Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£39.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 January 2007
This just rocks. As a Fish fan for years, since the Marilion days, I've had a ove hate realtionship with some of his music direction, rescued by "raingods with Zippo's", but then dumped by the self indulgent Fellini Days, I was a bit apprehensive about Field of Crows, but from the very start it just hit home immediately. The balance of Frank Usher and Bruce Watson bounce off each other, FRank standign out with his somehwat unique style.

Its amazing to read the reviews on as opposed to these on this album really got tongues wagging and fingers typing.

True, with hindsight, Fish should maybe have never left Marillion, thats history, but had he not, perhaps we woudl never have had the long wandering path through many styles, ups, downs, and roundabouts whcih brought us to this absolutely fantastic album.

Only one criticism, maybe some of the "bridges" are a little bit on the longside and to muddled, but hey, no-one is perfect..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2004
This is a very very good album from Fish. Certainly one of the most enjoyable albums I have bought for a while.
The whole album has a very rocking feel to it, most of the songs are very up tempo and include some excellent guitar solos, and instrumental sections. It's very different from the excellent Raingods with Zippos, which was a much darker and more complex piece of work. But this is by no means less impressive.
Stand out tracks for me include: 'The Rookie', 'Zoo Class', 'Old Crow' (a real funky tune!). And 'Exit Wound'.
If you're a Fish fan, then buy this now, you won't be dissapointed!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2004
The best Fish album to date. This album is just immense. each track is individual with not one "skip" track on it, and there are no songs that sound "samey". Fish must be the most underrated artist around today. The way Fish and Bruce Watson (ex Big Country) have written this album, exploring different layers of music is brilliant. I have played this album consistently for the last 4 months, always on in the car (i drive a lot!). And still with each listening it gets better. It starts with The Field which is good but then it gets better, Moving targets is reminiscent of the Washington Sniper and makes you think. Fish writes some catchy and thought provoking lyrics and two brilliant ballads in Exit Wound and Lost Plot. The highlight of the album awaits the listener with the last 3 tracks. Innocent party is a classic rocker and is probably the best track on the album. Shot the Craw is excellent and the finale Scattering Crows is a classical finishing track. The best money I have spent in 15 years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2008
I wasn't aware of this album until I saw it here on Amazon.
The songs are quite varied, so some songs will appeal whilst others won't.

I love Scattering Crows, as well as The Rookie and Exit Wound; three classics as far as I'm concerned.

Of the rest, Old Crow is quite catchy, and Zoo Class and The Lost Plot are worth a listen.

The only duff tracks for me are The Field, Shot the Craw, and Innocent Party.

Well worth adding to your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 April 2004
spooky! in the same week Fish's old band Marillion prepare to crash backinto the top 10 with a great new single, so Fish comes up trumps with hisfinest album for years. This album Fish is fresh, fun, rocking and got areal creative edge. A good listen. Great to hear Fish back at his best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 20 April 2004
The seventh track on this album, the new work by Fish, starts with thelines 'One man, one time, one life, one night he had a vision'somethingwhich would aptly describe the big Scot. Fish has always been an artistwith his own agenda, not bowing down to the mainstream, and making musicthat comes from the heart and this album is no exception. Injustices aredecried in poetic explosions of anger, sadness and regret albiet with thetypically dark humour prevalent through out this album especially shown inthe wonderfully descriptive track 'zoo class.'
But Fish is much morethan a great, but unrenowned, poetic talent with a super tight band unitbehind him. Guitars come courtesy of Frank Usher and Bruce Watson, a chalkand cheese combination of Usher's smooth unflustered style and Watson'scontrolled mania combining to make excellent harmony linked with thekeyboards of Tony Turrell. Steve Vantsis and Mark Brzezicki offer thealbum version bass and drums underpining strongly. However, the find ofthe band must be young backing vocalist Danny Gillan, found performingkaraoke by Fish and Steve Vantsis in a Scottish bar. As time has gone by,especially out on tour with theband, Gillan has found a maturity beyondhis tender years and with such a good teacher as Fish will surely be astar of the future - eat your hearts out Pop Idol.
Field of Crows isanother in a long line of fish albums that may not be appreciated fully bythe popular crowd. this should not, though, detract from the fact that theman is jewel in the British rock and pop world with a worthy offering fitfor any music fans cd rack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I like Fish. Loved Fish in the 80s when he was with Marillion. He cant sing for toffee but that just adds to the sound.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 19 April 2004
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Internal Exile
Internal Exile by Fish (Audio CD - 1995)

Raingods With Zippos
Raingods With Zippos by Fish (Audio CD - 1999)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.