way, and it was handled deftly. Indeed, to be honest, it was about...hope. Hope for a new future, hope for a new life, and hope for new love with the one who always loved her.

The romantic in me really, truly loved it for those reasons. If you like the theme of "second chances" and romance with "the one who almost got away", I cannot recommend this movie enough. I think it is honestly among Sandra Bullock's best movies and deserved *much* more success and respect than it received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite of all love films, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Floats (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this film it's just such a romantic and gets me every time has been a favourite of mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be awful!, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
There are kids in this in central roles,and American ones to boot,with the whiny accent It should be bad ,very bad Sandra Bullock's character should be beyond irritating,and the whole thing should be schmaltzy beyond belief, BUT IT IS ISN'T ! It is a lovely film One of Sandra Bullock's best The child actors are great,particularly Bernice Harry Connick Jr is perfect as Justin and there is a great soundtrack Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope Floats [1998] [DVD]
Hope Floats [1998] [DVD] by Forest Whitaker (DVD - 2004)
4.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews