Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Mood for a Good old Giggle?
The DVD features several of the best Laurel and Hardy short films as they try (and fail) in doing various jobs. "Busy Bodies" shows us the pair working at a sawmill, "Double Whoopee" has Stan and Ollie working at a plush Broadway hotel and thats when the Prince arrives... In "Hog Wild" Mrs Hardy insists that Mr Hardy must put up a rooftop aerial so she can listen to the...
Published on 2 Jun 2004 by calvin1330

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but didn't need duplication
This DVD has each film duplicated by a computer coloured version: I have no interest in those versions. The price was very good however so never mind eh?
Published 12 months ago by Mr. Neil Ives


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

155 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Mood for a Good old Giggle?, 2 Jun 2004
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD features several of the best Laurel and Hardy short films as they try (and fail) in doing various jobs. "Busy Bodies" shows us the pair working at a sawmill, "Double Whoopee" has Stan and Ollie working at a plush Broadway hotel and thats when the Prince arrives... In "Hog Wild" Mrs Hardy insists that Mr Hardy must put up a rooftop aerial so she can listen to the radio, Mr Laurel does his bst to help (granted the plot is dated but amusing all the same). "Dirty Work" is one of my favorites as the duo show up at the house of a mad scientist offering to sweep his chimney before getting wrapped up in his experiments. "The Finishing Touch" has Laurel and Hardy in the building trade and "Hats off" shows us stills of an extinct classic which inspired the best short on the DVD "The Music Box". In which the pair have to deliver a piano up a never-ending flight of stairs, their task isn't helped by passers by including a policeman, a young woman and a big headed Professor. After afew up hill and down hill trips the due reach the top only to be told that they could have taken the road! "Double Whoopee" and "The Finishing Touch" are both silent with a music score, but it doesn't make them any less entertaining. The others are all available to watch in restored black and white and in a computer-colour version!!
All in all these classics are delightful. To me they're better than many modern day comedies, even the menue screen is amusing to watch!! If your in the mood for good old giggle don't hesitate to buy these much loved classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have nothing to say, 28 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
If you were to buy only one volume of this series (though they've tried to spread the goodies as thinly as possible) this might well be it. It features three fine films in `Dirty Work' (chimney sweeps), `Busy Bodies' (sawmill) and `Hog Wild' (radio aerial); whilst many consider `The Music Box' the best thing they ever did. These all have the simplicity and concentration of L&H at their best; bewilderingly, inexplicably (to them, I mean) the mayhem escalates until at last the whole house falls down. Or whatever. The two silent shorts aren't quite in the same class, but they're good enough fun.

The restored prints look great, but an irritating feature of these DVD re-issues is that you can't run them continuously - partly because the running time is bulked out with superfluous colourised versions. This means every twenty minutes you have to fiddle about with the menus.

The genius of Stan and Ollie can't be pinned down to any one, or even half-dozen films, but if this disc included `Towed in a Hole' it would come close (yes, that's the fishing boat one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurel & Hardy - The Search is over !!, 9 Nov 2006
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Ah, here is the U.S. we can't get really great copies of "The Boys", like you have here in the U.K.. I concur with the Reviewer who said: "If you could own only one copy of Laurel & Hardy, this would be it".

Let me tell you that this has been a lifetime search for me, and probably for many in the U.S. Our copies of Laurel & Hardy movies are terrible. I have copies made from 16mm films, copies made from schlock houses, and regular copies sold from Amazon.com (it's not Amazon's fault) in the U.S, and they're all terrible.

This DVD is a stellar transfer and restoration. I thought I might not like to see "The Boys" in color, but I have to tell you that I still enjoyed the movies.

Anyways, "Thanks Amazon.com/UK", I'll be buying my movies here. Oh yes, I do own a PAL VCR and a PAL DVD player - that's the expense I'm willing to incur to see Great Movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Nov 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This Laurel and Hardy DVD has got one of the funniest Laurel and Hardy episodes called The Music Box. In the Music Box Stan and Ollie take a piano up some stairs to a house and something always distracts them and the piano falls down the steps. The other shorts are also very good.

Classic Shorts on Laurel and Hardy Volume 14:

1. Busy Bodies
2. Double Whoopee
3. Hog Wild
4. Dirty Work
5.The Finishing Touch
6. The Music Box
7. Hats Off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 29 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun. Bought it for my son's 7th birthday party. It was a great hit with the children, as none have seen it before. All 17 children (6-7 years old) really enjoyed it and found it hilarious. They watched The Piano and The Saw Mill and could not stop laughing and talking about it. My two year old daughter loves The Piano and keeps asking about it. It was fabulous entertainment and a great addition to our Black and White theme party. Good quality DVD, fast shipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless comedy, 18 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
Raising a laugh and a smile without swearing or smut. Not that I'm against that in the right context. My comedy collection emcompasses Billy C, Chubby B, Bill Hicks, Jethro, Brand (both sexes), Carry On, two Eddie's, Rik and Ade, Lloyd, Rock, Python, Goodies, Marx Bros, J Dee and both Carrs to name a few. What I'm trying to say is, it's simple (but oh so clever) mainly visual comedy that's a joy to watch. Keep it in the black and white format, the colour enhnacement is clever but not how it was meant to be viewed. Basically, enjoy it for what it is, genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurel & Hardy at their very best, 11 Aug 2009
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
These shorts are real classics, and contain some of the best Laurel & Hardy sequences of all time. The Music Box, in particular, is perfectly suited to the antics of Stan and Ollie and this short film shows off their talents particularly well. But in addition to great comedy which in my view has never been equalled, these short films provide a fascinating glimpse back into a time which now seems long ago, when pleasures were simpler and the world was a less complex place. Altogether a charming, delightfully funny series of shorts by the greatest comedians of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one!!, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite possibly the best 3 you will ever spend. 'The Music Box' is peerlessly brilliant and endlessly re-watchable, and on its own is worth ten times the price of the DVD. But there's more! 'Hog Wild' is a hoot, 'Busy Bodies' likewise, and 'Dirty Work' is perfect if you want to torture your OCD partner. 'The Finishing Touch' and 'Double Whoopee' complete a bumper package of wall-to-wall laughs. Having the option of the colour versions is a fantastic bonus on this DVD: purists will always prefer the black and white originals, but the colour has been well executed and actually brings a fresh new dimension to these timeless classics.

If you don't know Laurel and Hardy, this is the perfect place to start. If you're already a fan.. why don't you already have this?? Either way, you can order this DVD with complete confidence. It's 100% comedy genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A JOB TO DO, 18 Oct 2004
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
a most underated classic, the re-coloured versions are exellent.
second only to the fishing boat short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Music Box and other jobs for Laurel and Hardy!, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD] (DVD)
This is good collection of `Laurel and Hardy' shorts that contains some of the funniest episodes they've ever done and they have a theme of Stan and Ollie doing a job. `The Music Box' is my favourite as well as few others. You'll find this DVD will not disappoint and never make you stop laughing.

`BUSY BODIES'

There are two versions of this film. The original black-and-white and a colour version.

This is a pretty good short film where Stan and Ollie are working in a sawmill. I love how the episode opens where Stan and Ollie are on their way to work in the car and enjoying the sunshine in the morning. They play some music in the car on a LP record player in the engine which was really funny. Stan and Ollie find the whole world bright. Even Ollie finds Stan bright in the morning, which puzzles Stan slightly.

I like when they arrive at the saw mill and play a joke on one of their workmates (Charlie Hall) with the car horn. Charlie Hall don't take the joke and finds Stan and Ollie rather annoying. When Stan and Ollie accidentally fall on top of him with a jammed wooden window, Charlie gets mad and punches Stan and Ollie in the face. Stan pays back on Charlie by getting him to smoke a cigar which is forbidden since no smoking's allowed. Charlie gets thrown out by big Tiny and accuses Stan and Ollie for `double-crossing a pal' to which Stan and Ollie aren't bother which I found funny.

I enjoyed it when Ollie's trying to get a window to slide open and shut and receives help from Stan who jams his fingers in it. "Would you mind opening the window?!" asks Ollie to Stan. Stan does, but opens the actual window and not the one Ollie's fingers are jammed in. "Not that one?! This one! I can't get my hands out!" Then ensues a funny sequence where Stan tries to get Ollie out of his jammed window but can't. He tries everything. Even looking at a blueprint doesn't work, which is the wrong blueprint since it's one for a dam and it gets Ollie fuming which makes me laugh seeing it.

Eventually Ollie gets free from his window and is able to continue his work. But he's sawed upon by Stan on the bum of his trousers, which is very funny. Stan does his best to fix the bit where he scraped Ollie's trousers off, but gets a wack on the head from Ollie with the face of his saw which must have been painful. Stan gets his own back by throwing a sticky paintbrush onto Ollie's chin, which sends hurling back into the wall and collapsing to the floor which is hilarious.

Stan does everything he can to remove the paintbrush off Ollie's chin which doesn't work. He even gives Ollie a barber's job with a hose pipe, some soap and a really sharp razor. Ollie gets the paintbrush off his chin, but is soon sent through the chute where all the wood is shredded and Stan has to rescue him out from the other end.

This is really good Laurel and Hardy short with plenty of laughs. I have fond memories watching this when I was young and it still manages to entertain even today.

`DOUBLE WHOOPEE'

This is a silent short film in black and white.

'Double Whoopee' is a really funny silent film were Stan and Ollie go to work as bellboys at a posh Broadway hotel. They do their best to be really good as bellboys, but they just muck it every time when guests leave the hotel or when they have to escort a lady guest who loses her clothing on entering. Ollie gets on a taxi driver's (Charlie Hall) nerves when blowing his bell - `It blew!' and picks on Stan for stealing his money only to be told off by Tiny the policeman who walks by patrolling the hotel.

Also a certain Prince and Prime Minister visit the hotel. They end up falling down the bottom of the lift shaft and get themselves dirty and filthy when Stan and Ollie use the lift. Those moments have me laughing every time I see it.

`DIRTY WORK'

Another classic of an episode from Laurel Hardy, that also has two versions - black-and-white and colour.

'Dirty Work' has Laurel and Hardy as chimney sweepers where they do a job at the house of one Professor Noodle, an eccentric scientist. I enjoyed it when Stan and Ollie set everything up in the living room, which ends up in damaging the clock and Ollie wants to stay far away from Stan as possible. They have to go on the roof in order to get the job done, which doesn't bode well as Stan keeps sticking the sweep up in Ollie's face or eye and eventually ends up Ollie falling through the chimney and ending up in the fire place where lots of bricks fall on top of his head.

There a lot of moments I found funny when seeing Stan and Ollie in this. I found it hilarious when Stan and Ollie get covered in soot going up and down the chimney. Also when Ollie gets fed up with Stan and says that classic line `I have nothing to say!' Ollie falls into the greenhouse from the roof when Stan opens the trap door to meet him. I laugh when Ollie screams with terror when he falls over. I found it painful when Stan gets smacked on the head by Ollie with spade when they're trying to clean the room after falling through the chimney. That's got to hurt.

Stan and Ollie are led into the house by a butler named Jessop. Jessop is a dreary old soul who works for his master, the Professor. He tends to be sarcastic when guiding Stan and Ollie on where everything is. He's not too impressed with the Professor's work and gets covered up in dust and soot when Ollie falls through the chimney. He's in a real mess as Stan and Ollie are. "Somewhere...an electric chair is waiting" is all he can say bitterly. Stan and Ollie don't get what's saying. He goes off to get himself washed and have a bath, whilst everybody else is downstairs.

I found the Professor extremely funny in this episode. He's been working on his scientific solution for nearly two years. He's now finally reached his breakthrough. He intends to rejuvenate human life as we know it. He tries it out on a duck which turns into a duckling when adding his own solution. He's estastic and overjoyed when his solution actually works. He shows it to Stan and Ollie in their grubby state when demonstrating how he changes a duckling into an egg with his solution. He's crazy and laughs a lot when showing his demonstrations. `With human beings, I can make them young as I want!' Stan and Ollie aren't too impressed either with the Professor's experiment, thinking the whole thing sounds `screwy'.

Stan and Ollie try this new solution of the Professor's for themselves by turning a trout-like fish to make it younger. But Stan bumps into Ollie's bum and Ollie falls into the bath filled with water with the solution in it. A huge bubble bath takes place with Ollie howling and groaning inside. Stan doesn't seem too worried as he stands around the bath looking dumb and bemused. Eventually Ollie pops back up as a chimpanzee, which is weird. Stan tries to get Ollie to talk to him, but Ollie won't speak. `Don't you know me? Won't you speak to me?' asks Stanley. "I have nothing to say!" replies Ollie. Stan bursts into tears. Poor Stanley.

`THE FINISHING TOUCH'

Another short silent film in blacn-and-white where Stan and Ollie are in the building trade.

I enjoyed this episode very much as Stan and Ollie try to build a house for someone without disturbing a hospital nearby. I love it where Stan and Ollie bicker with each other and kick each other in the bots or throw planks of wood in irritation. They get watched by a police officer (played by Edgar Kennedy) who tells to keep quiet and not make much noise. I found it very when they did the sound effects for Stan and Ollie sushing. Kennedy gets a rough time in this episode as he gets planks of wood covered in gluey stuff landing on him from above. The screeching music in the background makes it more funnier.

Eventually Stan and Ollie finish the work of the house and get their reward money from the man paying them. But a bird lands on a chimney and the whole house collapses. The man asks for his money back to which Stan and Ollie refuse. There then ensues a game of catch and piggy-in-the-middle with the man's money between Stan, Ollie and the man. Soon they start throwing rocks at each other, ending up with Stan and Ollie's own truck crashing into the back of the house that's hilarious.

`THE MUSIC BOX'

This is my favourite Laurel and Hardy episode from the entire series. 'The Music Box' is a brilliant comedy episode and is funny non-stop from start to finish. This also has two versions - black-and-white and colour

Stan and Ollie are delivery men in this episode and they have to deliver a piano to somebody's house up a huge flight of steps. 1127 Walnut Avenue to be precise. The house `right on top of the stoop'. Stan and Ollie have a hard job trying to get the piano up to the top of the flight of the steps, overcoming obstacles such as a woman with a baby, a berating police officer down below and a ratty old professor who think's highly of himself and gets over-excited and over-the-top at times.

Guest starring in this episode is Billy Gilbert playing the Professor who meets Stan and Ollie on the stairs with the piano. He asks them to move out of the way. But Ollie suggests, `Why don't you walk around?!' I found it very funny when the Professor is appalled by the suggestion. "What, walk around?! Me Professor Theodore von Schwartzenhoffen, M.D., A.D., D.D.S., F.L.D., F-F-F-and-F !!!!....should walk around?!!!" Ollie should have some point replied flatly "Yes.", before the Professor goes frantic. "Get this thing out of my way?! Out of the way! Out of the way!" Stan knocks the hat off the Professor's hat and ends up down the stairs at the bottom of the road where it gets run over. The Professor's not happy about this and is determined to have Stan and Ollie thrown in jail. But they carry on with their job, with Ollie `heaving' and Stan `ho-ing' carrying the piano up the stairs.

I found it funny when Stan and Ollie reach the top and are told by Mr. Postman (Charlie Hall) that they didn't have to carry the piano all the way up the stairs. They could have ridden in their horse and carriage on the road up the hill instead. Stan and Ollie are abashed. Why didn't they think of that before?! So what do they do?! They go back down the stairs and start all over again with their horse Susie and carriage. That's funny and stupid of them! There's no need to go back down! They're up already! I've used that joke for one of my personal stories with two certain characters like Laurel and Hardy (or more like the Chuckle Brothers).

I enjoyed it when Stan and Ollie try to get the piano into the house when there's nobody house. I laughed when Ollie for no reason walks into and falls onto the piano which is so unexpected. I also laughed when Stan brings in a ladder and pokes Ollie in the eye with it which is also unexpected. Ollie could have broken one of his teeth from that. Eventually Ollie manages to get in through the front despite Stan having already gone up through the window. I found it funny when Stan whistles to Ollie to tell him somebody's home since he could hear them coming up the stairs. Ollie gets annoyed. "You heard them coming up the stairs. Why stupid, that was me!"

Eventually Ollie throws his hat to Stan in anger to which Stan throws back, but Ollie gets the wrong hat since he's wearing Stan's hat and Stan wearing Ollie's. I laughed when Stan and Ollie kept mixing up with each other's hats and getting annoyed where Stan's hat too small for Ollie and Ollie's hat's too big for Stanley.

I laughed out loud when Ollie and Stan are carrying the music downstairs, and Ollie ends back outside again with piano falling into the fountain outside. I had the feeling Stan was going to ask Ollie, `Hey?! What did you go down for?!' before Ollie threw his hat at him anger in order for them to mistake swapping their hats again.

Towards the end, the Professor returns to his house to find it a mess caused by those 'two blundering idiots!' and he bellows "What is the meaning of this?!" They tell they delivered his piano and he gets into a furious rage. He soon goes way over the top telling Stan and Ollie to take his piano out before smashing it up with an axe. It's a crazy sequence and brilliantly played out by Billy Gilbert.

I love it when Stan and Ollie dance to the music when cleaning the house up with piano playing in the background. I also found it funny when the Professor became apologetic and went "What can I do to show you how sorry I am?!" `Just sign here,' says Ollie. Stan gives the Professor the pen, which squirts all over his face. The Professor goes into a rage saying "WHY YOU?!!!" and Stan and Ollie run out of the house.

`HOG WILD'

This episode also contains two versions in black-and-white and colour.

Another funny episode, 'Hog Wild' concerns the efforts of Stan and Ollie to fit a rooftop aerial. I love how the episode begins with Ollie demanding `Where is my hat?!' to his wife, not realising he's actually wearing it. I also enjoyed the scenes where Stan and Ollie are on the rooftop together, and Ollie always ends up in the pond outside their house annoyed by Stan's question `What did you go down for?!' I also found it funny when Ollie's on the ladder and Stanley's driving the car by accident.

Ollie's wife is a pretty fierce woman in this. She doesn't help with telling Ollie he's got his hat on his head and is pretty mean when she forces him to sort out the radio, since she's fed up with Ollie being `too indisposed to put up an aerial'. Like many of Ollie's wives in films, she hits something on the head to hurt him with. She doesn't seem swayed or bothered by the fact that Stan and Ollie are causing a mess or ruining the chimney when it collapses. She also doesn't seem concerned for Ollie's well-being as she's upset by the fact the radio has been taken away towards the end.

I found it funny when Ollie's wife suggested he'd leave the aerial at some point since he's making a mess of it and getting nowhere. But Ollie becomes stubborn. "I shall say not! I'll get that aerial working if it's the last thing I do!" He gets pretty mean to Stanley at some point due to stress when saying "Now listen! If you don't be careful...I'm going to break your neck!" Hardy's not having a good day.

Also funny was when Stan tries to get the car going but can't with Ollie and Ollie's wife with him, and a tram crashes into the back. It scrunches the car up pretty bad, but Stan is still able to get the car working and they're off back home.

`HATS OFF - STILL GALLERY'

This is a special feature of an episode now lost from the `Laurel and Hardy' series. It contains a number of photos and stills of what might have been in the actual episode. Such a shame really and a surprise that there happens to be one short film missing from `Laurel and Hardy'. But it's an interesting item on DVD for `Laurel and Hardy' fans.

A fantastic DVD collection and contains one of the best episodes from the `Laurel and Hardy' series - `The Music Box' which is certainly a favourite of mine. You're bound to enjoy this and will make you laugh your head off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7669db0)

This product

Laurel & Hardy Volume 14 - A Job To Do/Classic Shorts [DVD]
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews