Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars54
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2003
Weezer's self titled 1994 debut was a refreshing change from the somewhat dull alternative rock of the time; this album was the closest you could get to the breezy, carefree attitude of punk rock without actually entering the punk rock ball park! Weezer proved that you didn't have to treat music as seriously as a heart attack to make an outstanding album, demonstrated by songs such as 'Surf Wax America' and 'No One Else'.
The entire "geek rock" image was quirky and marketable, and singer/songwriter Rivers Cuomo shamelessly used this angle throughout the album, singing about his own resemblance to Buddy Holly, using the destruction of his sweater as a metaphor for a dissintegrating relationship, surfing to work, and the somewhat pathetic but painfully real desire to have a girlfriend that doesn't laugh at anybody else's jokes. The album has it's darker moments, too, however. Perhaps the most serious song, "Say It Ain't So" (incidentally, perhaps the best song) is nothing short of breathtaking, and the epic "Only In Dreams" is hauntingly beautiful.
Combining influences from opposite areas of the musical spectrum (80s heavy metal and 60s Beatles/Beach Boys/bubblegum pop), "Weezer" is one of the greatest debut albums of all time. We've all heard "Buddy Holly", but there's so much more to "Weezer" the album, and Weezer the band than that.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
I've never had a weezer album before.
I've heard a few songs and always loved them.
But this and the pinkerton album where going for about 3 pounds!!!
So i lept at this, and thought i'd try them out... I did not look back!! :)
I love this album!!!
Catchy lyrics (which if you listen to them are sometimes great!!)
Big punchy overdrive power cords by the plenty!
Yet some sweet breakdowns and some fancy tingly noodles :)
Generally a cheerful sound.
Crank it up to 11 and you'll be singing into your hairbrush before you know it! :)
I used it for quite a while to wake and cheer me up in the morning. :)
Basically the long of the short is. Quality power pop! :)
Buy this album!!! :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2002
This is a debut album of momentous style and class. It is a real feel good album which is suitable for driving down the motorway on a midsummer's day. It's opening track - 'My name is Jonas' slows and quickens in a hypnotic fashion and really summarises the pop/rock style of Weezer. Fast paced 'No One Else' leads to a truly brilliant trio of 'The World has Turned and left me here', 'Buddy Holly' and 'Undone- The Sweater Song'. The first is easily written; sad track about passing of time and the end of a relationship which only Weezer could make sound happy. 'The Sweater Song' is a mid-paced anthem like track with the chorus sung in a hymn like fashion. However chirpy centrepiece 'Buddy Holly' leaves the best feeling. The high-pitched 'ohh-ohh' is so endearing as to make it impossible not to sing along. It's non-caring attitude coupled with the actually vanity of the tracks lyrics make it the most instantaneously catchy and brilliant song on this record. The album then goes through speedy feel good 'Surf Wax America' and the heartbreaking 'Say It Ain't So' but the real highlight of the last tracks is the 8 minute plus epic of 'Only in Dreams' documenting troubles and sanctity of dreams stretching Cuomo's excellent vocal range to its full potential.
This album is a real feel good, mile-a-minute trip and its electric guitar augmented rhythmic style make this LP one not to miss.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2002
"Weezer" is easily the best album I have ever bought. Originally, I had only ever heard "Buddy Holly", and sheerly bought the album to complete a "3 for £20" sale. However, when I returned home and played the album, I was absolutely amazed......
The album kicks off with "My Name Is Jonas", certainally not the best tune on the album but a great way to start things off, with a great acoustic intro before kicking into the (now) familiar "weezer-esque" riffs. Wonderfully immature and catchy, with its "the workers are going home" chorus, this song grabs your attention to the album straight away.
Every track on the album is a stormer (with the slight exception of "surf wax america", a little on the bland side), with "no one else" colliding a chirpy tune with some really quite dark lyrics, "the world has turned" with its brilliant lyrics and plinky acoustic riffs, "buddy holly", easily the most catchy song of all time, "undone", another immature and in some ways quite bizzare track, "say it aint so", a suprisingly laid back start to a tune which turns into an emotionally brilliant masterpiece, "in the garage", a song in which rivers sings about his own little hideaway, which im sure we all have, "holiday", a hugely optimistic and head-banging track, before the oh-so-perfect 8-minute stormer "only in dreams", which is perhaps the most beautiful and moving song i have ever heard.
Those willing to turn away from the sum 41s of the world and get an album which truely is "all killer" must do themselves a huge musical favour and buy this album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2004
Here is one of those special edition re-releases that is worth buying if your a fan and even if your not the sheer amount of catchy, angsty yet rocking tunes will keep you humming along for days after. The Blue album is one of the bands best - probably the best although if you want to bring the Pinkerton controversy up then you be hard pushed to choose between them. The rarities and b-sides on the second CD really let you into the origins of the band that otherwise might be obscured - unless you were lucky enough to find all the singles and rare compilations that spawned these songs, like me you will only have seen their names and wondered what they sound like. Obvious highlights are Mykel & Carli, Susanne and Jamie, but with the live and demo versions of several other songs the bonus material is all worth listening to, especially the material written buy Pat Wilson (drummer) who penned some of the tracks from the early years. With the little insert booklet telling of the bands history and the neat overall design of the deluxe edition this is a cool little extra to treat yourself too. Even if your not a fan this is one of the great albums from the first half of the 90's whilst nirvana still ruled the roost of angst - Weezer were doing it from the geeky sidelines, with more subtlety. Enjoy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2006
This is my favourite album all time; it alternates with Closer by Joy Division as my favourite. Frankly, Closer has more in common with Weezer's follow up album, Pinkerton, than it does with this one. But there is pain beneath the joy here.

'In The Garage' is a jaunty harmonica-led tune that belies its tales of isolation, Dungeons & Dragons and obessive guitar practice. 'No One Else' is boyfriend paranoia wrapped up in a sweet pop song, while 'Only In Dreams' is a mildly disturbing account of obsession. Musically, they're all magnificent, especially the latter, which reaches an orchestral crescendo of guitar harmonies that would make any of frontman Rivers Cuomo's guitar heroes proud.

Elsewhere, the (comparitively) more straightforward songs are just as good, or better. The career-defining 'Undone (The Sweater Song)', the breakthrough 'Buddy Holly' and the wonderfully plodding 'Say It Ain't So.'

This is an album with no fat on it. It's short, it's sharp, and it's over after ten songs with little consideration. Rivers Cuomo has been quoted as saying he'd rather have a really short album of all good material than have a long one where people skipped songs. He's done it with this album. He never bettered it, nor did he equal it, though he came close two years later.

A totally essential, masterpiece of geekery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
Ok here are my ratings of each song

My Name Is Jonas: 8/10 - Strong, fun opener

No One Else: 9.5/10 - One of my personal favourites. A catchy, funny and, let's be honest, a little pathetic song about wanting his girlfriend to only laugh at his jokes.

The World Has Turned And Left Me Here: 8.5/10 - Slightly less catchy than the previous two but one of the deeper songs on the album about being dumped.

Buddy Holly: 9.5/10 - Everyone knows this single with it's famous wee-oh chorus. Another favourite.

Undone (The Sweater Song): 7/10 - Possibly my lest favourite on this album but it's still a clever, slightly goofy song using the sweater as a metaphor for a relationship sung in hymn fashion.

Surf Wax America: 8.5/10 - Funny, geeky sing-along about surfing.

Say It Ain't So: 9/10 - Brilliant track about family falling apart. By far the deepest song here.

In The Garage: 9.5/10 - My favourite song here. Great track about being a metal nerd.

Holiday: 9/10 - Happy song about... well a holiay.

Only In Dreams: 9/10 - One of very few slow songs on this album and finishes the album on a high.

In short: an undeniable filler-free classic that they have so far failed to repeat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2007
Weezer were never a unique group, their blend of Kiss inspired tunes mixed with Beach Boys harmonies are true to the fact that they were nothing more four college/university friends putting together the music they loved. Of course their career has remained a storied one thanks to the awkwardness of River Cuomo's mindscape.

Although it was probably in a bad position when it was released back 1994, Weezer's self titled debut was and still remains their shining moment. Mostly famous for the Spike Jonze directed video for Buddy Holly and the incomparable Undone (Sweater Song), Weezer (or The Blue Album) is a blueprint (excuse the expression) in geekiness.

This is also probably the greatest reason why Rivers is one of the best songwriters out there, with simple songs like My Name Is Jonas and Surf Wax America, to the more complex tunes like Only in Dreams and The World Has Turned And Left Me Here.

Every song here is memorable in its own right, from the nice appregio of Say It Ain't So, the harmonica ditty on In The Garage to the fantastic bassline on Only In Dreams, Weezer proved there was more to 1994 than Nevermind.

If you do not have this album, then buy it right away, you'll not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2004
So it's been 10 years since Weezer unleashed 'Blue' onto the world and it remains the grandaddy of all that is punk-pop. Think of The Beach Boys stealing Nirvana's guitars and you are somewhere close to the classic sounds of this debut.
Rivers Cuomo, all round main-man of weezer, is a songwriter with a rare ear for melody, and this is shown on the additional b-sides and rarities disc as much as on the album.
Tracks like 'Susanne' and 'Jamie' are as good as anything on the album, and in my view 'Susanne' really should have been on there. As catchy as 'Buddy Holly', it's the purest example of what weezer are about, pure and undiluted melody.
As for the album itself, it remains, along with The Green Album, probably the best introduction to this vastly underrated band.
Awesome stuff.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
I'd heard a few Weezer songs as I was growing up; Hash Pipe, from the "Green Album", and "Buddy Holly", off of this one, were the ones that I'd had stuck in my head. So when I decided to follow up my interest in them in Summer '09 I decided to start at the beginning. And I'm happy to say I was not dissapointed in discovering what has turned out to be one of my favourite albums ever.

The Blue Album, for me, is so simple, quirky, relaxing and fun I always find myself returning to listen to it over and over again. The opening track "My Name is Jonas" kicks off the album to a fantastic start and it never really backs down from there, "Say it Ain't So" and "Undone (The Sweater Song)" are probably the best two tracks on the album but they're all fantastic in their own right.

I'd say there's a track to fit any mood on there, but I especially like listening to them on a lazy day (or with a hangover), because, and I hate to sound cliché, you can just lose yourself in it, enjoy the music and forget about whatever.
Considering that I was only 2 years old when this was released it's held up really well for more nearly two decades. Pick this one up, you can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)