Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Crows - possibly the best Fish album ever
This just rocks. As a Fish fan for years, since the Marilion days, I've had a ove hate realtionship with some of his music direction, rescued by "raingods with Zippo's", but then dumped by the self indulgent Fellini Days, I was a bit apprehensive about Field of Crows, but from the very start it just hit home immediately. The balance of Frank Usher and Bruce Watson bounce...
Published on 19 Jan. 2007 by Dr. R. Davidson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fish mixes it up once more
I wasn't aware of this album until I saw it here on Amazon.
The songs are quite varied, so some songs will appeal whilst others won't.

I love Scattering Crows, as well as The Rookie and Exit Wound; three classics as far as I'm concerned.

Of the rest, Old Crow is quite catchy, and Zoo Class and The Lost Plot are worth a listen.

The...
Published on 23 Feb. 2008 by Couchgrouch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Crows - possibly the best Fish album ever, 19 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
This just rocks. As a Fish fan for years, since the Marilion days, I've had a ove hate realtionship with some of his music direction, rescued by "raingods with Zippo's", but then dumped by the self indulgent Fellini Days, I was a bit apprehensive about Field of Crows, but from the very start it just hit home immediately. The balance of Frank Usher and Bruce Watson bounce off each other, FRank standign out with his somehwat unique style.

Its amazing to read the reviews on amazon.com as opposed to these on co.uk.. this album really got tongues wagging and fingers typing.

True, with hindsight, Fish should maybe have never left Marillion, thats history, but had he not, perhaps we woudl never have had the long wandering path through many styles, ups, downs, and roundabouts whcih brought us to this absolutely fantastic album.

Only one criticism, maybe some of the "bridges" are a little bit on the longside and to muddled, but hey, no-one is perfect..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fish back to his best!, 4 May 2004
By 
Mark Williams (Royal Leamington Spa , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
This is a very very good album from Fish. Certainly one of the most enjoyable albums I have bought for a while.
The whole album has a very rocking feel to it, most of the songs are very up tempo and include some excellent guitar solos, and instrumental sections. It's very different from the excellent Raingods with Zippos, which was a much darker and more complex piece of work. But this is by no means less impressive.
Stand out tracks for me include: 'The Rookie', 'Zoo Class', 'Old Crow' (a real funky tune!). And 'Exit Wound'.
If you're a Fish fan, then buy this now, you won't be dissapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Field of Crows, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
The best Fish album to date. This album is just immense. each track is individual with not one "skip" track on it, and there are no songs that sound "samey". Fish must be the most underrated artist around today. The way Fish and Bruce Watson (ex Big Country) have written this album, exploring different layers of music is brilliant. I have played this album consistently for the last 4 months, always on in the car (i drive a lot!). And still with each listening it gets better. It starts with The Field which is good but then it gets better, Moving targets is reminiscent of the Washington Sniper and makes you think. Fish writes some catchy and thought provoking lyrics and two brilliant ballads in Exit Wound and Lost Plot. The highlight of the album awaits the listener with the last 3 tracks. Innocent party is a classic rocker and is probably the best track on the album. Shot the Craw is excellent and the finale Scattering Crows is a classical finishing track. The best money I have spent in 15 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fish mixes it up once more, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
Couchgrouch (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Of Crows (Audio CD)
I wasn't aware of this album until I saw it here on Amazon.
The songs are quite varied, so some songs will appeal whilst others won't.

I love Scattering Crows, as well as The Rookie and Exit Wound; three classics as far as I'm concerned.

Of the rest, Old Crow is quite catchy, and Zoo Class and The Lost Plot are worth a listen.

The only duff tracks for me are The Field, Shot the Craw, and Innocent Party.

Well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album!, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
spooky! in the same week Fish's old band Marillion prepare to crash backinto the top 10 with a great new single, so Fish comes up trumps with hisfinest album for years. This album Fish is fresh, fun, rocking and got areal creative edge. A good listen. Great to hear Fish back at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Old Crow, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
The seventh track on this album, the new work by Fish, starts with thelines 'One man, one time, one life, one night he had a vision'somethingwhich would aptly describe the big Scot. Fish has always been an artistwith his own agenda, not bowing down to the mainstream, and making musicthat comes from the heart and this album is no exception. Injustices aredecried in poetic explosions of anger, sadness and regret albiet with thetypically dark humour prevalent through out this album especially shown inthe wonderfully descriptive track 'zoo class.'
But Fish is much morethan a great, but unrenowned, poetic talent with a super tight band unitbehind him. Guitars come courtesy of Frank Usher and Bruce Watson, a chalkand cheese combination of Usher's smooth unflustered style and Watson'scontrolled mania combining to make excellent harmony linked with thekeyboards of Tony Turrell. Steve Vantsis and Mark Brzezicki offer thealbum version bass and drums underpining strongly. However, the find ofthe band must be young backing vocalist Danny Gillan, found performingkaraoke by Fish and Steve Vantsis in a Scottish bar. As time has gone by,especially out on tour with theband, Gillan has found a maturity beyondhis tender years and with such a good teacher as Fish will surely be astar of the future - eat your hearts out Pop Idol.
Field of Crows isanother in a long line of fish albums that may not be appreciated fully bythe popular crowd. this should not, though, detract from the fact that theman is jewel in the British rock and pop world with a worthy offering fitfor any music fans cd rack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Fish!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
I like Fish. Loved Fish in the 80s when he was with Marillion. He cant sing for toffee but that just adds to the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to his best..!!, 19 April 2004
By 
M. Patrick (SWINDON., WILTSHIRE. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field of Crows (Audio CD)
THE BIG MAN BACK TO HIS BEST,QUITE POSSIBLY THE BEST ALBUM FISH HAS PRODUCED DURING HIS SOLO CAREER.STARTING OF WITH 8 MINUTE TRACK "THE FIELD" THE ALBUM JUST ROCKS ALL THE WAY THROUGH.STAND OUT TRACK "INNOCENT PARTY" A DEFINATE ANTHEM.A MUST FOR ALL FISH FANS..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field of Crows
Field of Crows by Fish (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews