Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value
Plus points:

-It's big (about 12" in length)
-It has all the useful temperature points marked (jam, hard ball, soft ball, firm ball, hard crack, soft crack, caramel, fish, chip, sterilise and fruit bottling), as well as the correct immersion level.
-The metal design will protect the glass thermometer from most dropping impacts
-It can clip onto...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by Straightforward

versus
103 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this
Great thermometer. Followed instructions re washing (warm water, etc), all the decals fell off rendering it it useless! Although it's cheap it's not worth it. You get what you pay for, you get junk if you buy this. I wrote to the company to ask what to do, I've not heard any reply. Deeply unimpressed. Wouldn't buy another one.
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Mrs. Keeva Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Straightforward (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Plus points:

-It's big (about 12" in length)
-It has all the useful temperature points marked (jam, hard ball, soft ball, firm ball, hard crack, soft crack, caramel, fish, chip, sterilise and fruit bottling), as well as the correct immersion level.
-The metal design will protect the glass thermometer from most dropping impacts
-It can clip onto the side of pots and pans

Minus points:

-It is still possible to smash the glass thermometer if you are careless enough.
-Slightly difficult to read with a lot of condensation on the glass
-Immersion level is 3" or so.

Overall, a very good value product that will prove very useful for most keen cooks.

RECOMMENDED

Edit - the markings have not come off yet, despite regular use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent robust thermometer, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Ideal for what I wanted, making hard candy and Turkish Delight. Clear markings of each stage of sugar boiling so you can stop at just the right time.

Would not be very good for making small quantities, as the liquid has to be about an inch up the thermometer to get a proper reading, but ideal for my intended use.

Do not agree with the review that the markings will rub off. It is only immersed at the bottom inch, so the markings are never submerged. Just don't scrub it when you wash it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made thermometer, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Well made - you need to have about 1" depth of whatever your taking the temp. of for the bulb to be submersed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, 4 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Great thermometer. Followed instructions re washing (warm water, etc), all the decals fell off rendering it it useless! Although it's cheap it's not worth it. You get what you pay for, you get junk if you buy this. I wrote to the company to ask what to do, I've not heard any reply. Deeply unimpressed. Wouldn't buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not accurate, 5 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this to make some fudge for the first time. After burning 3 pans in a row and throwing away a lot of what I can only describe as moonrocks, I couldn't work out where I was going wrong - I had only heated to softball. Or so I thought. On testing the thermometer in boiling water, it read 90 degrees. That explains the moonrocks...I had overheated the mixture significantly.

It's just not accurate at all - I'll be investing a bit more in a digital probe and hopefully getting something I can rely on a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish - the numbers rub off!, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
This thermometer looked impressive but the numbers rubbed off the first time I used it (making jam). Useless. I would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good for small quantities of sugar, 15 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
In order to use this thermometer, you need to have it immersed in the liquid you're measuring up to the marked immersion line (or that's what the instructions say, anyway). This marked line is way too high up the thermometer for the quantities of ingredients listed in most sweet recipes.

For example, using Mrs Beeton's quantities to make 8 oz of butterscotch, if we put all the ingredients into the smallest pan we own, a milk pan, the melted liquid is still not high enough. If the liquid was deep enough, it'd be overflowing the pan.

If buying to make sweets, either get a different thermometer, or be prepared to make 4 times as much as you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cooking thermometer, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Fernando A. A. Silva "F Silva" (Brazil, South America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
The only criticism that I have to date is that once inside the pan it is very difficult to acess the temperature readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity, 17 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
Pity the markings are not etched into the body. The scales re simply screen printed onto the unit, once these begin to fall off as they surely will the instrument will become pretty useless.
Good job it's inexpensive but shame ot make it so when for a couple of quid in tooling it would be sooooo much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works well, 9 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Home Made Deluxe Stainless Steel Cooking Thermometer (Kitchen & Home)
good thermometer has a hook on bak to clip on to saucepan and is well made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews