Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy
This blowtorch is fantastic a very good buy my husband loves it full marks.he has all ways wanted one,thought it would be very hard to find one,it is small and compact not bulky,easy to use and safe as well.
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by R. Thornton

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horses for courses - e.g. are you making Apple Tart Fine or Crème Brūlée?
Whether or not this is suitable is determined by what you want it for, because the flame is pencil thin.

I bought it to make Gordon Ramsay's Apple Tart Fine, the relevance being that I needed to use it to heat multiple individual desserts, each an area the size of a small side plate - i.e. much larger than a ramekin containing a crème brūlée. It...
Published 19 months ago by Mister G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horses for courses - e.g. are you making Apple Tart Fine or Crème Brūlée?, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
Whether or not this is suitable is determined by what you want it for, because the flame is pencil thin.

I bought it to make Gordon Ramsay's Apple Tart Fine, the relevance being that I needed to use it to heat multiple individual desserts, each an area the size of a small side plate - i.e. much larger than a ramekin containing a crème brūlée. It was as useless as an ashtray on a motorbike - the flame was so fine that it took painfully long to caramelise each tart, by which time the area I had started on had cooled down, resulting in a barely warm tart (tarts cool quickly - a crème brūlée won't as its deepness, plus the ramekin, helps to retain the heat). I would estimate that a standard DIY blowtorch throws out heat at a rate of between ten and twenty times greater.

Fortunately I hadn't deleted the TV programme so I looked at it and GR used a standard DIY blowtorch. So I went to B&Q & bought one. What a difference!

If you need to brown a small area with pencil-thin accuracy, then this is your man. Otherwise buy a standard DIY blow-torch.

Personally I have doubts as to whether this chef's blowtorch would even be suitable for a crème brūlée for the same reason, but I leave that decision to you (I haven't used it for that so I can't comment). I suggest searching on YouTube for whatever you are making and seeing whether they used a diddy blowtorch or a full-size one.

Incidentally, a DIY blowtorch costs roughly the same as a chef's one and has the advantage that the gas lasts far, far longer (the chef's one ran out of gas after heating approximately 3-4 apple tart fines. Pathetic. And as it starts to run out, the flow of gas decreases so it takes longer to caramelise things - making a painfully slow thing even slower. The solution is to refill it the moment the power starts to decrease).

One advantage of a pencil-thin flame is that there is less chance of burning yourself. But then I would never hold the item that I am heating in my fingers regardless of how fine the flame is as one simple distraction and...

Incidentally, this has a secondary use. It's handy having one of these in the house if you don't have a gas cooker. I used it to mend a broken piece of plastic where I couldn't buy a replacement part and where the cosmetics of the broken part didn't matter - I used it to heat a paperclip, used that to melt two tiny holes in the plastic, inserted a piece of garden wire & bound the two together. It took 10 minutes to mend it and has never broken since. Far stronger than glue.

Incidentally, I suggest that you try the Apple Tart Fine recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 10 Feb 2009
By 
R. Thornton (portland dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
This blowtorch is fantastic a very good buy my husband loves it full marks.he has all ways wanted one,thought it would be very hard to find one,it is small and compact not bulky,easy to use and safe as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A roaring success!, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. Kay "tiptoe" (Middlesbrough, Teesside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent product! This product is worthy of any professional kitchen, to that of any home cook. Sturdy, durable and an excellent roaring flame! Bought as a birthday present and it was definately a success. Much less expensive than those from other vendors/sites, yet no impact on the quality of the product. The rubber grip is excellent, especially for those who may have butter fingers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kitchen Craft Cook's, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
I had been after a cooks blow torch for ages and this one fitted the price bracket I was looking for. Unfortunately I had not been impressed with it performance and the ignition has broken after only been used twice. I would recommend that if you are looking to buy one of these to go for a more expensive model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy for the Occasional Chef?, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
The blowtorch works just fine. I would recommend it to anyone who only uses it occasionly and for small dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought for partner to use and he enjoys, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
Great item, arrived in quick time also which is always a bonus. Brought for partner who is trying a lot of new things with cooking so needed this item and he found very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cooks torch, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
It was okay sent in good time 'twas as seen works okay it's a cook torch what more can I say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gas torch., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
Essential in my hobby as a Bee keeper to have a source of instant ignition to light my bee smoker. This gas torch has proved reliable and useful.
It has other uses of course and is easy to fill and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kitchen craft cooks blowtorch, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
Would recommend this product. It's neat works great and is a very good price. Also small enough to store away neatly in cupboard or draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blow torch, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Craft Cook's Blowtorch with Piezo Spark Ignition (Kitchen & Home)
a very good little tool to have in the kitchen and the wife was very pleased as she is the main user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews