Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy
Even at their worst they were still funnier than most. This DVD is a fine mix of their silent stuff and talkies. Somehow L & H were blessed to be brilliant comedians with or without sound. All eight shorts are around the 20 minute mark (two reelers).

Habeas Corpus is a late 1928 silent, which contains some great moments. Mainly set in a graveyard with a...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by S J Buck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Noslalgia
Like most of my generation [born in 1930] and also those 10 years before that , Laurel and Hardy in our early years were the best, however as time and we move on to maybe different comedy duos take the screen and stage , so our taste for humor changes , still they were the best in their day, 3 star is fine by me . Andy
Published 12 months ago by A. Russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy, 29 Oct 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Even at their worst they were still funnier than most. This DVD is a fine mix of their silent stuff and talkies. Somehow L & H were blessed to be brilliant comedians with or without sound. All eight shorts are around the 20 minute mark (two reelers).

Habeas Corpus is a late 1928 silent, which contains some great moments. Mainly set in a graveyard with a detective on their trail, there are quite a few laugh out loud moments. The best of the bunch is The Midnight Patrol. This is a classic from 1933. L & H are newly recruited Police officers, who are naturally quite incompentent. Oliver gets the worst of it as usual and gets to give his classic look to the camera many times.
Suffice to say that when they do eventually apprehend the burglar hes not quite what they expect. All these are well worth watching and only time prevents me from reviewing them all in detail.

This whole series is worth obtaining before it goes out of print. There is also a boxed set with a bonus 21st disc. It wasn't long ago that you could buy these brand new very cheaply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic laurel and hardy!, 1 July 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
my favourite comedy team of all time, laurel and hardy, demonstrate their timeless comedy once again in this collection of shorts, which are both silent and sound.
i enjoyed "the midnight patrol," even the rather grim ending! the fact that you see the boys employed as policemen is a joke in itself, as who in their right minds would employ these two for anything??
the scenes where they mistake the police chief for a burglar, are the funniest and i was laughing myself silly!
"haebus corpus" is a slightly more bizarre kind of two reeler, as L and H experience some rather hair-raising goings on at a graveyard. what i like about the comedy duo, is the way in which they used their bodies for comedy: their body language, the way they took pratfalls, it's an amazing thing to see and this film is a typical example of this.
for the rest of the shorts on here, i thought "going bye bye" was effective. released in 1934, i see that as the year in which they made their last decent short films. the supporting cast of walter long and mae busch is brilliant!
i was pleased that all of laurel and hardy's films for hal roach were finally remastered for dvd, they look and sound fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Beat Laurel & Hardy., 17 Nov 2013
By 
D. P. Cooke "Cookie" (Hull, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
So hard to find comedy that is consistently funny across the board. That is, until you watch Laurel & Hardy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Noslalgia, 14 Oct 2013
By 
A. Russell "elderly guy" (wishaw scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Like most of my generation [born in 1930] and also those 10 years before that , Laurel and Hardy in our early years were the best, however as time and we move on to maybe different comedy duos take the screen and stage , so our taste for humor changes , still they were the best in their day, 3 star is fine by me . Andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh along 30s style, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
You can't get much for a £5 these days but back in the 30's you could laugh for hours. L&H were the best back then and they are still good today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Dad loved them great service and what I ordered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 20 - More Brushes With The Law/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
laural and hardy are two old fuuny men from the 60s and 70s lots of one liners delivery and price were good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews