Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer bliss - this box set deserves 50 stars!
As an American, I purchased a region-free DVD player for two specific purposes: to attain "The Comic Strip Presents Complete" and this set. Only a handful of Laurel & Hardy films are available on DVD stateside. Half of those are the cinematic abominations produced at MGM and 20th Century Fox in the '40s and the other half are poorly-transferred television edits of some...
Published on 25 Jan. 2007 by Captain Opinionated

versus
99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COLLECTION, MEDIOCRE QUALITY
PICTURE QUALITY

The good news is: this series has the best quality currently available on DVD. The bad news is: it's not that good. The first silent film, "Soup to Nuts" has so much digital distortion, the effect is like videos of 1950s TV shows, but worse. More distressing is sometimes extreme flare leaking in the left side of many films, and the right...
Published on 28 Mar. 2007 by frankebe


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer bliss - this box set deserves 50 stars!, 25 Jan. 2007
By 
Captain Opinionated (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As an American, I purchased a region-free DVD player for two specific purposes: to attain "The Comic Strip Presents Complete" and this set. Only a handful of Laurel & Hardy films are available on DVD stateside. Half of those are the cinematic abominations produced at MGM and 20th Century Fox in the '40s and the other half are poorly-transferred television edits of some of the films you'll find here. However, the movies HERE have been beautifully restored and are presented uncut. THIS is the collection you want/need. The films are silent and sound shorts produced at the Hal Roach Studios throughout the '20s and '30s and they are as hilarious today as they were then. There a few minor omissions (films in the public domain which are also available in decent versions on DVD - namely "The Devil's Brother" and "Bonnie Scotland"). If you love comedy, do yourself a favor and but this immediately. Universal did this up right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


357 of 362 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great package, 6 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
At last a DVD boxset available in the UK containing nearly all the Hal Roach classics from 1926-1940.
Packing is fantastic with silver lettering complementing the black and white drawings of L&H. Each disc has a 3-4 page leaflet with production notes and photos.
20 DVDs of classic shorts and feature films plus a bonus disc containing the rarely seen original 1930s version of Brats and the 1991 documentary.
The B&W versions are the newly restored prints, which are the same as the renowned German Kinowelt series. Also included are colour versions, which although derided by film buffs and L&H historians are not as bad as has been said. Sure the clarity is not as high on the colour versions but some are fine and are certainly not a waste of disc space as has been suggested.
For completists this set is missing the feature films Fra Viavolo, Bonnie Scotland and Flying Dueces and Babes in Toyland. But the 3 of these are I think owned by MGM and did not appear on the Kinowelt boxsets either. Whilst babes in Toyland is far from a L&H classic and is mostly one good scene with musical filler material. If you want to argue that the boxset is not complete then you might as well complain that it contains none of their 1941 -1 954 features.
As it is what you get here is all the material that's worth having in a great package with a documentary bonus disc and rare foreign language versions of Murder Case, Blotto, Laughing Gravy and more which because L&H performed these phonetically contain slightly different scenes from the English spoken ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best box set of anything EVER, 19 Aug. 2006
By 
Todd J. Lampe "herkamayah" (Studio City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The attention to detail, precision and quality has been given to this ultimate boxed set collection of L&H. If you are a fan, and do not have a multi-region DVD player, now is the time to invest in one. It's completely worth it just to see these discs. Finally, the ultimate collection exists of the most comprehensive collection of Laurel and Hardy's movies. Buy it now before it's too late. Sets like this don't stay on the market very long and you'll regret it if you don't pick it up now.

It's the best DVD investment I've ever made. The fact that they went and provided colorized versions of the movies (even though I am a purist and just can't watch those) in order to appeal to a wider audience is just one of the many bonuses in this collection. Don't hesitate - just cut back one one coffee drink a week and you can easily pay for it! Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the one and only comedy team., 26 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
the best comedy team in the world bar none, are given the 5 star treatment as far as their films are concerned.

each film that laurel and hardy made for hal roach between 1927 to 1940, has been digitally remastered with superior sound and picture.

also included are a few foreign versions of some of their sound films along with extra footage.

each film proves the extent of laurel and hardy's comedy genius; their unique timing, hardy's tie-twiddling and look at the camera, laurel's dumb expression and cry; that's all here and plenty more besides.

included is a feature-length tribute to their careers, that makes for interesting viewing.

anyone who's a fan of L and H or silent comedy in general, should not go without this particular d.v.d set as it is essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


257 of 264 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD box set ever, 19 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is the best collection of films ever to be released on DVD, and really deserves ten stars it is that good.
Being a life long fan I purchased both the original video series by Virgin video and the re-mastered Vision video's a few years later. While the re-mastered editions editions had excellent picture quality the VHS format did not really do them justice. The DVD transfer however makes most of the films look pristine, and it is hard to believe that some of these films are over seventy years old given their picture quality. The sound, particularly on the silents with their stero sound track played by the Dutch band 'Beau Hunks' is truly outstanding. Also the sound on the talkies has been cleaned up to give the best sound quality available.
Why is the set so good?. The simple reason is that with the exception of the features 'Bonnie Scotland', 'The Devils Brother' and 'Babes in Toyland', this box set contains all the Laurel and Hardy starring shorts/features produced by Hal Roach, and that means the very best of Laurel and Hardy. Laurel and Hardy only ever approached the same artistic quality they achieved on one feature away from Hal Roach 'The Flying Deuces'.
As well as the classic films the set has a number of special features such as foreign language and colourised editions. The foreign language editions are worth watching because they are often longer, featuring additional scenes, different casts and best of all Laurel and Hardy actually speaking French, German or Spanish. A lot has been written about the colourised versions, while it is not up to the quality seen in 'Babes in Toyland', it is not really that bad. The only really bad thing about them is that being made for American TV they have a number of annoying scene cuts. Having said that I do not feel that they are a waste of disc space, indeed I know a number of people who will not sit through a black and white film - this may be one way to introduce them to the magic of Laurel and Hardy.
The box set also features a bonus disc featuring a documentary and a number of non - Laurel and Hardy shorts. The best thing on this disc is the Charlie Chase short 'Fluttering Hearts'. Charlie Chase was Hal Roach's top comedian before he was eclipsed by Laurel and Hardy in the late 1920's and today is nearly forgotten, this is a real shame because Chase's films are highly entertaining, as you will see by watching this short. It can only be hoped that Universal's next box set will feature the films of Charlie Chase.
The only real disappointment in the set is the horrible picture quality on 'Along Came Auntie', a Hardy solo effort, much better quality material does exist for this short (see the film on the Stonevision series volume 3). I was also a bit disappointed that the original vitagraph sound tracks were not used on the silents 'Habeas Corpus', 'Angora Love' and 'Bacon Grabbers'. Although I loved the new music, it would have been closer to how the films were originally shown if the surviving disc's had been used.
This is a truly outstanding set and everybody seriously interested in screen comedy, Laurel and Hardy or classic films should not be with out it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny after 50-70 years !, 28 Aug. 2006
By 
Jon Bratgjerd (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quality-production with all the best films of Laurel and Hardy ! See for example the two nutcases in the Wild West "Way out West" - so funny a must see ! In this series you will see Laurel and Hardy as students, as children, as sailors, as campers (caravan-living), as policemen, as married men, as "sons of the desert", as vagabonds, as door-salesmen, as piano-movers, as girl-chamers, as in hospital and so on !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All films in chronological order with disc-reference, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
Ralf Bader (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As the real gems of this collection are not so very much the feature films but the two-reelers between 1928-1934, I have made a list of all films included in this collection with disc-reference (bracketed) and in order of the first release date:

Thundering Fleas (21) 04.07.1926
Along Came Auntie (9) 25.07.1926
45 Minutes from Hollywood (12) 26.12.1926
Duck Soup (12) 13.03.1927
Slipping Wives (10) 03.04.1927
Jewish Prudence (21) 08.05.1927
Love 'Em and Weep (8) 12.06.1927
Fluttering Hearts (21) 19.06.1927
Why Girls Love Sailors (16) 17.07.1927
With Love and Hisses (7) 28.08.1927
Sugar Daddies (8) 10.09.1927
Sailors Beware (16) 25.09.1927
The Second 100 Years (12) 08.10.1927
Call of the Cuckoo (12) 15.10.1927
Do Detectives Think? (20) 20.11.1927
Putting Pants on Philip (15) 03.12.1927
The Battle of the Century (19) 31.12.1927
Leave 'Em Laughing (2) 28.01.1928
Flying Elephants (17) 12.02.1928
The Finishing Touch (14) 25.02.1928
From Soup to Nuts (1) 24.03.1928
You're Darn Tootin' (11) 21.04.1928
Their Purple Moment (13) 19.05.1928
Should Married Men Go Home? (7) 08.09.1928
Early to Bed (8) 06.10.1928
Two Tars (16) 03.11.1928
Habeas Corpus (20) 01.12.1928
We Faw Down (13) 29.12.1928
Liberty (20) 26.01.1929
Wrong Again (20) 23.02.1929
That's My Wife (9) 23.03.1929
Big Business (12) 20.04.1929
Unaccustomed As We Are (7) 04.05.1929
Double Whoopee (14) 18.05.1929
Berth Marks (6) 01.06.1929
Men O'War (16) 29.06.1929
Perfect Day (2) 10.08.1929
They Go Boom! (2) 21.09.1929
Bacon Grabbers (20) 19.10.1929
The Hoose-Gow (19) 16.11.1929
Angora Love (20) 14.12.1929
Night Owls (12) 04.01.1930
Blotto (18) 08.02.1930
Brats (5/21) 22.03.1930
Below Zero (11) 26.04.1930
Hog Wild (14) 31.05.1930
The Laurel-Hardy Murder Case (6) 06.09.1930
Another Fine Mess (1) 29.11.1930
Be Big! (18) 07.02.1931
Chickens Come Home (8) 21.02.1931
Laughing Gravy (10) 04.04.1931
Our Wife (4) 16.05.1931
Come Clean (8) 19.09.1931
Pardon Us (19) 15.10.1931
One Good Turn (3) 31.10.1931
Beau Hunks (4) 12.12.1931
On the Loose (9) 26.12.1931
Helpmates (4) 23.01.1932
Any Old Port! (16) 05.03.1932
The Music Box (14) 16.04.1932
The Chimp (17) 21.05.1932
County Hospital (2) 25.06.1932
Scram! (12) 10.09.1932
Pack Up Your Troubles (15) 17.09.1932
Their First Mistake (15) 05.11.1932
Towed in a Hole (16) 31.12.1932
Twice Two (5) 25.02.1933
Me and My Pal (4) 22.04.1933
The Midnight Patrol (20) 03.08.1933
Busy Bodies (14) 07.10.1933
Dirty Work (14) 25.11.1933
Sons of the Desert (13) 29.12.1933
Oliver the Eighth (6) 13.01.1934
Going Bye-Bye! (20) 23.06.1934
Them Thar Hills (2) 21.07.1934
The Live Ghost (16) 08.12.1934
Tit for Tat (2) 05.01.1935
The Fixer Uppers (10) 09.02.1935
Thicker Than Water (3) 16.03.1935
The Bohemian Girl (9) 14.02.1936
On the Wrong Trek (13) 18.04.1936
Our Relations (5) 30.10.1936
Way Out West (3) 16.04.1937
Swiss Miss (17) 20.05.1938
Block-Heads (7) 19.08.1938
A Chump at Oxford (1) 25.01.1940
Saps at Sea (11) 29.04.1940

(if there's a mistake in the list please let me know)

Not included in my list are:
- Hats off (only stills)
- documentary
- all the spanish and french versions which are quite interesting, since they often vary strongly from the original version, but unfortunately they are not subtitled.

Picture and sound are good. Packing is very good (slimcase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 148 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning to L&H Collectors, 9 Jan. 2008
By 
M. Whitehead (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Just be aware that this is the 'new' version of the boxset. You dont get any of the booklets inside the boxes and the boxes are a cheap black plastic instead of white.

The RRP on this new cheaper set is 99.99 NOT 199.99 as stated on here.

You still get all the films of course but you dont get the info booklets.

Still a bargain if your not bothered about the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Things I Ever Bought For Myself!, 23 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I really discovered Laurel & Hardy for the first time about 15 years ago on televison. I had already heard of them before that but I had always harbored some kind of "immature prejudice" that I wouldn't like them. They were from so far back early in the century, I guess I thought no one was funny from a time so long ago. I was wrong though. They are genuinely funny personalities and the give and take chemistry between the two is perfect.

I live in the United States but simply could never find enough of their material on DVD -- still can't, really.

It was quite by accident that I found a humor forum on the internet and read someone's post about this collection he bought via Amazon in the UK and how all you need is a dvd player that is capable of playing region 2 dvds.

So, I came here, found the collection, purchased it gratefully and now I am able to watch this prodigious treasure trove of certainly most (if not all) of L&H's materials.

I feel it worth mentioning that the box itself is of a sturdy and superior design -- perfect for storing all those dvds!

Every few weeks I will pull the box out of my closet and watch the whole collection from first disk to last; then the next time I watch it, I do it in reverse, starting with the last disk first. There is so much material in the collection that it is always a fresh enjoyable viewing experience.

I am very happy.

This is undoubtedly one of the single best purchases in my somewhat long life.

I recommend this collection to anyone anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurel and Hardy (almost) complete set, 22 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic set! Quite a few videos are offered in both colour and black and white (B/W) versions. Allthough I prefer the black and white videos because the details are more bold than in the colour versions, the colour versions are enjoyable too. There are quite a few silent flicks too. It is just amazing how Laurel and Hardy can make you laugh even without uttering a vocal word. The collection is only shy a little over two dozen of the boy's complete career collection. As you can tell from some of the titles, some flicks are in Spanish, French and Deutsch. But do not worry, the English versions are also included.

Just a note for the state side fans; you will need a DVD player that plays PAL format region 2 that outputs to American standard TVs of 525 lines per inch.

The price of the set at the time of my purchase was reasonable. The included movies are:

A Chump At Oxford B/W
A Chump At Oxford Colour
Along Came Auntie B/W
Angora Love B/W
Another Fine Mess B/W
Another Fine Mess Colour
Any Old Port! B/W
Bacon Grabbers B/W
Battle of the Century, The B/W
Be Big B/W
Be Big Colour
Beau Hunks B/W
Beau Hunks Colour
Below Zero B/W
Below Zero Colour
Berth Marks B/W
Berth Marks Colour
Big business B/W
Blotto B/W
Blotto Colour
Bock-Heads B/W
Bock-Heads Colour
Bohemian Girl, The B/W
Bohemian Girl, The Colour
Brats B/W
Brats Colour
Brats (origional) B/W
Busy Bodies B/W
Busy Bodies Colour
Call Of the Cuckoo B/W
Chickens Come Home B/W
Chickens Come Home Colour
Chimp, The B/W
Chimp, The Colour
Come Clean B/W
County Hospital B/W
County Hospital Colour
Dirty Work B/W
Dirty Work Colour
Do Detectives Think? B/W
Double Whoopee B/W
Duck Soup B/W
Early To Bed B/W
Finishing Touch, The B/W
Fixer-Uppers, The B/W
Fixer-Uppers, The Colour
Fluttering Hearts Colour
Flying Elephants B/W
forty-five Minutes from Hollywood B/W
From Soup To Nuts B/W
Going Bye-Bye! B/W
Going Bye-Bye! Colour
Habeas Corpus B/W
Hats Off B/W
Helpmates B/W
Helpmates Colour
Hinter Schloss und Riegel B/W
Hog Wild B/W
Hog Wild Colour
Hoose-Gow, The B/W
Hoose-Gow, The Colour
La Vida Nocturna B/W
Ladrones B/W
Laughing Gravy B/W
Laughing Gravy B/W
Laughing Gravy Colour
Laurel & Hardy - A Tribute To the Boys Colour
Laurel-Hardy Murder Case, The B/W
Laurel-Hardy Murder Case, The Colour
Leave `Em Laughing B/W
Les Carottiers B/W
Liberty B/W
Live Ghost, The B/W
Los Calaveras B/W
Love `Em and Weep B/W
Me and My Pal B/W
Me and My Pal Colour
Men O' War B/W
Men O' War Colour
Midnight Patrol, The B/W
Midnight Patrol, The Colour
Music Box, The B/W
Music Box, The Colour
Night Owls B/W
Night Owls Colour
Noche e Duendes B/W
Oliver the Eighth B/W
Oliver the Eighth Colour
On the Loose B/W
On the Wrong Trek B/W
One Good Turn B/W
One Good Turn Colour
Our Relations B/W
Our Relations Colour
Our Wife B/W
Our Wife Colour
Pack Up Your Troubles B/W
Pack Up Your Troubles Colour
Pardon Us B/W
Pardon Us Colour
Perfect Day B/W
Perfect Day Colour
Politiquerias B/W
Prudence B/W
Putting Pants on Philip B/W
Sailors, Beware! B/W
Saps At Sea B/W
Saps At Sea Colour
Scram! B/W
Scram! Colour
Second Hundred Years, The B/W
Should Married Men Go Home? B/W
Slipping Wives B/W
Sons of the Desert B/W
Sons of the Desert Colour
Sugar Daddies B/W
Swiss Miss B/W
Swiss Miss Colour
That's My Wife B/W
Their First Mistake B/W
Their First Mistake Colour
Their Purple Moment B/W
Them Thar Hills B/W
Them Thar Hills Colour
They Go Boom! B/W
Thicker Than Water B/W
Thicker Than Water Colour
Thundering Fleas B/W
Tiembla Y Titubea B/W
Tit For Tat B/W
Tit For Tat Colour
Title Mediam
Towed In A Hole B/W
Towed In A Hole Colour
Twice Two B/W
Twice Two Colour
Two Tars B/W
Unaccustomed As We Are B/W
Unaccustomed As We Are Colour
Way Out West B/W
Way Out West Colour
We Faw Down B/W
Why Girls Love Sailors B/W
With Love and Hisses B/W
Wrong Again B/W
You're Darn Tootin' B/W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laurel & Hardy - The Collection (21-disc Box Set) [DVD]
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews