Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars92
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2004
Laurel & Hardy are one of the greatest comedy Duos of all time, if not the best. Another Classic in Way out west is Brilliantly complimented with 2 great shorts, Thicker Than Water & One Good Turn. On top of that already great Setup you have the colour versions of the Originals, although these might not appeal to some, i found it rather good to see a colour version of these 3 classics. Great DVD. 5 Stars
11 comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
This is my fav L&H episode! WAY OUT WEST is just so funny, I have watched this many times and still makes me laugh! The colour version on the DVD is very good and I think Laurel and Hardy act out well in this and you can tell they are enjoying it too! The song and the dance they do in it is brilliant and my fav bit is the scene with the donkey, but I won't say nothing more incase there are new viewers and fans to Laurel and Hardy, but the whole DVD is brilliant and worth having just for way out west, but the extras on it are very good too!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 May 2007
This set of Laurel & Hardy DVD's are an essential purchase for film fans and this particular volume is one of the very best of the 20.

'Way Out West' is their most popular long film (about 65 mins). Its very very funny with a number of brilliant recurring gags: The water-hole that Ollie falls into, Stan using his thumb as a lighter, and the wonderful edible hat (well for Stan anyway). Then of course there are the two wonderful song and dance routines to cap it all. Of course James Finlayson is there as well to add his inimitable DOH!

Of the shorts 'Thicker than Water' is the stand-out for me. This is one of the best of all their shorts, and they made loads. Peerless comedy of which the best sequence is the washing up in the kitchen, closely followed by the "I gave it him to give to you" routine. Again Finlayson is here to add his character to the film. It has a lovely twisted ending where after a blood transfusion the two of them get confused (literally)!

Nobody will ever match their comic genius, and this DVD is as good a representation of it as you can get.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
Any fan of Laurel and Hardy will no doubt have their own favourites but to me this one is superb.Right from the opening scenes to the close you know that somethings gonna happen and the dou never fail to disapoint.
The plot involves our dou having the task of delivering a deed to a girl left to her by her dead father but..well just watch and you'll no doubt enjoy it like I did.
Also look out for the scene that gave Laurel and Hardy a number one hit with "Blue ridge mountains of virginia"
This film is a must own for all Laurel And Hardy fans and a great introduction to them for those experiencing them for the first time.
A CLASSIC....
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] [1937]
outstanding movie and great classic comedy on this dvd set you have
way out west (Black & white version
way out west (computer colour version
one good turn(Black & white version
one good turn(computer colour version
Thicker than water (Restored Black & white version
Thicker than water (computer colour version
Great classic movies & shorts from
the great Grand Masters of Comedy . Mr.Oliver Norvell Hardy and Mr. Stan Laurel (born Arthur Stanley Jefferson)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
What can I say! Being a Laurel & Hardy fan since I was in my teens (I am now 70), I have collected a lot of L&H movies and shorts over the years. This dvd really exceeded my expectations. Way out West is a classic L&H, and no matter how many times I watch it, I can't help laughing out loud all over again. The dance routine outside the saloon, and singing "Trail of the Lonesome Pine" shows how much diversity these 2 guys had, and the mule ending up on the balcony - pure vintage L&H. I was reluctant at first to buy this dvd, because I have often found that "digitally remastered" left a lot to be desired with movies as old as this, but this particular release is well worth owning, and the picture quality is excellent. The colourized version is also well done, but might not appeal to the "purists" among L&H fanatics. The two added shorts are also very good, my favourite being "Thicker Than Water", but "One Good Turn" also has some good moments. I highly recommend this dvd to anyone interested in Laurel & Hardy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
There is no questioning the brilliance of Way Out West and the two supporting shorts - featuring the always watchable Jimmy Finlayson - are pretty good as well.
But this release is a missed opportunity; I'm sure the DVD producers could have located some interviews, documentaries and even a commentary from a film historian for a proper Special Edition. Furthermore, absolutely no attempt has been made to clean up the picture quality so that this DVD is not much better than a good quality VHS recording. The colour version of the main feature dates from 1985 and this too now needs a digital "clean-up". In any case, I don't think the colour versions of Laurel and Hardy films have much more than curiosity value.
On the plus side, the sound quality is good and if you listen through a decent centre speaker (the sound is digital 1.0) there is plenty of bass while you enjoy the Oscar-nominated tunes of Way Out West. Also, this version of WOW is the original theatrical release with over 5 minutes of footage before L&H appear. It's funny too!
I was hoping to pick up some of the other DVDs (there are some very rare films included in the 20-disk release) but the picture quality and overall lack of initiative with this release has put me off. Laurel and Hardy had appeared on DVD before so if you are only interested in their most famous offerings, I recommend shopping around to pick up some of these (now presumably) cheaper options.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Laurel and Hardy at their very best!
The scenes where the Mule gets stuck on the balcony and Olly gets stuck in the cellar are priceless, not to mention that wonderful "Blue ridge mountains of Virginia" song. The shorts are brilliant too, a must have
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Way out west from 1937 is laureo0l and hardy most entertaining and best feature length movie the song the tral of the the lonesome pine is classic and this was the first film of theirs that i watched . My father being a big laurel and hardy fan told me to give this a watch and ever since i have being able to watch comedy , what i mean is that i dont like comedy films that come out today no offence but these two from the classic era give a feeling that they liked being comedians and way out west has so many funny routines like the deed chase , the mule throo the window , james finlayson in his best role , and the classic stan lighting his thumb up like a lighter is entertainimg no matter how many times you see it.The whole feature has the classic feel about it , the other two short movies on this are also good thickrr than water was their last short film and the ending is classic with some decent scenes in it and one good turn is from 1931 and is a joy to watch with stan getting his own back on ollie at the end its not brilliant but its good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
It was great to watch laurel and Hardy again, my dad (70yrs) , husband (30yrs)and son (17yrs) were in fits of laughter. The only downside was the colour versions were unnecessary and would of appreciated more black and white shorts instead of colour repeats. But the price was good and I will definately create a collection
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)