Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Laurel & Hardy Classic!
Laurel & Hardy are one of the greatest comedy Duos of all time, if not the best. Another Classic in Way out west is Brilliantly complimented with 2 great shorts, Thicker Than Water & One Good Turn. On top of that already great Setup you have the colour versions of the Originals, although these might not appeal to some, i found it rather good to see a colour version of...
Published on 12 May 2004

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but a disappointing presentation
There is no questioning the brilliance of Way Out West and the two supporting shorts - featuring the always watchable Jimmy Finlayson - are pretty good as well.
But this release is a missed opportunity; I'm sure the DVD producers could have located some interviews, documentaries and even a commentary from a film historian for a proper Special Edition. Furthermore,...
Published on 25 May 2004 by D. TOOTELL


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Laurel & Hardy Classic!, 12 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Laurel & Hardy are one of the greatest comedy Duos of all time, if not the best. Another Classic in Way out west is Brilliantly complimented with 2 great shorts, Thicker Than Water & One Good Turn. On top of that already great Setup you have the colour versions of the Originals, although these might not appeal to some, i found it rather good to see a colour version of these 3 classics. Great DVD. 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT AND FUNNY, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This is my fav L&H episode! WAY OUT WEST is just so funny, I have watched this many times and still makes me laugh! The colour version on the DVD is very good and I think Laurel and Hardy act out well in this and you can tell they are enjoying it too! The song and the dance they do in it is brilliant and my fav bit is the scene with the donkey, but I won't say nothing more incase there are new viewers and fans to Laurel and Hardy, but the whole DVD is brilliant and worth having just for way out west, but the extras on it are very good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Genius, 30 May 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This set of Laurel & Hardy DVD's are an essential purchase for film fans and this particular volume is one of the very best of the 20.

'Way Out West' is their most popular long film (about 65 mins). Its very very funny with a number of brilliant recurring gags: The water-hole that Ollie falls into, Stan using his thumb as a lighter, and the wonderful edible hat (well for Stan anyway). Then of course there are the two wonderful song and dance routines to cap it all. Of course James Finlayson is there as well to add his inimitable DOH!

Of the shorts 'Thicker than Water' is the stand-out for me. This is one of the best of all their shorts, and they made loads. Peerless comedy of which the best sequence is the washing up in the kitchen, closely followed by the "I gave it him to give to you" routine. Again Finlayson is here to add his character to the film. It has a lovely twisted ending where after a blood transfusion the two of them get confused (literally)!

Nobody will ever match their comic genius, and this DVD is as good a representation of it as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a classic, 17 Feb 2005
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Any fan of Laurel and Hardy will no doubt have their own favourites but to me this one is superb.Right from the opening scenes to the close you know that somethings gonna happen and the dou never fail to disapoint.
The plot involves our dou having the task of delivering a deed to a girl left to her by her dead father but..well just watch and you'll no doubt enjoy it like I did.
Also look out for the scene that gave Laurel and Hardy a number one hit with "Blue ridge mountains of virginia"
This film is a must own for all Laurel And Hardy fans and a great introduction to them for those experiencing them for the first time.
A CLASSIC....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] [1937], 12 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] [1937]
outstanding movie and great classic comedy on this dvd set you have
way out west (Black & white version
way out west (computer colour version
one good turn(Black & white version
one good turn(computer colour version
Thicker than water (Restored Black & white version
Thicker than water (computer colour version
Great classic movies & shorts from
the great Grand Masters of Comedy . Mr.Oliver Norvell Hardy and Mr. Stan Laurel (born Arthur Stanley Jefferson)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Out West is best, 7 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Laurel and Hardy at their very best!
The scenes where the Mule gets stuck on the balcony and Olly gets stuck in the cellar are priceless, not to mention that wonderful "Blue ridge mountains of Virginia" song. The shorts are brilliant too, a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but a disappointing presentation, 25 May 2004
By 
D. TOOTELL (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
There is no questioning the brilliance of Way Out West and the two supporting shorts - featuring the always watchable Jimmy Finlayson - are pretty good as well.
But this release is a missed opportunity; I'm sure the DVD producers could have located some interviews, documentaries and even a commentary from a film historian for a proper Special Edition. Furthermore, absolutely no attempt has been made to clean up the picture quality so that this DVD is not much better than a good quality VHS recording. The colour version of the main feature dates from 1985 and this too now needs a digital "clean-up". In any case, I don't think the colour versions of Laurel and Hardy films have much more than curiosity value.
On the plus side, the sound quality is good and if you listen through a decent centre speaker (the sound is digital 1.0) there is plenty of bass while you enjoy the Oscar-nominated tunes of Way Out West. Also, this version of WOW is the original theatrical release with over 5 minutes of footage before L&H appear. It's funny too!
I was hoping to pick up some of the other DVDs (there are some very rare films included in the 20-disk release) but the picture quality and overall lack of initiative with this release has put me off. Laurel and Hardy had appeared on DVD before so if you are only interested in their most famous offerings, I recommend shopping around to pick up some of these (now presumably) cheaper options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Laurel and Hardy, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. M. K. Onyett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
It was great to watch laurel and Hardy again, my dad (70yrs) , husband (30yrs)and son (17yrs) were in fits of laughter. The only downside was the colour versions were unnecessary and would of appreciated more black and white shorts instead of colour repeats. But the price was good and I will definately create a collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 1 Feb 2009
By 
R. M. SOPER (Harrow.Middlesex.UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Classic comedy gets as good as it gets with Laurel and Hardy,with a long list of films to their credit many of which are masterpieces in their own right,'Way Out West' stands out as one of the funniest and should be on
anyones 'must have' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time great, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This is still to me a classic, great laugh, my two grand daughters love it.
they watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Laurel & Hardy Volume 3 - Way Out West/Shorts [DVD]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews