Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Hammond....plays the Blues
I love JL for his Classical & Blues influences to his Hammond playing, particularly in Rock music. AKA DP mark 2. I think he is His Hammondness. His solo work is wonderful, but lately it has moved more towards Classical. This is JL with a good Blues band, set up by Bob Daisley (Rainbow/Ozzy/Gary Moore...) no less, and his Hammond. Wow. I dare you to keep your feet from...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by Emmanuel G. Kroussaniotakis

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is not an EMI cd
do not expect receive a cd from EMI as stated on the web product.
Something is wrong and the cd I received is not an EMI disc.
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by JL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Hammond....plays the Blues, 1 Oct 2009
I love JL for his Classical & Blues influences to his Hammond playing, particularly in Rock music. AKA DP mark 2. I think he is His Hammondness. His solo work is wonderful, but lately it has moved more towards Classical. This is JL with a good Blues band, set up by Bob Daisley (Rainbow/Ozzy/Gary Moore...) no less, and his Hammond. Wow. I dare you to keep your feet from tapping (Gotta Find Me Some Fire), and just hear Ian Gillan singing on Over and Over. Some organ work shows the Hammond magic he can create. The DVD is worth it on its own as you get to hear JL talk between some tracks and look out for the Hammond solo on Green Onions. There is also When a Blindman Cries with Jimmy Barnes on vocals.

He may have left DP, but he ain't left the Hammond....

Let's hope he also wants to do a Blues/Rock with Classical undertones recording, using some great (not just very good musicians). I can even see The Man In Black, now that he has gone mostly acoustic, being part of it. Perhaps have many guests, like IG's solo albums?

Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues boom music..., 5 Nov 2011
By 
Ronald Saunders (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These guys are brilliant. Who would think that the blues would travel all the way to Oz.If you like this genre of music this is a prime example of how it should be played.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Basement (Audio CD)
so sad jon's no longer with us, very sadly missed superb!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely storming blues, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Roy WD (ROCHESTER,KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Basement (Audio CD)
Can't recommend this highly enough. Basically an album of musicians at the top of their game simply jamming through any number of blues songs with the incomparable, and irreplacable, Jon Lord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute to Jon, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Basement (Audio CD)
Although always associated with Deep Purple with whom we are all familiar I was pleased to discover this wonderful laid back concert which portrays Jon Lord's humour and chilled out approach to music. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy Jon Lord, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Basement (Audio CD)
This had passed me by until I heard Green Onions on Paul Jones's R2 show and knew that I could buy the CD for that one track alone. Fortunately the whole album is great. It's clearly a bunch of guys laying down some serious blues. Live recording quality is top drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man is lord !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music in these days of hype, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest, Jon Lord was to me just another loud Hammond player. This DVD shows that, despite being in a trendy rock band for many years, Jon can actually PLAY. Great... Jon Lord R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is not an EMI cd, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Basement (Audio CD)
do not expect receive a cd from EMI as stated on the web product.
Something is wrong and the cd I received is not an EMI disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at the Basement
Live at the Basement by Jon Lord (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews